No Beginning

Continued from No End

The plane dove toward the clearing; the pilot fighting to gain control with the plane’s remaining engine.  The skilled pilot was doing a remarkable job of getting the plane under control again.

He still sat with his eyes closed, smiling.  He knew everything would be okay.  Surely the universe wouldn’t finally unite him with the woman he had loved for years, only for him to die the morning after.

The plane began to level out, and the screaming turned into cheers.  He opened his eyes and looked out of the window.  They were low, but it looked fine.  He started wondering if he should take the next available flight after they made it back to the airport, or if he should take an extra day to calm to down.

Unbeknownst to him, the blast from the engine had also caused a major hydraulic leak.  The alarms going off in the cockpit indicated that the pressure was almost lost.  The crew attempted an emergency landing into the small clearing.  They knew that realistically, there was no hope.

He didn’t even have time to wonder why they were descending again.

She was in the back at work, talking with her coworkers and waiting for the next potential sale to walk in the door.

“So?” Isabella asked her.

“So what?” she asked in reply, knowing full well what she wanted to know.

“You know what!” Isabella prodded.  “I’ve never seen you look at someone that way!  He looked at you the same.  You two were like…I don’t know.  Just wow.  It was like a romantic movie.  Just like a dream.  And he was so…”

“Nice?” she interrupted.

“Hot,” Isabella laughed.

“Well, yeah, I guess that too,” she giggled.

“He really did seem like a good guy.  I can see why you talk about him so much,” Isabella teased.

“I do not!” she replied.

“Um, yeah.  Okay.  Whatever you say.  Just because you always called him your friend, doesn’t mean none of us saw it.  But now I want to know.  What happened after you two left?” Isabella demanded.

She didn’t say anything, but the smile on her face and the way she averted her eyes answered Isabella’s question better than words could have anyway.

“Alright!” Isabella shouted and held up her hand for a high-five.  “Well?  How was it?”

“It was amazing!  I am in love.  I can’t believe it.  It was…perfect.  I don’t know how I am going to be without him for so long now.  I know he isn’t in a position to really come here right away, and I can’t leave yet either.  I just…I know he is the one,” she said.

Just then. her coworker Marco came into the back from the showroom looking as white as snow.  The fearful, pale expression on his face was something nobody had ever seen from confident Marco, especially given his olive complexion.

“Hey Amber?” Marco began hesitantly.  “That guy you were with last night?  Where did you say he lived?”

She looked at Marco with a confused expression and answered, “Chicago.  Why?”

Isabella chimed in, “Yeah Marco, why?”

Marco sighed with relief.  “Oh, thank God!  I did NOT want to have to tell you something like that.  But no big deal, this one was going to Denver.  Big plane crash, just heard about it.  Took off from here, and I know your guy friend was leaving today.  Just got really scared, you know?  I mean, it still sucks.  There were no survivors and all, but I am so glad it wasn’t anybody you knew.”

Amber went white, and Isabella rushed over to catch her as her knees gave out.

“Oh my God, sweety,” Isabella began, “He was changing planes in Denver, wasn’t he?”

Amber nodded and sobbed.

She wasn’t the same after that.  The loss of this man she briefly got to have, was just too much to take.  The smiles still came on the sales floor, but anyone who knew her, knew they weren’t genuine.  As the months passed, she sank into a very deep depression.  Her world turned to grey.

Her friends had tried to take her out in order to help her live again, but it was no use.  It was as if all the color had vanished from the world.  She compared all the other guys to him.  She knew that it wasn’t right, but there was nothing she could do about it.  She lived her life as if it was on autopilot.  Work, home, work, home, work, home, repeat.  She felt weak.

Her friends knew she was strong, however.  They wondered how she even found the strength within her to get out of bed everyday.  After everything she had been through before him, then getting together with him for just one night, they couldn’t even imagine themselves being as strong as she was.  So her friends met one night, and decided to do something about it.

