If Only

I felt like I could see you
You were stuck inside your head again
So I couldn’t get to sleep at all last night

I felt like I was drowning
You were struggling with your memories
I’m left to hope you win this fight

Remember when it was easy
I liked you and you liked me
We didn’t have these bleeding wounds then
We weren’t afraid of what could be
So what if we are wiser
If it means we’ll never see
Everything that we could hope for
If only we could be free

I thought too much about it
I made things even worse than
I would have if I didn’t know by now

I’ve lived this once before you
It wasn’t meant to be then
I hope this is different somehow

Remember when it was easy
I liked you and you liked me
We didn’t have these bleeding wounds then
We weren’t afraid of what could be
So what if we are wiser
If it means we’ll never see
Everything that we could hope for
If only we could be free

If you only knew the way I felt is real
I wonder if you could ever maybe really just let go
You could see I’d never want to see you crying
You could see the heart inside you I already know

Remember when it was easy
I liked you and you liked me
We didn’t have these bleeding wounds then
We weren’t afraid of what could be
So what if we are wiser
If it means we’ll never see
Everything that we could hope for
If only we could be free

©Joshua Wrenn 2017

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

Comments appreciated

