Award Exception

Hello dear reader(s)!

A while back, I received a blog award.  Despite my usual award-free blog-type-thing stance, I have made an exception in this case, since it is actual recognition and not a game of nomination tag.  The award is the Serenity Blog Award.  The award is given to those blogs whose goal is “to spread peace and unity through love and respect, while shining light on important topics”, which is apparently something they think this blog-type-thing does.  And maybe from time to time, they are right.

I wanted to display the little graphic thingy, but I can’t get it to show up.  Oh well.

Anyway, I think it is important now, having accepted this award, to explain why I write about peace.

I write about peace the same reason I write anything else.  I write about what is important to me.  I feel that as humans, we have a duty to other humans.  I strongly disagree with Randian philosophy, and feel that humanity achieves the most when working as a team.  No one person, no matter how delusional, can do everything on their own.  When we work together, things are better for all.  And who doesn’t want things to be good?

Working together requires a state of peace.  A recognition of different skills and talents, and appreciation of differences.  So much more could be achieved for all if we did so in a state of peace and cooperation.  I look around the world, and see needless suffering.  It bothers me, because I believe it handicaps us as a species.

Just like anything else I write about, it is something I have to do.  A sense inside of me that I must add my voice for the good of the world, even if nobody listens and it doesn’t make any difference.  At least I have tried.

I sincerely believe most of us want peace, unless we are so blinded by greed and profit off of chaos.  I believe the majority of people to still be good, but simply do not have the time to think about ways we can make this world better for all, without giving up much in return.  So I add my voice, hoping that possibly someone in a position to do something about it might hear these things, from a regular person, and understand that people want to live in peace.

We all have different ideas of how to achieve it, but many of us are not even having the conversation.  If I can give someone some ideas they can take, or alter, or be inspired by to affect change, then I will feel like this life isn’t wasted.

Especially with my disability, I feel it is very important to contribute to this world in any way I can.  I don’t know if I have made a difference.  But I have to try.  And maybe, just by trying, I have.

Peace and happiness to you all.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

16 thoughts on “Award Exception”

  1. This is simply beautiful. I appreciate very much your taking the time (not to mention making the award exception), because we know that you are reaching people & you’re trying your best to lead by example. Your words reach a wide audience & it definitely makes a difference. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautifully said, I believe we are all trying to achieve the same goal in our own unique way thru the blogosphere, collectively it makes a big difference. Keep up the great work Josh, u certainly make a difference!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

