Song A Day Challenge Day 3… Return of the Song

Hello dear reader(s)!

I am so sorry for the delay today on this post.  It is hard to find a song that fits your mood when you are having trouble defining it for yourself.

I do know that my mood is great.  There are a lot of factors, some of which I have already posted about.  There are some factors I will not post about at this time.  There are some factors I simply don’t understand.

One factor I realized, is that I am really comfortable with who I am.  I have made a lot of peace with the challenges I face.  I still know I have value.   I am who I am, and I have people in my life who know that and are still here.  I have some people who have been there for me for as long as I can remember and some I just recently met that know who I am and still like me.  I do not have to be anything other than myself.

And the best part?  They are themselves too.  I value individuality.  All my life I have dealt with fake people.  People who try so hard to conform to the herd.  And I get it.  Standing out can be difficult.  You make yourself a target that way.  But it is dishonest to pretend to be someone you’re not.  It isn’t fair to anyone who might want to know you.  Masks always slip.  So why wear one?

Besides, do you really want to be like everyone else?  Everyone else is kind of dull.  Unique people are not only more attractive, they are more genuine.

Here is a news flash.  Everyone is different.  In some way, no two people are exactly alike.  Even identical twins have different personalities.

Yet so many people hide them.  They think they are going to be considered uncool.  And guess what?  They are.  Someone is always going to take issue with something about you.  But it’s going to be worse for you if you lose yourself trying to fit in.  Cool is just short of cold.  Do you want to be cold?  Hiding your passions and the fire within you until it dies out?  I sure as hell don’t.

To some degree, you have to fit in.  You don’t live out in the mountains in your own cabin on acres of land completely self-sufficient and isolated from the rest of humanity.  I mean, some might I am sure, but they usually become uni-bombers.  And even he had to get his bomb parts somewhere.  So there are some basic things you must do to avoid serious conflict with those others with whom you interact.

But you should never let that change you.  You should never be ashamed of who you are or what drives you if it isn’t directly harming another.  Be proud of what makes you different.  Embrace your weird.  Everyone is weird.  Only the brave show it.

I was challenged to do a song a day challenge for 5 days.  I accept, but I want to make the songs an emphasis on a thought I would have already posted about that day.  I was challenged by the wonderful A Momma’s View, go check out that excellent blog.

The rules are:

  • Post a song a Day for five consecutive days
  • Post what the lyrics mean to you ( optional)
  • Post the name of the song and video 
  • Nominate two different bloggers each day of the challenge.

But you know what?  I’m me.  I don’t need to follow these rules!  Why should I conform to some arbitrary challenge rules that really don’t have any impact on the true meaning of the challenge?  I am an individual!  I am going to do this my way today!!!!!

Aren’t I so rebellious?

So I am giving you not one, but two songs today, because I’m crazy like that!

We start with Subdivisions by Rush

And then move to Be Yourself by Audioslave

And since I have decided not to conform to these rules today, I am not nominating two bloggers to participate.  I am nominating anyone who feels like participating.  That’s right, don’t you know I’m loco?

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

26 thoughts on “Song A Day Challenge Day 3… Return of the Song”

  1. Love this. Talking to my teens right now about being themselves, and if that means being/doing something different than everyone else, then so be it. And I’m planning on writing about music today, so there! Happy Listening!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Middle school is a nightmare. For some reason, high school also seems to be a nightmare for my kids. They definitely do not want to be individual, different, or stand out in a crowd. But then, I don’t think I did when I was in HS either – that came in college where it was much more appreciated.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Keep being you. The you you are is great. Anyone who disagrees can take it up with me (well, me & my Billy club lol O:-) ). I know I’m still a newb around here, but I think your weird is just my kinda weird.

    *Internet hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

