Song A Day Challenge Day 5… The Final Chapter

Hello dear reader(s)!

You thought it was over.  You thought you were safe.  You thought the songs were finished.  But today, the songs return for one final rampage!

From the blog-type-thinger that brought you all four of the previous Song A Day Challenges on this here blog-type-thing, comes the final chapter in the horrifically horrific Song A Day Challenge series.

Starring a post about something.  Featuring a song or more.  Coming to a device near you!  Who will survive the chaotic final chapter?

Speaking of surviving…

One of the more common themes in my posting has been about surviving.  If you know anything about me, you know why this is.  Survival has been the focus of my life for the past five years.  In that time, there have been many instances where people wondered whether or not I would survive.  There have been brief periods where I wondered whether or not I would too.  Admittedly, there have even been a few times where I wondered why I bothered trying to.

But if there is a key to my survival that I myself had something to do with, it is that I kept those periods of time very brief.  When all seemed hopeless, I fought hard to hope.  I believed in the impossible.  I refused to believe the apocalyptic percentages many doctors gave to me.

And when I experienced the loss that made me think all my struggle was in vain, I made sure to reach out to friends to remind me that life is still worth living.  I reached out to people to talk to, and keep me from believing the worst thoughts I was having.  I dared to hope that things could get better once again.

They did.  And then they would get worse.  But I dared to hope.  There were plenty of times I questioned whether the little good things that were keeping me going were too little.  I wondered if I was just fantasizing about the possibility of being genuinely happy once again.  As time passed, I felt isolated, and began to think I may be ready to start dating again.  I had a couple of relationships, with good times, but of course you can’t rely on someone else to make you happy.

Shortly before my last relationship, something changed.  I started to feel better about myself.  I started to feel not only okay with who I am, but good.  I started to feel like I had some control over my own attitude.  I wasn’t happy about plenty of things with my life at that time, but I felt good about me.

And when I got into that relationship, I knew that I would not allow my happiness to be completely based on that relationship.  When it suddenly ended, I was shocked.  I was upset.  I was hurt.  And I was scared.  Scared that I would get depressed.  Scared that I would feel worthless.

That fear lasted for all of about six hours.

Then that fear turned to anger.  I was pissed.  I began to evaluate what happened, and I realized that the end to that relationship had absolutely nothing to do with me and any of my value.  I was going to be okay, and I knew it.

I took that anger and turned it into a fire in me to work to change my situation, and since then, as you can probably tell if you are so masochistic as to actually read these posts, I have been on top of the world.  Things aligned to help me and I took advantage.

Are things perfect?  No.  Life isn’t perfect.  I am going to have bad days.  Sunshine and rainbows are wonderful, but they aren’t constant.  I recognize there are going to be struggles.  I know that for all the things I gain, there will be some losses.  I know that some of the people who were important to me will leave.  But I also know that I have met and will meet other great people who belong in my life and might not.

I have learned that when people leave, it isn’t necessarily a reflection on me.  I have learned that while losing something or someone may be painful, sometimes it is necessary to make room for something or someone in your life that is better for you.  I’ve learned the famous quote from LJ Vanier often shared on memes that says, “Sometimes when things fall apart, they may actually be falling into place.” is often very much true.

And I know that no matter how bad things may be, if it is possible to make it through, things will get better.  They may get bad again in the future, but then they will get better.  If you survive, I know, for a fact, that you will experience a time when you are glad you did.

So if you are struggling, continue to hope.  Do everything you can to survive.  If you do, eventually, you will be so glad you did.

I was challenged to do a song a day challenge for 5 days.  I accept, but I want to make the songs an emphasis on a thought I would have already posted about that day.  I was challenged by the wonderful A Momma’s View, go check out that excellent blog.

The rules are:

  • Post a song a Day for five consecutive days
  • Post what the lyrics mean to you ( optional)
  • Post the name of the song and video 
  • Nominate two different bloggers each day of the challenge.

These songs are about survival.  I am posting a few, because I am just so generous like that.  We start with one of my favorite songs of all time.

Survive, by Rise Against

Next we have Carry On Wayward Son by Kansas, which I would just like to point out to reader(s) that I liked before I saw Supernatural.

And finally, a song for when you are glad you did survive, So Far Away, by Staind.

I nominate anyone who wants to participate.  Congratulations to those who have survived 5 of these posts!

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

6 thoughts on “Song A Day Challenge Day 5… The Final Chapter”

Comments appreciated

