Peaceful

Hello dear reader(s)!

I am so happy to be in my new home.  Yesterday was a rough one, because many unexpected things went wrong, but I am still very happy to be here.  A lot of those things have either been worked out or will be shortly.  My cats are beginning to adapt to their new surroundings and are only occasionally growling and hissing at their new framily.  The house is nice, despite the lack of three-prong electricity and proper working cable outlets where any sane person would put a cable outlet.  But it being nice isn’t what I love most about it.

What I love most about the house is the neighborhood in which it is located.

In Seattle, I was constantly bombarded with the noise from the neighbors slamming their doors, or running laundry, or stomping around upstairs, or the trucks who would bang over the bump in the street out front at four in the morning, or the sirens, or the car alarms.

In my neighborhood, there are no people walking down the street, drunkenly shouting at each other every weekend night.  There are no traffic accidents out front.  There is no SWAT standoffs with the angry person two buildings over who threatened to blow up a mosque because apparently he believes that would somehow make a positive difference in the world.  I do not trip over the homeless who can not afford to live there, or come from elsewhere in the nation because Seattle is fine with building tent cities for homeless from all over but not affordable housing for people who have lived there for years but are being pushed out by foreign real estate investors and Amazon employees.

I woke up to the light flooding in the windows this morning, not to the loud noises of inconsiderate people.  I do not hear construction outside my window despite the fact that the neighbors are building onto their home, and the neighbors across the street are leveling their backyard.  None of them do it at 5:30 in the morning in the name of progress.

I am still wiped out from moving.  My stomach hurts from the stress of it all, and I need time to recover a bit.  But here, I can already feel that the typical recovery from events that still tax my body will be much less because I can do so in relative peace.  I look out of the windows with my coffee, and look at the squirrels and the trees.  I get to smile listening to next to nothing.  It makes me very happy.  I can hear the conversations with the voices in my head.

Seattle made me realize how important peace can be, because there were so many times it seemed like I couldn’t find any.  A full night’s rest there was rare for me.  I have slept all the way through every night here, with only occasional interruptions for my bladder.  All this peace has me thinking…

Imagine living in a war zone.  A place where bombs are dropping at night in your town off and on for years.  A place where powerful nations are using your home as a pawn in a deadly game for power and influence.  Where the resources under the ground you walk on are proven time and time again to be more valuable than the lives of you and your children.  Where arguments over settlements and territory are heard while arguments over how to stop the bloodshed and bring peace are never allowed to be spoken, or fall on deaf ears.  Imagine growing up in that situation for decades.

Then tell me why you would be anything but hateful toward those nations involved.

We wonder why people hate us, and the answer is that we do not even acknowledge them.  We allow our government to do things in our name and in the name of our interests that take peace from people.  Those people then feel they are justified to take the peace from us.

While we do so, we take away much needed resources that could go to improving the quality of life for all the people in our country, allowing a more peaceful existence.  We have bases spread throughout the world to do nothing more than provide for the companies that do business under our flag but no longer give anything back.

The military-industrial complex is a scam on all people.  Our illusion of a democratic republic is just that, an illusion.  We are under the rule of a corporate/military duumvirate, and no elected officials dare to challenge that system.  Until our military is not the defensive force it should be, we will face those who will try to take peace from us.

I had it good in Seattle.  Despite the way it felt like my state of mind was affected by a lack of peace, the truth is, it was very peaceful compared to many places around the world.

As long as we allow our government, our military, and especially our corporations to take peace away from people in other parts of the world, there are going to be people trying very hard to take peace away from us here.

If you want peace, you can’t win it by increasing the size of the largest military in the world by many times over.  You can’t win it by taking peace from others.  You can’t win it by building a wall to keep out those you do not like.   People determined to take peace will find a way.

You may never achieve total peace, but you can make things more peaceful by attempting to create peace.  When you create chaos, distress, conflict, and war, those things are what you get.

Let’s all work to make our neighborhoods, our cities, our states, and our countries more peaceful places to live.  Trust me, it’s really nice.

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

15 thoughts on “Peaceful”

  1. Very good post. I wonder sometimes, as well, about living in a place where bombings are part of the everyday routine. When will we ever realize the answer to war is not more war? I’m glad you have found a peaceful environment, anyway; treasure that.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s a transition very few would have made & it shows that you have a broader interpretation of the world than the mere navel-gazing most people take.

        But, I’ll stop singing your praises so that your face can de-flush. That is, until I comment on your next post. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

