That Which No Longer Serves You

Hello dear reader(s)!

One of the things that is an important part of my eclectic, solitary practitioning, somewhere between Wiccan and Druid spiritual path (in other words, “Whatever, I do what I want!”), is the concept that in order to make room in your life for new and good things, you must first let go of that which no longer serves you.

It’s a concept that isn’t exclusive to my path, or any Pagan path, but seems to take on more importance to those who are Pagan or Paganish.  And in my path, it tends to work with the seasons.

Like clearing fallen leaves from the last couple of months, right around now has always (even before I really started paying attention to it), seemed like the right time to start letting go of that which does not serve me.  As we get closer to Yule, it is best to have as much room for the abundance of the coming year.  Again, you don’t have to be Pagan to want to clear stuff out around New Year’s, whatever calendar you are paying attention to.  One of the things that really drew me to the path that I am on, however, is that when I was reading into it, learning it, and researching it, I definitely realized that a lot of it happens by default.  Either I instinctively do those things, or the universe does them for me.

Take today for example…

Today, I once again became single.  It was about the most mutual breakup I have ever had in my life.  The entire conversation seemed to be two people wondering if they should just go ahead and call it.  Now, I have nothing against this woman.  The issues between us would have ordinarily been rather small, but the feel was obviously off for both of us.  We just didn’t connect in that way, no matter how well we clicked and got along.  I wish her all the happiness in the world.  But the relationship wasn’t serving me, and it wasn’t serving her either, insofar as I could tell.  And even though my intentions for today were to try to figure out if if I should end things or just give it more time, I basically had the question answered for me, by her obviously figuring out the same thing I did at roughly the same time.

So now, I have the room created for something better.  By that, I mean a relationship that better serves me.  Eventually.  When I decide I want one.  In the mean time, perhaps being single is something that serves me best right now.  Who knows?

What I do know, is that despite being single for the holidays, and despite the fact that I no longer have someone in the area who will often go exploring this area with me, it was time to let that go.  It just wasn’t serving me any longer.  Maybe I can take this time to rest, try to figure out what is going on with my head, and get in a better place for later.  Maybe I have been pushing too hard in my desire to get out and have things to do in this new city.

Despite yet another short-lived, failed relationship, I remain a hopeful romantic.  I have the feeling that the person who will fit with my special list of desires, challenges, requirements, and other compatibility issues is closer in my future than I previously may have thought.  If I held on to that which was no longer serving me, then I might not have left the room open for that which possibly will.  I am happier with me alone, than I am with that which no longer serves me.  So regardless of relationship status, I know that I am going to okay.

Is there anything that no longer serves you that you have recently let go of?  Do you think that it is important to let go of some things, to make room for others?  If not, do your neighbors complain about the smell of all the trash, you hoarder?

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

29 thoughts on “That Which No Longer Serves You”

  1. I’m impressed with how you ended the relationship. You should be proud. My last relationship ended badly. Very badly. It ended as I watched my ex being driven off in a police car. I swore I’d never get involved in that kind of drama ever again.

    While not looking for a relationship at all, eleven years ago I met my soulmate. No drama. Just lots of love. As I’ve said many times, the best way to find “the one” is to stop looking.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely think “letting go” is the best way to receive your highest and best. What you let go may serve someone else better. I like organization too much to hang on to things that don’t serve me. In your case, be excited. You may be receiving a better suited relationship right around the corner. You can be unhappy by yourself. And with 2017 right around the corner, taking the old, worn out, and undesirable forward is just wrong!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, I totally let go of a guy who I was holding on to. I gave him up. And I feel greaatt!! I kept giving into the urges of wanting to call him,needing to see him and be with him. When it all came down to the truth, he talked way to much for me. And often times, he woukd talk so much, that I would I be silent for 5 to 7 minutes, while he would talk his life away. It made me realize that He was absolutely not the guy that I would want as a husband. Lol I feel free to know I haven’t met the “one”yet.

    Like

  4. for me, the key to a good relationship is how relax i am with that person. if we feel comfortable being ourselves, sharing different opinions, beliefs, tastes and still have respect and admiration for one another, then we’re good.
    being alone is great for understanding, maturing the concept of self. with your positive attitude and open mind, i’m sure the perfect person will magickally appear to fulfill all ur desires. perhaps it’s time to hold a pagan meetup for the holidays… just a thought!

    Like

  5. I am all about clearing. Space, people, belongings, energy. I live my life this way, too. Maybe because I’m a Pagan Heathen Unitarian, or maybe because good Feng Shui is good. Hard to say.

    Like

  6. I so admire you for your strength!
    I just let go off a stranger with whom I had
    got pretty close but he didn’t turn out to be what he showed he was and that breaks me 😦
    But I am looking on the brighter side now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love the Eckhart Tolle quote that says “Some changes appear negative on the outside, but you will soon realise that space is being created in your life for something new to emerge.” I believe this, and yet it is one of the hardest things to put into practice–letting go of things or people that once had a positive effect upon you.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Don’t open the door? Let it burn, and rebuild? I don’t know, because I am not in your situation. The only thing I could offer, is that perhaps what you think is not serving really is, just not in the ways you would expect.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Great post, is good that it was mutual and easy- like you said I guess when something isn’t right it just isn’t, and the best thing is to realise that and move on. Take care, and I wish you luck in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Am just getting caught up on reading. I guess this is a sign of awareness and emotional maturity, right? So…sucks, but maybe not sucks. I had a discussion with a higher consciousness group this week and we were talking about how the end of 2016 was truly about clearing and ending. 2017 is probably going to rock, Josh. Make it so.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will do my best, and no it does not suck. I am very happy it is over. Nothing against her personally, but she definitely wasn’t right for me, and I kinda felt that going in and should have listened to that feeling then rather wasting time and getting hopes up.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

