Time To Rise

Hello dear reader(s)!

It is time to stop crawling.  It is time to stop bowing to the hate that has invaded our lives.  It is time to rise against the forces that threaten us.  It is time to fight back.

A desire for peace has for too long been interpreted as weakness or an unwillingness to fight.   Appealing to reason has been seen as appeasement.  We have attempted to work with those who oppose us despite their unwillingness to do the same.

We’ve played within the rules of a game that is rigged against us.

As we have seen, it is a game that we can not win.

This isn’t about voting, or the electoral college, or the popular vote, or anything else related to this particular election.  This is about those who have forced us to choose between two of the most hated candidates to ever run for office.  This is about those who have forced us to watch as our government is sold to the highest bidder.  This is about those who have a responsibility to report the news and the truth yet sit by and let people lie to us for their ratings.

So how do we fight them?

We can start by identifying our opponents.

It isn’t Trump, or Trump supporters.  I don’t like them, I hate Trump, but he isn’t the problem here.

As irresponsible as their votes for a racist misogynist are, I am sure most of them actually aren’t racist misogynists.  They were simply desperate, and misled.  Say what you will about them, but voting for Trump seemed the most likely way to vote outside the system.  Of course, they are finding out their candidate is anything but outside the system as he starts to fill positions with the insiders he promised to clean out.  We knew this would happen, but in their desperation I am certain they didn’t want to see it.  I would love to hate them, but if they are truly so desperate, I can’t.  I can only be mad at their unwillingness to stand up for the rights of all people instead of simply believing a conman who played on their fear and desperation.

So, who are the people who truly deserve our wrath?

  • “News” outlets  Specifically television news.
  • Lobbyists  These people have to register, it is easy to find out who they are.
  • “Defense” contractors  The real welfare recipients
  • Incumbent Congressmen  
  • The two major parties  
  • Political Action Committees
  • The greediest of corporate America  The other real welfare recipients

I think you don’t have to be to the left, or to the right to know that these groups have taken our country and turned it to serve them, instead of serving our country.

So, now that you have identified them, how do you fight back?

Well, I prefer nonviolent action.  I believe that violence should only be used as a last resort, in any situation.  The consequences are far too severe for me personally.

You could boycott these companies.  You could write to Congress and actually track their votes, letting them know that if they continue to work for those they are not Constitutionally supposed to represent, that they will not hold office for long, and then work to actually make good on that promise.  You can vote for third parties from the ground up, so the parties can actually be built into genuine forces.  You can come up with your own ideas, on how to fight these people in a peaceful way.

Protesting in the streets isn’t dong any good.  Complaining about the system isn’t doing any good.  Calling out people on social media isn’t doing any good.  Our voices have been heard for too long.  They are heard, and ignored because the money keeps coming.  The time for raising our voices is over.  It is time to rise in action.

Let’s rise up and fight a peaceful revolution, before things get so bad that someone sparks a violent one.

What ideas do you have for peaceful revolution?  Please leave them in the comment, or write your own post and paste the link.  Let’s make this a guide.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

20 thoughts on “Time To Rise”

  1. Josh. For many years I have thought that if only we could “educate” people they would understand why we need each other and why society is important. In my own (superior) liberal mind I have said: Well, if they only KNEW more or had access to FACTS and EVIDENCE, then they would vote like I do. If I could reason with them they would see the light. But, you know, I have abandoned that position.

    The millions who voted for Trump knew EXACTLY what they were voting for. No one “smeared ” him. He said all those things himself. No one made up anything about him. He was very clear on what he wants to do and says about Mexicans, Muslims, women, liberals, the press, people with disabilities and even his political opponent. The press reported it. It was on the debates. He was who he is. No voter can say they didn’t know.

    Now I believe that half of this nation are bigots, plain and simple. They know what he is. And they voted for that. This includes all those Republicans who claim to be “moderates”. Well, Trump would not be POTUS-elect if 85-90% of the GOP had not voted for him. I don’t buy the idea that any significant number of the GOP are “moderates”.

    I won’t waste more space here with my rant but you might look at my next to latest blog entry for my analysis of the Trump voter.
    https://josephurban.wordpress.com/2016/11/11/to-trump-voters/

    On a positive note. Young people need to vote. That is the only solution. People in my age group (65+) have way too much political power in this nation. But young people (like Sanders supporters) need to realize that in the USA change comes slowly. In increments. So, don’t get discouraged by minor and (in the case of Trump/Pence) major setbacks. But voting is the only way to change the system.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree with you on many points, but I think a lot of people knowingly voted for a bigot while they may not hold that view personally. It doesn’t excuse them, they are obviously guilty of being selfish pricks by letting others be harmed for what they THINK will be benefit them (it won’t). I do agree the GOP as a party had gone full extreme.
      But the Democrats this year failed miserably at fielding a viable alternative. They are out of touch. They pushed Hillary on us like she was a queen. And while she CLEARLY would have been a better President than Trump, she was a weak candidate.
      The problem with people voting to change things, is that even at local levels, if a candidate has a chance, they’re already beholden to the wrong people, or are the wrong people themselves.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am interested in what people say. This is a great forum to get the discussion going. Many of my Facebook friends are donating money to Planned Parenthood, ACLU, and environmental groups. I think Twitter, Facebook, and letters to the editor are great forums to express ideas. Many say they are standing up to the injustice, and harassment they see. Passion goes a long way, and more people need your passion, Josh.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I think you make some fantastic points.

