I’m Not Old

Hello dear reader(s)!

Last night, while talking to a new friend, I realized I was going to be an age this year I was always terrified of becoming.  It was both shocking (because I literally forgot how old I already was), and concerning because I remember being younger and thinking that all of the people that age were so boring and old.

And then I thought a little about it.  And I realized I don’t give a rat’s ass how many times I have passed around the sun.  It means absolutely nothing.  I’m not old.  Not only that, I will never get old.

Old people are jaded.  They have no hope.  They tend to grow cold to the feelings and emotions of others.  Not only is that not me, that will never be me.  Old people stop looking upon the world with wonder.  I will never do that.

Just because someone might be 75 years old, doesn’t mean they are old.  They aren’t old unless they act like it.  You don’t become old until you stop trying to live.

You can be an old soul.  That is different.  But being an old person is simply a state of mind.

I’ve got some grey hairs in my goatee.  It takes me a little longer to get out of bed than it did when I was fifteen, but I do everything I can within the limits of my body.  I make time for my friends and the things I want to do.  Old people invent responsibilities they really don’t have in order to avoid living.

I’m not a huge party guy.   I never have been.  But I like to have fun.  I try to be happy.  I try to enjoy the time I have here.  Everything isn’t always perfect.  There are plenty of times where I have had a really bad time.  But there are so many more times where I have had an amazing time that would have never happened if I didn’t give it a chance, knowing it could have gone badly.  Old people don’t do that.

I have met some amazing people.  I have had to meet a lot of shitty people to do that.  Old people, meet their first few shitty people, and assume that everyone must be shitty.  Then they miss out on the opportunity to meet great people.

Old people stop trying.  Their world exists between their home and office.  They fall into the same old routine day in and day out.  Yes, people have to do what they have to do survive.  Yes, some people enjoy their jobs.  Old people, they work for some prestige that won’t mean anything when they are gone, and hate it.  Then they come home and sit in their homes unable to enjoy anything they are working for.

Life isn’t perfect.  I have had more than my share of bad things thrown at me in this life.  But at least I’m living it.  At least I am still experiencing things, and am still making connections during it.  At least I haven’t given up on it.  At least I am doing more than going through the motions.

Old people take no risks.  They wouldn’t leave and move half way across the country.  Old people never leave their home town.  They close their mind to the different perspectives of people outside of their small little world.  Old people never try to expand their circle.  They do not put themselves out there to meet people who could add to their lives.

Old people stick to their same indoctrinated views, and never question the validity of them.  They care more about tradition and their sense of propriety than what they want or what they truly feel.  They do things that conflict with their own self-interest because that is what is expected of them.

Old people think they know everything.  They believe there is nothing new they can experience or know.  They think they are always right.  They confuse their opinions with fact, and do not understand that perspective matters in how one views the world.  Old people react to things that challenge them with fear and anger, and never an attempt at understanding.  Old people are assholes.

Old people can be 13.  Old people can be 89.  Young people can be 103.  Young and old is not about age.

I was scared I was becoming old.  I’m not.  I will be never be old.  I will die young, even if my body makes it to 150.  Bad back, mostly deaf, mostly blind, hunched over and holding a cane, I am going to be young.

Now get off my lawn and turn down that infernal racket.

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

31 thoughts on “I’m Not Old”

  1. Wonderfully said. I think about aging in this same way… no matter what age I am, I always want to be enjoying life, never stop learning and trying new experiences, and not get stuck in a rut. Age is just a number!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this.
    I don’t really buy into the numbers thing, either. I’ll tell you another dead giveaway for identifying old people — they get pissed when you call them old people, lol! And they’re always trying to tell you how horrible being old is, like how they feel has nothing to do with how they live.
    If you ask small children, my 24-year-old son is old, The Mister and I are ancient, and our parents are like sea turtles. It’s all relative.
    I follow the blog of a man who is 80, and I mean to tell you, he might be the oldest blogger I read, but he ain’t old in spirit.
    I lived across the street from a 90-some-years-old lady and she was one of the most vivacious, interesting people I’ve ever known. Not for her age, just flat-out overall. She’d put some of these crotchety old people to shame.
    Great post!
    Your birthday, it is far… enjoy your youth 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I intend to enjoy it, thank you!
      It is relative. When I was young, I thought all adults were old. Now I know older kids than adults.
      I want to be that ninety year old that everyone thinks has lost it upstairs because I’m still having a good time.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. There are people much older than me traveling the world, running marathons, and being more beautiful than I can even imagine. This makes me happy, because it means I have goals to reach for and role models who have already made it that far.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My mom says a person really show their age by their attitude. So yeah like you said, act like an old fart…
    Choose to be young in mind, spirit, all bodies die inevitably so why worry about it.
    In a sense major illnesses are a real gift, one can appreciate life that much more, no time to waste on unimportant things in life. Keep doing what you really love, you’re way ahead of the game.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Amen to that!Me I am 45 years young…..hahaha just been finding my first grey/white hairs hahaha not easy with blond hair but I’m ok with that!I’ve racked up a lot memories to earn those hairs!Hell yeah looking forward to the next 45 years!Happy birthday mate!xx Rachel

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I really do believe age is as much mental (if not more) than physical. Mentally I do not feel old, I still feel youthful and connected. However having a Son that just turned 17 was also a bit of a shock, lol. I can accept the grey hairs, just please don’t touch my hairline!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. One of my Dad’s favorite quotations (although, by your standards, he’s old as dirt): Growing old is mandatory. Growing up is voluntary.”

    Old is a reference to age in that particular quotation, of course.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m 63 and a high school teacher. One of my students told me to “act my age.” They didn’t mean to act 63, they meant to stop acting immature. I’m not telling this anecdote well. It was a 3 sentence little exchange where I was laughing and making faces. Another student then said to me “You have a young soul.” This just happened last week, but your post made me think of it again. I took it as a huge compliment. And then after school went to yet another doctor appointment. Age and maturity don’t always go hand in hand. Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

