Our Worst Enemies

Hello dear reader(s)!

Who is your biggest enemy?  Is it your boss?  The government?  Tom Brady?  Bugs Bunny?

No, it is probably you.

Too many times, we forget we have this one life.  Even if you believe there are other lives, we have this one life here, on Earth, as us.

Sometimes we are so worried about what people are thinking of us, and how they are judging us, that we end up making things harder on ourselves, and wasting this one life.

But the fact of the matter is that nobody is really judging you because they are too busy judging themselves.  Sure, some really judgmental people might have issues with you, but those people aren’t people you should probably care about anyway.

Life isn’t middle school.

I know that I do not walk around thinking to myself about how messed up someone is dressed or why on Earth someone would be singing to themselves.  I have things to do.  I’m thinking about what I can get done in the shortest amount of time and with the least amount of effort possible, because I am lazy.

Of course, there are exceptions.

I judge drivers on the road.  I judge people who are in my way.  I judge the person revving up his motorcycle for no reason at all.  But they don’t know me, and likely my opinion means nothing to them.  And it shouldn’t.  Because as soon as my encounter with them is over, so is any memory of them or their affect on my life.  They don’t care that some guy was thinking bad things about them.  They were probably thinking bad things about me at the same time, if they noticed me at all.

The people in your life are there for a reason.  They know who you are, and can see you, even on the days you are having trouble seeing that person for yourself.  They do not care about your occasional mistakes or when things are not perfect.  They understand that nobody is perfect and that perfect would actually be pretty boring.  They don’t see you for your clothes, or your physique, or your bank account.  If they do, they suck and you really should find better people to have in your life.

You will have more defeats in this life than you will have victories.  Failing again and again but continuing to try is how we end up succeeding.  Then those victories end up being so much sweeter when they actually come.

So live life.  Have fun.  If something doesn’t go your way, try again.  Keep going, and don’t beat yourself up.  Your head can kick your ass harder than anybody else would want to.  We all can be our own worst enemy.  But if we try really hard, we all can be our own best friend too.

And on that note, my dear reader(s), I bid your adieu.  Remember the Red River Valley, because I have things to do.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

13 thoughts on “Our Worst Enemies”

  1. For one, that song by Lit is awesome. I had the chance it play it (I’m a drummer) with a group of guys who love 90s alt rock as much as I do, and we rocked the shit out of that song.

    For another, I hate how close to home this post hits. That phrase about being our own worst enemies… well… I think it’s one million times more true for me than anyone else, which is obviously inaccurate and unquantifiable, but… it really hits close to home. I’m often time so stuck inside my own mind (and twisted inner psyche) that I do lose sight of the big picture, make things harder than they should be, and coupled with my really neurotic tendencies, I basically torture myself.

    It sucks. I need to buy a helmet. Thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. True. True. It’s easy to judge ourselves because we don’t just think we are good enough, and most times just want to do things by people’s standard, but just as you rightly said, we are the ones standing in our own way.
    Good read. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

