Corner Turning

Hello dear reader(s)!

No, I am not 100%.  I am not even 85%.  Maybe about 70%.  But that is an increase of at least 50%!

And that increase came without needing Neupogen.

I don’t remember the last time I got sick enough to need a doctor and improved without needing a Neupogen boost to help fight off whatever it was that infected me.

Granted, I have antibiotics, and I have been blowing my nose like the military blows money.  I have been blowing my nose like a middle school trumpet player blows through his spit valve.  I have been blowing my nose like a prostitute blows up a balloon to celebrate her birthday.  (Where did you think I was going with that?)

For me to recover from a virus that likely ended up causing a secondary bacterial infection is not an impossibility, even with my immunodeficiency.  To do it without Neupogen?  Well, this would be a first.  An important and exciting first since my diagnosis.

I am not celebrating just yet.  Oftentimes, in the middle of an illness, I will start to feel better for a day or two, before everything comes back even more severe.  I will try not to overdo it today, thus allowing the illness to reform their tattered lines and counter-attack.   We shall remain steadfast in our defense of this great Josh.  We shall go on to the end.  We shall fight at home, we shall fight on our feet and in bed, we shall fight with growing confidence and growing strength in our immunity, we shall defend our Josh, whatever the cost may be.  We shall fight in the kitchen, we shall fight in the living room, we shall fight in the blankets and in the sheets, we shall fight with the pills; we shall never surrender.

Tonight I am going to make chicken rolls!  I love me some chicken rolls.  I have been planning to make them since Sunday, but Sunday is when I started feeling sick.  (Well, more sick than usual, and not counting the months of crazy headaches.)  I think the chicken rolls will help add to my recovery, as many studies have found they do contain healing properties.  To be certain they work, I am thinking about adding extra gluten.

Anyway, I have some things to catch up on today, and I have to go pretty slow so as not to overdo it and ruin all of the goodness that I feel.  Therefore, I may still be a tad absent, and don’t really have the time to write anything of value.  (Not that I do anyway.)  But I am very hopeful that I have a turned a corner.

Now, I just have to figure out where turning the corner has led me.  My GPS isn’t working, and I don’t recognize these buildings.

 

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

38 thoughts on “Corner Turning”

  1. I am waiting on the furnace guy, so I get to stay my sick ass home today. (not literally, praise be to puppies) Maybe if I’m a very good girl, I can be all the way well by Monday. I like to turn the corner and immediately do too much. It’s so painful to lie around and only wish I could do things. *sigh* Enjoy your chicken rolls and rest nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really glad you’re feeling a little bit better & you didn’t need man-made proteins to get you there. Is it possible (nojinxnojinxnojinx) your immune system is remembering WTF it’s there for?

    Remember, drink lots of fluids, get lots of rest, & down that chicken soup (or chicken rolls)! I’d heard that the health benefits of chicken weren’t in the meat though… so, I hope the chicken rolls work better than the grossness I’d heard about.

    Do many of your readers need you to apologize every day you’re sick? Should I go beat them up?

    (Please feel free not to answer this or any of my other 535,863,465 comments!! I won’t be insulted if you need to rest or communication has reached critical “harassment” mass. 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If the comments bothered me, of let you know, or wouldn’t like or respond. Half the reason I keep this thing is for interaction.
      I think a portion of my immune system does remember why it’s there. Hopefully the goodness continues.
      Chicken rolls work good because of deliciousness. That’s it. The health benefit.
      Nobody harasses me for being sick, but I try to read too and ahem I’m sick I’m worse about it. So I feel bad.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good point. I was just checking to make sure you weren’t being too nice & straining yourself to continue our conversations. 🙂 I’ll take you at your word that you’ll take care of yourself & won’t expend your precious energy on conversations that don’t interest you. 😉

        *fingers crossed* Maybe that fraction of your immune system can kick some of the rest of it into shape? I’m no doctor, though (I only play one on TV).

        Deliciousness is a very important health benefit! If you can taste it, that’s a great sign for your health. 🙂

        I’m in a support group for my fibromyalgia, & we discussed the health benefits of … erm… there’s no nice way to say this… bone meal. It explains why grandmothers of the world were right – chicken soup can heal what ails ya. It’s still gross to think about though.

        I totally get it. I’m just making sure I don’t have to defend your blogging honor to anyone. If you don’t feel well, your faithful slaves… I mean “readers”… will understand. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well my slaves will, because they have to. They don’t wear the collar to disobey.
        Bone meal is a, delicious and nutritious treat. Yummy! Lol
        And no, I’m not nice. I wouldn’t continue a conversation for anyone’s benefit but my own… and maybe my slaves’. And my cats! Oh, and the cast and crew of my upcoming major motion picture! And…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Actually, it’s tasteless. They make it in supplemental powder form for that very reason. But, chicken soup = deliciousness. Also, bone meal made from the corpses of your enemies. YUM!

        Glad to know that you’ll only respond when you feel like it. Or when the cats run across your keyboard. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Eh, I prefer chewing on my enemies long bones, personally. But, it has been a while since I let anyone I dislike take enough of my time & energy to consider them my enemy. Maybe I’ve forgotten the taste of bone so much that I don’t taste it.

        Maybe I need to find me some enemies. 😈

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Ah, shoot. That should’ve been – 😈

        I just found the list of emojis that work on WP. Clearly I haven’t memorized them all yet. But, wicked works too, even if it doesn’t make a cool lil guy with horns. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