    I do have one question: What about Political Action Committees that do good work? I’m planning – when I get me some of that sweet, sweet, disability money… & roll my change, which will probably be more than the former – on donating to the Planned Parenthood Action Fund. They’re gonna have a real uphill battle the next four years (plus whatever new laws the new Supreme Court make), & I think it’s a worthy cause.

    So… are there good political action funds, or are they all bad? 😉

    A webcomic on polyamory that I follow (Kimchi Cuddles on FB) made a good point: Don’t move to Canada. Move to a swing state.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At this point, I’m kind of against any PAC. Government shouldn’t need bribery to do what is right.
      And yes, change something by moving to a swing state. I did, and we went the wrong way this time. Hopefully they go the other way next time.
      Also, aren’t poly people sick of people thinking they’re the same as swingers? Get it? Swing state?
      That wasn’t very punny.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. OK, I understand your point. Unfortunately, because I think that this is how the government runs right now, I’ll still be giving them my money.

        Planned Parenthood has a real battle ahead of them – considering V.P. Pence all but started the whole “defund them” crusade. & President Trump (still can’t say that without throwing up a little) has said he’ll shut down the government to defund the organization.

        I’m not trying to convince you to change your mind. I think you’re absolutely right. I’m still upset, though. Especially where PP & Roe v. Wade & trans-rights & LGBT+ rights & minority rights & the environment are concerned. 😥

        Darn it!! I laughed at that pun! I feel like I don’t even know who I am anymore!!! (It was actually a good joke; I know how hard, first-hand, it is to make people understand WTH polyamory is).

        You best get your state into shape, my friend. You’ve got 4 years – GO! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I understand having to work within the system. But think about this for a minute… What if PP was using the money they spent lobbying the government to help make up the shortfall from a hostile government trying to cut their funds. Imagine a completely independent Planned Parenthood. Able to laugh in the face of those trying shut them down financially.

        Only , with the Supreme Court in Trump’s hands, Roe is probably doomed anyway, so only version functions will likely remain.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Planned Parenthood’s action fund is separate from Planned Parenthood’s clinics. People donate to the organizations separately. Still, you’re right, they could take the donations from the action fund & spend it on medical stuff…

        …but it’s not like the government is just giving PP money. The money they get from the government is reimbursement for medical procedures & testing through Medicaid. Countless states have said that their GOP governors can’t tell people where they can get their OB/GYN treatments.

        I’m sure those laws will be changed soon. It might take a Supreme Court ruling, which could take years. So… maybe that’s an upside? But, when Planned Parenthood takes the lawsuits before the court (any court, really… local, federal, Supreme… you get the picture), they have to have lawyers. Lawyers want a lot of money.

        In recent cases, judges did order the states (most of which are so destitute it’s ridiculous) to pay PP’s legal fees, but it’s not guaranteed. So the Action Fund is needed to pay those bills.

        It’s not guaranteed that joining the two organizations could make PP self-sufficient. One bad year, where people can’t donate as much or as often, & clinics would close. People would be left without healthcare.

        We saw what happened when (our wonderful V.P.-elect) Pence shut down a PP clinic in rural Indiana (one that had never performed abortions) – there was a huge HIV epidemic. Now imagine dozens of clinics closing. It doesn’t look good. 😦

        I read an article recently that pointed out overturning Roe v. Wade isn’t as easy as Trump/Pence would like. It was a good read & I have the link saved, if you’re interested. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. For the lawsuits, I understand needing a fund. And yes, orgs without government funding do worse in lean times. The Indiana example is a little different though, because it wasn’t just funding cuts that caused it to close, and there was no prep time to mitigate. I’m not saying I’d rather see them be exclusively private, just that they should think about that as a possibility.
        Overturning rulings isn’t unprecedented. It isn’t the most likely scenario, but it does happen.
        What I fear is going to be likely though, is more rulings allowed that substantially block access rendering the main ruling moot.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I get what you’re saying about Planned Parenthood trying, at least somewhat, to move to primarily private funding. Unfortunately, from my understanding, it doesn’t seem feasible. They receive set amounts from Medicaid for the procedures they do (y’know, the PAPs, breast exams, HIV tests, etc. – never abortion, no matter what the right-wingers say). This covers hundreds of thousands of people (men included! 😉 ), so getting the same cost per procedure would be nearly impossible. I believe it’s billions of dollars.

