Legalize

If you are not 21 or over, please leave this page for now.  Thank you.

Hello dear reader(s)!

And greetings from Washington state, one of the few states in the nation with legal recreational marijuana.  Oh, and one of the best economies in the nation.  A place where the biggest problems facing the people are traffic because the people in charge have decided to make life impossible for cars, while failing to replace those cars with adequate public transportation, and high housing prices because everybody and their brother’s sister’s mother’s father’s cousin’s former high school sweetheart wants to live here.  Is it because of the legal recreational marijuana?  Doubtful.  But that could be part of it.

I am not a major pothead.  Do I use it occasionally?  Yes.  It is a very effective anti-anxiety medication, and much safer than the Ativan I was on for so long.  It is an effective pain-killer.  It is the best anti-nausea medication I have ever used, and it is one hell of an appetite stimulant.  When I was fighting cancer, I went from 220 lbs to 140 lbs.  I was dying, and had no strength to attempt to live.  I could not eat from the GVHD in my throat, my digestive system issues (which still plague me), and the nausea.  Nothing they could give me would touch it.  Nothing.  Medical was legal here at the time.  I asked my doctor if she thought marijuana would help me, and she followed the DEA approved line of bullshit and told me it would be too dangerous and there wasn’t enough evidence that it would help.  (This is before cancer.gov admitted otherwise.)  So, without the card, I broke the law and obtained it illegally.  Trusting my supplier to give me the oil and only the oil in hopes it would help.

I got lucky.  My supplier was a stand-up person and the oil was as advertised (not in actual ads, or course).  And I tried it.  And at first, I got high as fuck and I hated it.  I almost stopped.  But I got hungry.  And the pain was less.  And I could eat again.  And pretty soon, the sharp high I was getting became a calming peaceful sensation.  I started to gain weight.  I started to be able to fight off all that was happening inside of me thanks to my newfound strength from the calories I wouldn’t have been able to take in otherwise.  The treatments actually began to work better, bolstered by a body able to help it fight.  And I started taking less pain meds.  I was on a ton of narcotics there for a while.  I started making a plan to draw off both the narcotics and the Ativan.  I stopped the narcotics cold.  Suffered three weeks of vicious withdrawals with the help of marijuana.  Stopped the Ativan in a safe taper.

Do you know what can happen when you stop Ativan (something they prescribe like candy until they decide you’ve been on it too long)?  You can die.  Do you know what can happen when you suddenly stop marijuana?  Um…not much.  I guess when I have and had an anxiety attack I kinda wished I had some with me.  The horror!!!!

My doctor didn’t want me to use marijuana for a valid reason, however.  With my weakened immune system, smoking marijuana can lead to fungal infections.  Up here, where I could obtain the oil (even if it was illegal without a medical card at the time), not an issue.  I don’t want to smoke anything.

But when I lived down in Reno, and friends had it?  Guess what I did once or twice?  And that fungal infection in my lungs?  It’s possible it could have been from that.  If it was legal there, when my friends were around the bonfire, I would have already been sucking on a candy made from the oil and it would have never happened.

Legalization brings safety.  Legalization brings knowledge of trusted supply.  Legalization brings an end to turf battles between cartels.  Legalization makes a life saving medicine available to all without much risk.  When I used during my cancer fight, I didn’t know what I was getting, but I needed something.  I was willing to try anything.  Anything.

I still use that medication occasionally. But now, I walk down the street, pass the sign waver (really, a sign waver for a store that sells a drug that people are currently in prison for, talk about surreal) and into the store.  I find the candies inside the case that are manufactured in inspected facilities, using marijuana that is only organically grown by state inspected and licensed farms, and then tell the person behind the counter what I would like.  Some people get the pieces of the plant, I get the edibles.  It is all sealed and safe for someone like me.  I pay for my candy, put the tin in my pocket (looks like a tin of breath mints) tip the budtender for handing them to me and working in an industry that is still unnecessarily dangerous due to cowboys from the DEA who still like to occasionally raid the places that provide a legal avenue of supply to something they simply could never stop anyway.  And I walk back down the street and go home.

