Merry Mabon

Hello dear reader(s)!

Last night at sunset, I began the celebration of Mabon.  You may know it as Autumn or Fall.  Regardless of what you call it, we are officially entering my favorite time of year.  The Autumnal Equinox for me was at about 7 this morning, but Mabon goes from sunset yesterday to sunset today on my path.  Today is a day for balance, and for celebrating the harvest (since I am not a farmer, it means showing gratitude for all the work I have put in to get me where I am today, and gratitude for the light that allowed the food to grow that will sustain me through the winter, even if I am buying it from a store.)  In addition to celebrating and being thankful for where I am in life today, I will begin working (although not too hard, it is a day of balance) on preparing for my upcoming move.

As I celebrate, I reflect on all that has happened this year.  My health and strength have seemed to improve somewhat.  Not to where I can consider myself healthy, but to where I am feeling less ill than I have since prior to my diagnosis.  I have been through countless appointments, taken awful medication, and just physically put in the work to make this happen.  I am thankful for all that has allowed me to feel close to human on more days than for quite some time now.  I have forged friendships that led to me meeting new people, including my beloved Luna.  I have traveled and made preparations to begin a new life where I may stand a chance of being able to have a life close to some kind of independence, surrounded by those who raise my energy.  I have cast aside much of what no longer serves me.

I am moving within days.  It is by total coincidence that I will be arriving during the upcoming Lunar eclipse.  The blood moon.  A day I believe is good for new beginnings.  Although, as I walk further along my path, I wonder if perhaps it is no coincidence at all.  As I started paying attention to the natural universe, it seems as though the natural universe has been paying more attention to me.

Who knows?  Who cares?  I’m no zealot.  I’m happy today.  That’s the point.  Life is going well, and I am taking the time to celebrate it and reflect on it.

After I move, I get to start all the wonderful Fall activities I love so much.  The things that I like to do that make me feel more connected to the world.  I am going to go to at least one pumpkin patch.  I can’t wait to carve jack-o-lanterns to go out front of the new house.  I am going to go to at least one corn maze.  I am going to go pick apples.  I am going to go to a haunted house.  I guess they rule in Kansas City.  Not an actual haunted house, but you know, the kind that are set up to scare people for fun.  I am going to drink hot apple cider and eat pumpkin treats.  I am going to take walks in the leaves where it is not too hot.  I am going to celebrate Samhain next month and talk to Hannah when the veil is thin.  I am going to celebrate my friend’s birthday.  I am going to celebrate my own birthday.

There is a lot of terrible things going on in the world right now.  Many of it is done in the name of religions and strict interpretations thereof, that brainwash their followers into believing that not only is their God the one true God, but that the particular interpretation of what their God wants is the one and true interpretation.  Then some take it a step further and push the belief that anyone who does not follow their God, or their specific interpretation of their God is evil and must be destroyed.  Not only that, but they push people into attempting to destroy the people their God is either unwilling or incapable of destroying himself.

Regardless of what you do or do not believe, I think it is time all of us understand that attempting to force people into believing in your God isn’t doing anyone any good, including your God.  Your violence in the name your God turns people from him.  Whether you believe it is your God, or my Goddess and God, or nothing but happy coincidence in the way particles combine, I think we can all agree that we are blessed to have the gifts of the seasons, the sunlight, the streams and rivers, the plants and trees, the weather, and the chance to attempt to create the happiest life here on this blue rock in space that we can.  Whether you set aside days to do it or not, how about we appreciate the gifts that either the divine or science bestow on all of us, and quit trying to fuck it up for us all over petty arguments about who gave us the gift?  Give thanks to whatever you believe by appreciating the gifts given while you can.

Merry Mabon, Happy Fall, Happy Autumn, and Happy Spring for those of you in the Southern Hemisphere.

Blessed Be.

 

 

 

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

13 thoughts on “Merry Mabon”

Comments appreciated

