It Returns

Hello dear reader(s)!

I am back!  I do believe more regular posting is once again a possibility now, so I am officially announcing my return to both blog-type-thinging, as well as actually attempting to read as much of your wonderful blogs as time and life events shall allow.

So…what all has happened since I last posted?

Well, I took a very cool road trip through the Southwest to my hometown.  Upon arriving, I was greeted by friends and have been having a ton of fun.  Literally a ton, it was weighed by the Department of Weights and Measures of Fictionland.  It was all going very smoothly until I got a nasty little sinus infection.  I have been down the last couple of days as a result, but the antibiotics I got are starting to kick in.

Taking this road trip has also made me certain that I do not want to live in Kansas City any longer.

At the conclusion of this road trip, I have learned that my hometown has exploded with growth, and there are all kinds of new things and buildings going up everywhere.  There are new things to see and experience, and that should be a lot of fun.

Before that, I learned that two-lane highways should be illegal, because people are idiots when they try to pass.  I was almost hit head-on twice.

I learned that I like 95A over 95, and I only learned that because there was a closure of 95 for flood control work starting the day I went through it.

I learned that Las Vegas has grown so huge that it hardly looks like the same city I have been to so many times.  I wonder how they think that is sustainable given the lack of water most years.  The drivers in that city are idiots, and I am surprised I didn’t witness anyone get killed.  The speed limit of the road I was on was 65, I was doing 70 in a huge line of through traffic, and these idiots were weaving in and out at like 100.  Fortunately, everyone skillfully avoided their idiocy.

I learned that the bridge bypassing the Hoover dam is the greatest piece of construction ever created.

 

I learned I make a lot better time than I estimate, even with Google, which I don’t understand because I was almost never speeding in the higher limit areas and I still had to stop for gas.

I learned that Arizona should quit worrying about deporting everyone and use the money it costs for that force to fix their fucking roads instead.  I learned that in Arizona, they would rather put up signs that say “Rough Road”, than spend the money on actual road work.  I am very lucky my tires and suspension are okay after driving through that state.

I stopped one night in Winslow, AZ, just so I could stand on the corner.  That song has been stuck in my head for weeks now.  Arizona was pretty, but the roads were so terrible that I really couldn’t enjoy it.

20170307_153309_HDR

Also along the road trip, I learned that New Mexico is the prettiest desert in the world.  This is not my opinion, it is fact.  The Continental Divide in New Mexico on I40 is one of the prettier sights I have ever seen, and the roads were in good condition.  I wish there would have been a view pullout on I40 so I could have attempted to capture it in pictures without losing much time.  I love the mesas, and different rock formations in that state.  I also passed by this really cool old Southwestern village that looked straight out of when Western movies go down to Mexico.  I am not a huge fan of desert scenery, but New Mexico is the exception.

IMG_20170307_160405_639

I learned that Texas is exactly what I expected Texas to be.  Still.  They are very proud of Texas.  There are as many Texas flags on a normal day as there are American flags at an Independence Day celebration.  Stuff is big.  I stayed in Amarillo.   I got really good chicken tacos for Hannah there (chicken tacos in Texas was a little joke we used to have), and drove on through.  It was just the panhandle, but it was pretty Texas.  And of course, it smelled like cow shit.

20170306_172249_HDR

I learned that the musical Oklahoma (where the wind comes sweeping down the plain) was very accurate in that I spent the entire time on the road through that state fighting the wheel to keep on the road.  I am sure it didn’t help that I just barely beat a major storm system driving out.

I went through Missouri and Kansas on the day of the huge tornadoes that damaged over 500 homes and businesses in Missouri.  It was windy, and dark, and I could tell that if I hadn’t left as early as I did, I would’ve had a lot worse time.  It was still very gusty going through, but I couldn’t have imagined what it would have been like a few hours later.

But on that road trip, what I mostly learned, is that I am pretty happy with myself.  Granted, the trip likely knocked down my immune system enough that I got that sinus infection I otherwise might not have gotten, but the point is that I did it.  Yes, I had to take more time to recover from it than I actually spent doing it, but I drove around two thousand miles on my own.  I had time to think and time to be.  I am proud of myself for choosing to go the long way to avoid weather and just because I do not like the other routes.  I am proud of myself for not needing someone to go with me.

Don’t get me wrong, companionship is a wonderful thing.  I love taking road trips with those close to me.  But it is really nice knowing that I do not need to have someone with me in order to have a great experience.

The illness, the exhaustion, the few scary moments, were all very much worth it.  I can’t do something like this often.  I am too sick, and have too many issues, but I did it.  Yeah, I paid a price for it, but I lived.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

48 thoughts on “It Returns”

    1. 40 overlays a lot of old 66 so quite a bit, but it bypasses a lot of the towns. So really through the towns it was only in Winslow where I was on old 66. If I weren’t trying to fit in a weather window, I’d probably go on old 66 a lot more.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I can see that with the haircut. I think he’s got quite a bit of muscle over me though, lol.
      That little area in Winslow is awfully cool. But yeah, as I was planning the trip and saw Winslow on the map as a good stop, I’ve had Take It Easy stuck in a loop in my head ever since. Good song, but it needs to go now. Too much!

      Like

  1. Yep, Josh, you look great! Maybe it’s something going because I feel like I’m coming down with a sinus infection, too. I hate those things. 😦

    The Hoover Dam is amazing and even more amazing how it was built. And mountains are, too. I’ve never been to New Mexico but I love the look of the mountains I saw while in El Paso once.

    I hope you get to experience many more road trips this year. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ugh. I hope it isn’t. They stink!!!
      The dam itselfis cool. I’ve been in it before. I was terrified it would fail. I think I had seen Superman 3 not too long before that. But it was a pain to have to drive over. The new bridge down a ways is so great for traffic.

      Like

      1. I’m not sure yet. Right now I just know I’m going to relocate there. I love Portland but I wouldn’t mind being at the coast either. So I’m going with the flow and I’ll park where it feels right.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I love Portland too! I didn’t know you were relocating! Portland is great, but so expensive now. There is this one neighborhood there, I don’t remember the name, but it is my favorite. Sunflowers painted at this interaction, all kinds of things. Amazing trees! Really cool little places to ear and drink. It is by Lone Fir Cemetery which is really, really cool in and of itself.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. The neighborhoods are all so different. That’s what I love about the city. If I land in Portland I would probably live in the Pearl district or the Alberta district. Unless I could find a nice old fixer upper in the northwest part of town.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

