Is She You?

Cosmically entwined and I am still nowhere near enough to you.  As your energy dances with mine under the hanging limbs of the willow tree, I sweep your hair out of your eyes and look deeply into them in a feeble attempt to help you see the depths of my devotion to you.  Mere words do nothing to convey my feelings for you.  Not even the rhythmic movements our hips make as I move within you nor the primal sounds that emit from our mouths and carry through the trees, expresses my love for you sufficiently.  I love you, and even though that word is thrown around too much, I pray you feel the truth in these words.  The sun, filtered by the leaves of the trees, illuminates your face in much the way it did when I first saw you.  And if I had my choice, I would stay here under this tree, and inside you, forever.

Yet, I must leave for a time.  They are planning to take the kingdom.  You know I care not for politics or who will lead us, but these invaders do not treat those they rule very well at all.  Their men have the audacity to believe they can rule the women.  That you should serve them.  They will attempt to kill me, and they will attempt to own you.  I must go and fight them, before they reach D’urodinas.  I shall return to you, with word of our victory.  If I should fall, know my love for you is eternal, and does not end with this single life.  The orders you have given are brilliant, and even with our inferior numbers, I am certain we have Andraste on our side.  You have your claymore, which I know you are unequaled in your ability to use, but I will also leave you my dagger as a last resort should I fail.  I will do everything I can to protect D’urodinas, and you, as I swore to you that night the sky opened around us.  I must take my leave of you, my love.  Andraste willing, I will return here to our tree, and love you for the rest of our days in this realm.

Dearest Perfect Love,

I pray the messenger I sent to you has reached you in peace.  The enemy has been spotted by our scouts approaching near the Purple Crystal River, just as you foresaw in your vision.  It is my belief they intend to camp near the Lake of Sheelin.  Our forces are marching double time in an attempt to ambush them as they sleep, just as your vision had foretold.  Barring any unforeseen circumstances, we should reach the Shan’ia’an forest around the lake by late afternoon, allowing us to rest and prepare to attack their camp during the night.  We move in the ways of the animals, and unless they have the most skilled scouts, it is doubtful they will be aware of our plans.  Your visions are coming true, as they always do, and you can be assured that we will be victorious, and I shall return to you to love you as long as you will have me.  

In the meantime, know that you are in my heart, in my soul, and I carry you with me.  I long for when we can once again be together in the flesh, but take comfort in your love from afar.  

I await the day I return to D’urodinas in victory, but mostly the day I return to you in love.  

With all that I am,

J’amichinnonn

 

My Dearest Perfect Love,

I have dispatched my fastest runner.  I pray to Andraste she reaches you safely.  The forces of the enemy were tenfold larger than our scouts had initially reported.  Despite our ambush, our own losses were heavy.  A raiding party has broken through our lines, intent on sacking D’urodinas.  However, they are small in number and will not be more than an annoying chore for you in all your strength and command to easily dispatch.  As such, I can call this battle a clear victory.  In fact, I think you will be happy to have a few enemies coming in with no clue who they are facing when they should reach you.  I know you have been itching to once again wield your mighty claymore.  I have succeeded in protecting D’urodinas and you, as I swore.  Yet, the news is not all good.  I am quickly losing my senses, having been struck by an arrow from one of our own archers in the confusion of battle.  It is my great honor to know that I shall have died in service to you, my perfect love.  Perhaps we can meet under our willow tree in the next realm.  Perhaps the Goddess will allow us to ascend to where we are together without the weight of these mortal vessels that keep me from being as close to you as I would desire.  I have loved you forever, and will continue to do so.

With all that I am,

J’amichinnonn

How am I alive?  You are here!  I was certain I was done for.  Did someone bring me back here to you?  Did you come and get me and take me back here?  Am I dreaming?  I was shot.  An arrow through my heart.  Where is the wound?  Did you heal me?  Are you going to answer?  Andraste must have thought me worthy of healing.  Perhaps she thought our love was too important to this realm to be taken from it just yet.  How are you glowing like the drawings on the temple walls of our Goddess Andraste, my perfect love?  Why are you smiling?  Wait, is she you?

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

22 thoughts on “Is She You?”

    1. Yes, she was Andraste herself. I’ve always believed that love can transcend lifetimes, that drives a lot of my fiction. It may also be based on an amazingly strong woman I have known. Obviously not the story, but the feel of her to me.

      Like

  1. Wow!! This is great! Is it part of a larger work? It seems, to me, like it would make a great short story or even a novel. 🙂

    Also, I’ll admit it: I got a little sad when I thought the speaker was gonna die. It touched me.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Great minds think alike!! I think that it would make a wonderful love story, with a daring battle subplot… or vice versa, depending on how you want it to play out (or how the audience receives it). Go for it!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha ha ha. Now don’t be so humble, man. You know you got something I thought no one had anymore. Have you listened to Michael Creto (Enigma) songs? He, too, got something from outer space that drives me crazy.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