My organic, vegan medicine comes with warning labels, sealed containers, and a supply more strictly enforced than the peanut butter you obtain from your grocery store.  I get 5 mg of THC in each candy.  (Most people take two, one is fine for me.)  I can choose the strain (I prefer a hybrid.)

Everything negatively associated with marijuana in studies is either correlation based on the underlying issues of those who need to self-medicate, or is associated with the fact it is illegal.  It is not a gateway.  For me, it actually got me off legal mediation that is far more dangerous and worse for society.  Do people who need to self medicate occasionally try other drugs?   Yes.  Is there anything to suggest that marijuana was the cause rather than someone who needs to medicate so badly with no legal means and a broken mental health system that they will try what they can?  Absolutely not.  Do people who use marijuana have a higher incidence of depression?  Sometimes.  Was it the marijuana?  Probably not.  They probably turned to marijuana to medicate the existing depression.  Can marijuana cause cancer as suggested by one single, unreplicated study that made headlines recently?  It might alter the DNA.  Might.  Can anyone find a single case of non-smoked marijuana that has led to cancer?  Anyone?

And since just about everything is a carcinogen, would you rather get cancer from something that helps you survive it?  Or from your shitty, polluted drinking water?

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a tin of candy to use before I move to a place with draconian laws against this medicine, and I have a headache that needs medicating.

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

37 thoughts on “Legalize”

  1. The benefits alone seem to outweigh the potential negatives. It’s odd that you posted this, but on the way to work, I was just thinking about what I would do if I had cancer. Legal marijuana come to mind, because I figured the best advantage a cancer patient could have would be the ability to consume calories and lots of them. Thanks for this very open and honest post. We need more dialogue like this. Makes me think about euthanasia and why in the world people would oppose that. Tt’s a tough conversation to have, but it needs to be had.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Josh – Are you familiar with Viceland? it’s a TV Channel, but they are also on many social media sites. They are big advocates for legalizing marijuana & they show documentaries with stories very similar to yours. There was one where cannabis actually cured epilepsy in a child! It’s very interesting!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I am not, but I should check it out. I have heard about the wonders it does with epilepsy before. In fact, it pisses me off that I need to put the 21+ warning on this p0st to protect myself because I know it has been shown to help children as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. To make a long story short. Marijuana was made illegal in 1937 because it was a “Mexican” and “black” drug and was competing with the booze companies. Despite the medical facts.

    “…In 1937, the U.S. passed the first federal law against cannabis, despite the objections of the American Medical Association (AMA). Dr. William C. Woodward, testifying on behalf of the AMA, told Congress that, “The American Medical Association knows of no evidence that marijuana is a dangerous drug” and warned that a prohibition “loses sight of the fact that future investigation may show that there are substantial medical uses for Cannabis.”…”

    http://www.safeaccessnow.org/scientific_history_cannabis

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I totally agree with this! I have been prescribed Ativan for a few years now. I only use it when I absolutely need it because I’m scared to death of a benzo addiction. I would gladly leave that shit behind if pot was legal here in Ohio. At this point I couldn’t risk losing my child if I got a drug charge.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m not a fan of the smell and I hate to be high at all, so I’ll pass. BUT! I think it should be legal and regulated. I mean, I don’t like hot tubs either, but other people do, and they say soaking in a hot tub reduces their aches and pains, soooo…

    If I were nauseated and literally withering away, I’d go the weed route, absolutely. I’ve seen it work.

    Also, I like my Ativan. Mine expire before I get through them. I’ve taken someteen since November. If I needed a higher dosage, especially daily, well I’d look for your breath mints 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what great about the candies. No smell, no taste even. Not that I want to convert you. In fact, please stay away so demand doesn’t jump along with prices. LOL
      But with cancer, yes, do whatever you can to survive if that is what you want to do.

      Like

  6. Great post and I feel you are spot on.

    Let’s be quite honest, if someone is saying medical marijuana is “dangerous” then in the same breath they better be absolutely sober and also preaching about the dangers if alcohol – which has been proven time after time to be much worse.

