Song A Day Challenge, Day 2… The Revenge!!!

Hello dear reader(s)!

Okay, there is no real revenge in this post.  I just think all sequels should have something like that in the title.  I figure I will follow the standard horror movie trope, since they typically have the most sequels.  Tomorrow will probably be something like, Song A Day Challenge, Day 3… Song Returns!  Or something equally ridiculous.

I am sure that you dear reader(s) have noticed that I am in a much better mood lately than I have been.  I feel like I broken free of a rut, or broken out of a self-created prison.  I feel like I was stuck in glass, able to see the outside world, but unable to experience it.  I had spent the last while trying to make the best of a situation that was not very beneficial to me.  I took an opportunity to change that situation when it arose and haven’t looked back.  I feel like a whole new person.

Sometimes we don’t realize when we are unhappy.  When you do everything you can to see the light in the darkness, sometimes you trick yourself into believing you aren’t actually in that darkness.  Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t like I didn’t have some great times in the recent past.  It isn’t like every day was awful.  But overall, I was unhappy and I knew it.

Sometimes you need a person to wake you up.  You need a person to force you to remember who you are and what you are capable of.  Sometimes you need to be backed in a corner in order to come out swinging.  Sometimes a friend lends you a hand.  Sometimes the person who wakes you up is yourself.  Sometimes someone comes along and breaks the glass you are trapped in.  Sometimes it is a combination of all of that.

Changing a situation isn’t always easy.  Sometimes it is a mistake.  Sometimes you get stuck.  But if you are unhappy in a situation, and as soon as you are not stuck, you really owe it to yourself to change that situation.  It is easier and more comfortable to stay in a rut sometimes.  But if you see that rut is leading you to a place you don’t want to go, you need to get out of it and take a different road.

People look for the easiest road.  They take the path of least resistance.  And that path is often being stuck in a rut.  It is often being in a situation you know isn’t ideal yet you go along to avoid the trouble of forging a new path.  Somewhere along the way, you realize that taking the easy way was a mistake.  Sometimes you build a little world for yourself and unwittingly trap yourself inside.  You think you are making yourself safe from the dangers of the outside, but you are really just building yourself a little prison.  You wish someone would have shattered the glass enclosure you created for yourself that kept you in the unhappy world in which you were in.

And sometimes those people come along.  But sometimes that person needs to be you.  You are not a tree.  You can more.  It isn’t always easy.  It may not happen right when you want it to.  There are a lot of factors at play.  But if you want to be free, sometimes you need to shatter the glass you built around yourself.

I was challenged to do a song a day challenge for 5 days.  I accept, but I want to make the songs an emphasis on a thought I would have already posted about that day.  I was challenged by the wonderful A Momma’s View, go check out that excellent blog.

The rules are:

  • Post a song a Day for five consecutive days
  • Post what the lyrics mean to you ( optional)
  • Post the name of the song and video 
  • Nominate two different bloggers each day of the challenge.

Today’s song is a bit more modern than yesterday’s, Shatter Me, by Lindsey Stirling, featuring Lzzy Hale.

I like this version best, as it showcases the musical ability, not covered up by electronics.

Today I nominate Joey at Joeyfully Stated, and Ariel at Writing Radiation.  As always, no pressure to participate, especially if you have a good reason for not posting that I may or may not already be aware of.

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

33 thoughts on “Song A Day Challenge, Day 2… The Revenge!!!”

  1. So, to borrow a bit from Jim Morrison, you appear to have broken on through to the other side. Nice vid, of someone I’ve never heard before. No surprise there, as I seem to be in a permanent time warp back to the olden days. I’m going to check her out, though, if unplugged sounds that good I can only imagine what she sounds like with a band and some production. Keep it up. The breaking out and the videos.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I never post, so it’s a fair assumption that I wouldn’t do a challenge (even one as interesting & nominated by such a fine, wonderful, fantabulous, life-of-the party as this 😉 ). 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That element has already been counted towards your total awesomeness factor. Only future awesomeness can be counted towards your awesomeness factor. Please attempt further awesomeness to regain this XP. 😛 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you, Josh. But “Mario” does not factor into your awesomeness factor – please try finding another castle (& giving it to me). 😉

        Good catch, btw. “Video game” was the style for which I was going!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. You’re most welcome! 😄

        It’s very possible! I mean, how often do you like spending time & following instructions from someone you don’t like? LOL

        Like

  2. It’s always interesting to see how we can get stuck in a situation and when we actually manage to change the perspective of how we look at it we suddenly see how to find out of it. Loved your post! Great song choice!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