        This issue also has to do with a person’s right to choose the healthcare provider they like/are familiar with/feel comfortable with. The government telling people they can’t go to PP because they don’t like another healthcare procedure they offer is ridiculous.

        It would be like getting a letter from the gov’t saying, “Hey, I know you like your oncologist, but he prescribes medical marijuana/gives opiate painkillers/gives blood transfusions. My religion says that’s wrong, so you can’t see him anymore. Have fun trying to find someone else in your area, who takes your insurance, & doesn’t have a 3 month waiting list.” It’s meddling in a person’s health on the basis of a belief he/she might not have!

        Maybe that’s why I’m so gung-ho about funding PP’s Action Fund, despite the fact that we both know that money shouldn’t be in politics – I think what the government is doing is wrong. So, I doubt I would be swayed regardless of what argument you put forth. But, you do put forth a good argument.

        That’s the problem with deeply-held beliefs; facts can’t change them. LOL 🙂

        There are actually 2 Supreme Court rulings that set precedence for future rulings (I’m not sure if you know that or not, so I’m sorry if I assumed wrong!). One gives women the right to choose to have an abortion, & the other – ironically, based on our previous back & forth, is Planned Parenthood v. Casey – gives states the right to regulate abortions, as long as they don’t place an “undue burden” on women.

        The issue is exactly what you pointed out: “undue burden” has never been defined & it’s determined, a lot of times, by a case going to the Supreme Court. The court then decides if the states can/can’t enact a law by deciding what’s an undue burden.

        With the shift in the court, which can affect the political leaning of the court for decades, “undue burden” becomes a very hard standard to reach. Unless, of course, the justices Drumpf picks are actual legislators & care about the law. I can’t even type that with a straight face, though.

        You’re right – chances are that abortion rights won’t end with a bang, but with a series of incremental changes (to paraphrase T.S. Eliot). That’s how most anti-choice people think it needs to happen anyway. That way, they think women won’t notice. Yeah, right. *rolls eyes*

        Liked by 2 people

      6. Oh, it’s not an argument. Kind of a Utopian vision. Yes, any procedure or health service, the government SHOULD reimburse for Medicaid/Medicare regardless of religion (that whole separation of church and state doctrine the First Amendment automatically implies, but is ignored). But it doesn’t. It should, but doesn’t.
        So I would like PP to make up the difference if they can. Or try. Because I see their lobbying effort as futile in a GOP government. Hopefully I’m wrong.
        I am aware of the rulings (that Texas case on hospital admitting privileges was a nice win) and of course of Roe, but precedent doesn’t guarantee anything. I do think they’ll limit access but the justices will claim it won’t, if Trump actually does appoint pto-lifers.
        I hope I’m wrong.
        If you want to give to their PAC, because the world works that way, do so.
        But in my perfect world, the government doesn’t need money to do the right thing.
        Pipe dream, I’m sure.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Ah… no no… I’m not saying we’re having an argument. I’m saying that I understand my bias & that whatever opinions a person put forth wouldn’t change my mind. We’re having a lovely conversation.

        Yes, we’re holding different viewpoints & approaches, but we both want the same end. So, I think, for humanity’s sake, we both need to move forward with our respective approaches! If you wanna go grassroots, go for it!! If I wanna give my money (in Mike Pence’s name so he gets a nice certificate), I’ll do it!!

        Now, if you were anti-choice, we might have a problem. 😉

        In the Texas ruling, as is my understanding, it sets a bit more precedence than limiting states’ ability to require admitting privileges. The ruling said, for the states’ to create new, constitutional abortion laws, they have to prove that they have a health benefit for women.

        Then again, I didn’t read the actual ruling (srsly, who does?! well… lawyers, maybe… lol). It’s possible that it could be “read” a different way. Maybe I should read it. It would help me to argue with people & it might assuage my fears. *ponders*

        Liked by 1 person

      8. The Texas ruling defines the admitting privileges as being too restrictive to access. It’s an interpretation of an existing ruling that ordinarily would help keep other severely restricting laws from hitting the books.
        Until Trump appoints people to interpret things that are clearly restrictive as not. That’s what I fear.
        And the gift in Pence’s name? Brilliant.

        Like

      9. By the way… pipe dreams are fantastic. Once upon a time, abortion rights were a pipe dream. Same-sex marriage’s legality was a pipe dream. African-Americans & Caucasian-Americans sitting at the same restaurant counter was a pipe dream.

        Keep dreaming into those pipes, my friend. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. It is appalling to have to choose between two despicable candidates. You are so right. It is time for the average person to reach out and work toward changing things. Most people want to do the right thing, just have different ideas of how to get there. A message to your elected officials on every level changes things. Involvement of level-headed people is a great start.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