    Time for people to get with the times and realize, like many modern countries, the benefits fiscally as well as medicinally.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I do not understand why it’s not legal in more places and easier to access for people in need. The entire BS about addicts misusing the legalized Marijuana makes me angry. There is so much stuff out there that belongs locked up but is totally legal but they make a fuss bout something that clearly helps and does no damage…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The war against cannabis, classifying it as a schedule 1 drug is purely political. Back in the 30’s the AMA/ FDA fraudulently convinced the gov’t to outlaw it as a dangerous drug b/c it was in competition with pharmaceutical drug companies like Bayer. Physicians were prescribing “hemp oil” since the turn of the century, curing cancer and many ailments, the drug co’s and compounding pharmacies did not like that as it was cutting into their profits. Dirty politicians and huge media smear campaign… the rest is history.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I understand why. Although it was taxed in the 30’s without being granted tax licenses effectively making it illegal then but wasn’t scheduled until the CSA in 1970 thanks to the Nixon administration. I understand and know the history. What I fail to understand is how in the present, when the vast majority of people know the truth about it and aren’t buying the propaganda, it REMAINS scheduled and illegal.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. War on drugs make it way too profitable to legalize cannabis, more ppl would need to write/ call their congressmen and demand to legalize medical mj. That means, like you, enough ppl get sick and tired with prescription drugs and start looking for alternatives. Thank God we have the web for alternative info, bc MSM is not revealing the truth any time soon. Remember, prohibition failed, so it’s just a matter of time when cannabis becomes legal on the federal level b/c enough ppl demand it for health reasons. And like you said, local gov’t sees windfall in taxes, more states will follow the money…

        Like

  8. I’m so with you. I don’t use marijuana – even though, if I wanted to, I could go through the long & expensive process of getting a medical card in my state – but I think it should be legalized. It would put lots of criminals out of business (or, at least, out of the marijuana business; unfortunately, there are other drugs far more dangerous to which they might turn to selling) & boost the economy. The only concern I have would be people driving while intoxicated, which we already have a serious problem with, & I think we would need to develop a “marijuana breathalyzer” to make sure that people don’t need to keep getting blood tests to prove/disprove their level of intoxication.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, the intoxicated is driving is definitely an issue, but with marijuana being so easily available illegally, the rates shouldn’t spike too greatly. It has, but only because they test for it more routinely no

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good point! The states that have legalized recreational marijuana have reported minimal, if at all, increase in traffic incidents. If anything, the news have blown it out of proportion to show the “evils” of legalized weed.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, they have. AAA mentioned the increase in drugged driving but failed to mention that they are testing more and the increase is actually proportionately less than the testing increase.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I think that sounds similar to the article I read. It was obvious that the increase in traffic incidents would be seen with the increase in people being pulled over for driving while intoxicated. I mean, DUI/DWI is a DUI/DWI regardless of what you intoxicated you.

        Frankly, I think that the federal law was created when prohibition of alcohol proved to be a bust & they needed a new boogyman.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Perfect, glad that this medicine that we call a “drug” helped you situation. This is a ongoing thing that will never be clear in other eyes. I personally think if this was legalized everyone on this world will be happy. No more crimes and fighting. And I also think of we legalize it then America will go out of debt. But this is just my opinion. Good blog post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. technically all medicine is a drug, but I understand what you mean. I do agree that it should be legalized, but as anything that get legalized that is this big of a debate subject will cause an uproar. Some day I hope to see a shop down my street where I can buy some bud, but I am not sure if America is ready for that yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is so successful in legal states that any nationwide uproar would be a logical inconsistency at this point.
        If you lived in WA, or CO, you can already walk down your street to buy that bud.

        Like

  10. This is said so well! I struggle from an eating disorder and marijuana helps me eat and maintain a healthy weight. As opposed to caffeine, a legal drug that is easily attainable, which I was able to abuse so I would not eat.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