The inner circle was small, and only they really knew the words to use.  The outer circle consisted of her coworkers and other friends mostly there for support and to increase the presence of the energy.  The fire burned in the center.  Her friends had decided Amber deserved to be happy.  She deserved to see more than grey once again.  She deserved to live a life healed from the pain she had experienced, and the terrible tragedy of the crash.  They did everything they could for her.

It did not appear to have worked.  She was a shell of her former self.  It was as if all of the life within her was lost along with the lives in that crash.

Nine and a half months after she had him, she was in the back room, waiting for a potential sale.  She was mindlessly scrolling through Facebook on her phone, when she saw Marco walk in, looking white as snow.

“Hey Amber?” Marco began hesitantly.  “Um…someone is here asking for you.  And, um…you better go see.”

 

 

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

28 thoughts on “No Beginning”

      1. Seconded all around!! I’d love to see where it goes from here, any changes to the Universe as they know it, etc.

        Also seconded that it is really very & truly wonderfully written. I kept wanting to know more, I felt sad when the plane crashed, uplifted at the end…

        I see why you wanted to end it there. I’d like to see what you can do now. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Any time you mess with the Universe’s plans, the Universe bites back. & it usually has heavier artillery. 😉

        If I were psychic, I would be down in Vegas winning big. Trust me – I have a whole plan for if I get bitten by a radioactive brain. It depends on whether I become a zombie, though. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s a very good question. & I think it’s important to avoid the science fiction/fantasy trope that such a change alters “everything.”

        You touched on your awareness of it in your last comment. It shows your writing chops, Sir.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Beyond the fact that I have made jokes about chopped writing in past posts, it is funny because I do not really consider myself someone with chops of writing. I appreciate the compliment, however.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I think it might have just been one, I can’t remember. And possibly so, I have been blogging for many a fortnight. I remember having to blog uphill in the snow, both ways!
        I don’t know, for all pretend ego, I have a ton of trouble accepting compliments, as I am sure you may have noticed. People think I am British because of it.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I have the same problem. I’ve never been assumed British – that’s a great compliment, in my mind.

        FYI, I have some writing creds & I say you’re a good writer. I’ll try to limit my compliments from now on. But I’m not gonna make any promises. If – OK, when – you write something amazing, you’ll hear about it. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Have you ever watched Eddie Izzard’s stand-up? He has a brilliant bit about British people (as he’s a Brit, himself). He says, paraphrasing (badly), that British people don’t say what they mean. You’ll see two men meet, exchange pleasantries, & walk on a little bit, saying, “Can’t stand the man.”

        It’s much more funny coming from a fabulous transvestite British man. If you haven’t seen his stand-up, I recommend it all. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I love him too!!! I didn’t think it was possible, but I like you even more now. 😀

        I’ve never had jammy dodgers! I’m so jealous, I’m turning as green as the Wicked Witch of the West before she became an unsightly carpet stain!!

        Are they delicious? Like, worthy of crashing a small putt-putt plane delicious? 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      9. I know we have an Asian market, but I’m not sure about a World Market. I’m pretty sure the Almighty Google could tell me (All Hail the Blessed Google!)

        If not, there’s always the Internet. Amazon has an amazing Pocky selection. Maybe they have jammy dodgers that pilots haven’t hidden under their seats yet.

        Are there different flavors of jam?

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Mmm… banana nutella crepe. There’s a stand at the mall near me that does crepes & has that on its menu. 😀

        Honestly, I’m a fan of all cookies. Banana & toffee just puts it a little over the top. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      11. My apologies, my dear Sir. I enjoy biscuits, cookies, nibbles – really, anything with too much sugar & fat for a single serving. LOL

        I’ve never had one yet. I just noticed that fantastic stand the last time we went to the mall. But we were there for steak & seafood, so I had to save room. Also, I had to eat an entire bag made out of chocolate. (I made a post about it a while back – best. dessert. ever!!!)

        Like

Comments appreciated

