Stir Crazy

Hello dear reader(s)!

Have you ever heard the phrase, if you’re bored then you’re boring?  Well, it could just be that you are new in town and your friends are a couple with a child so they don’t exactly like going to places where people meet.

I am bored as hell.  I can entertain myself only so long, before I start to get a little crazy.

It is worse, being a Pagan in the bible belt where everyone is all about Jesus.  I am not anti-Jesus, but Jesus is just alright with me.  Jesus is just alright.  Oh yeah.  When people find out I am not a church going, bible thumping, Jesus freak aficionado, they tend to want to stop talking to me.

I do have a Pagan Meetup next week, and I am looking forward to that.  I am also going to tour a coffee roasting plant as part of a group, and am looking forward to that too, but that is a couple weeks away.  What to do in the meantime?

Yesterday, I went to a huge park with two lakes.  It is pretty cool and for a minute, being the only person in that vast area was very soothing.  After a while though, I really wished I had some company.

Next year, I want to travel.  I want to go to England.  And Ireland.  But I don’t want to do it alone.  I don’t want to do it with a friend, even.  I want to take a lover to Europe with me.  I want to go to the Atlantis Bookshop with someone who understands why I would geek out on such a place.  I want to see the tower of London.  I want to go to Hyde Park.  I want to go to Stonehenge.  I want to take the 1916 Rebellion walking tour in Dublin.  I want to see Saint Patrick’s Cathedral.  I want to go to the Guinness storehouse.  I want to go to the Irish countryside.  I want to see castles, and tombs, and history.  I want to go with someone who wants to be there with me as much as I want to be there with her.  I probably shouldn’t.   I should probably be responsible and save my money.  It isn’t as if I am rich, or anything.  Besides, I would need the right type of person for me to want to go, and I don’t see her in my life right now.

If my roommate feels better, we may go to the library today.  At least that will be something.  I also need to run to Walmart to pick up le paper de la toilet.  Oh joy!  The library sounds cool.  Walmart?  Yeah, I have nightmares about Walmart.  Especially that one.  Standing in line behind a ton of pissed off people while Wade, the World’s Slowest Checker looks over his glasses at the touchscreen like it is some piece of alien technology before giving up and calling for the ever-elusive CSM to clear his fuck-up does not sound like the way I want to spend my time.

Wish me luck in finding something fun to do before I completely lose my sanity.

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

27 thoughts on “Stir Crazy”

  1. LOL @ Wade! Excellent use of lyrics, too.
    You should maybe be careful, this desire for touring so much of the UK with a lover may read like advertising to some. If anything comes from that, I hope it’s a good trip 🙂
    Le papier de la toilette comes to me via those Amazonians you’ve mentioned previously. BUT you never know, you could have a meet cute over as you both reach for the same rolls, and then zoom! off to the airport! She’s probably read this post and is hovering in the tissue aisle as we speak!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bwahahahaha! Yeah, I didn’t even think of the whole possible ad sounding thing. Ugh! “Hook up with me, and get a trip to Europe!” Uh yeah…no. Also, I don’t think there is any chance of meeting anyone at that Walmart. That Walmart is full of the people who were kicked out of other Walmarts, it would seem.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I swear I saw you at MY Walmart the other day…. I kept shouting “Josh! Josh!!” You ignored me. As usual…. *sigh*

    I feel so neglected. And to think I posted a pic of myself just for YOU on my page. Boo hiss boo!

    😀

    Still bored? Or did you grin a little? If you grinned, I’ll let the boredom slide. This time. 🙂 Hugs, ~J

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Man, I understand that completely! I’m surrounded by my kids all the time, but being here by myself also prevents me from going out and doing anything fun. The highlight of my week is our grocery shopping. Lol. I’m sure you’ll find something entertaining, or network with some more people here soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember those boring days. I took classes on things like wine, pastry making, painting, scuba, anything to get out, meet people, make friends. It was helpful. Travel sounds wonderful and I hope that’s in your future with a lover. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

