Thank You!!!!!!

Hello dear reader(s)!

Stats.  We all know them, we all love them.  We love to see if anyone chooses to read our crap.  We love to analyze the patterns and try to figure out who it might be that is blog-stalking us and why they routinely read certain posts and whether or not we think they are crushing on us (No, just me?), and we all like to wonder if what we write is actually worthwhile to anyone but us.  Stats can help us figure that out.

As much as I hate marketing, and all of that, and am not in it for the followers and page views, I must admit it’s nice to see the one or two posts I am particularly proud of get viewed.  And although I am not in it for the followers, it is flattering to know that people are so masochistic that they choose to not only occasionally read my drivel, but occasionally even hit that follow button allowing me to show up regularly on their Reader until they abandon their blogs altogether as at least half of the people I once followed and those who have followed me have done.

So even though the amount of followers is a fake number, and even though it is not all that meaningful, it is really an honor to know that anyone has, let alone 1,000 on WordPress alone.

Screenshot (23)

Yesterday, apparently, I hit the big 1,000.  Which is much larger than the mini 1,000 and is also available in candy rose gold and has a nifty new 84.7 megapixel camera.  I thank everyone who has decided that my little blog-type-thing is worthy of congesting up your Reader feed.

I apologize to my new followers, and all my previous followers for not blogging yesterday.  I went to SeaFair to see the Blue Angels.  I would post pictures, but the view I had was crap, despite paying to get to what I thought would be a good vantage point.  I’ve seen them closer for free, and can’t believe that the closeness of the jets and their tricks wasn’t more directed to those who paid a fortune to see them.

I did some other cool air stuff.  There was one biplane that was particularly awesome and he at least was seeming to put on his show for us instead of the yachts and the people along I-90.

I took the bus to the light rail, then to a PACKED shuttle, then to a park.  I thought it would be like any other event where you just watch them from the park.  Like you can do for free at any other park around Lake Washington but they don’t have shuttles to.  Like you can can at those parks for free and get better views.  But instead, I got dumped onto this little shitty spot of crowded beach in the shadow of the grandstands with a view way too far and mostly obscured by trees from where the best action was.  There were way too many people, it was standing room only, and it was just plain stupid.  I don’t give a damn about hydro races, thank you.  I came for the blue angels and SeaFair has no way to make that worthwhile unless you happen to have a boat or live somewhere close thanks to all the crappy traffic and lack of parking.  On top of that, my stomach really dropped and that is never fun when you’re on transit for a couple of hours.

At any rate, it wasn’t all bad.  I did get to see them, and did see a cool air show that didn’t consist of them even if that wasn’t my intention.  I guess it was just disappointing, considering I have seen them closer, doing cooler things, with less hassle, less crowds, and oh yeah…for free.

In fact, yesterday was the perfect microcosm of how I feel about Seattle anymore.  Cool things all around, but such an expensive, unlivable nightmare that it isn’t even worth it.

No place is going to be perfect, but when you start thinking you would even be happier in Reno, NV as long as you could keep away from the strung-out meth fuckers and the rednecks…it is probably time for a change.  Lucky for me, change may be on the horizon.  Along with the sunrise.  And that boat over there.  See?

Today I am just taking care of some things before my upcoming travel.  Travel that could well determine the future of my time here in the attle of the Sea.   But one thing is certain, wherever I may roam, I will always be thankful for all of my virtual blog-type-friends and everyone who has honored me so much by following this crap.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled Sunday, and Matlock marathon, already in progress.

 

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

52 thoughts on “Thank You!!!!!!”

  1. I couldn’t get out to see the Blue Angles, too busy writing, but I could hear them overhead.
    I understand your feelings for Seattle. So much to do, but there is never enough time or money to appreciate it all. Keep up the posts. You now have another follower.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! When I first moved here, this city was perfect for me. About 13 years ago the first time. But this boom is just rough. I didn’t move to Manhattan for a reason.
      I also followed back and look forward to reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lawd, Matlock. My mother luuuuurved Matlock when I was in high school, and Murder She Wrote. She bout drove me crazy, I’m glad I’m not with her during a Matlock marathon. Anyway, that’s cool you hit the 1k 😀 Congratulations!
    I seldom look at my stats. Now and again my husband will say, “Hey, people really liked that post about the blah blah blah,” and I’ll look and say, “Yeah. I wonder why?”
    I haven’t been to Seattle since the 90’s, and I must say, it was one of my favorite places ever. Well, Seattle and aroundish Seattle. So foodie fresh and many more ‘walks of life’ than I usually see here. Loved the cool gray weather, loved the enormous trees. Can’t garden there like here, though. Not the same. And rather the edge of the world. Still, if I had to pick a place to live in the US, it’d be in my top 10. If you think you’ll be happier in Reno, then I suppose you must go. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not going to Reno though. Actually, the plan will be much more closer to your neck of the woods unless I hate it so bad I can’t. I’ll know soon enough. Seattle was amazing. All the way until about 5 years ago. The boom has just killed what it was.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh. Hm. Did I misread, about Reno?

        The Midwest is, to me, more of what you make it. Finding like-minded people in middle America can be daunting, but I’m used to it 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No, I only mentioned Reno because that is my idea of Hell and I think even that would be better than Seattle has become.
        Luckily, I have a little small circle of like minded people there already.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re most welcome. We have a similar sense of humor, btw, where we self-deprecate to make others laugh. Do you ever find it backfires & people think you’re being serious/fishing for compliments?

        No? Um.. me neither… *innocent whistle*

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I would love to make my home in England for a variety of reasons (the food isn’t one of ’em, though). I wasn’t aware they “get” self-deprecation… that improves my opinion of them, which did take a dive after the whole “Brexit” business.

        Still… I’m glad to find someone who is likely to “get it” here on WP. It’s a struggle to censor myself sometimes & it’s nice to see that our humor can be done tastefully. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, sad about Brexit, but dig way too much about the rest. I love fish and chips though, so I know I could be covered on the food. Plus Jammy Dodgers. Self-deprecation is part of their culture.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’ve never had fish ‘n chips the way they do it over in England, but I’m sure I could like ’em “the British way.” Also, I love their big English breakfast. & beans ‘n toast. Hmm… OK, I guess the food isn’t ALL bad.

        I forgot about the sweets! The Brits know how to do sweets, that’s for sure!

        Plus, the accents are pretty attractive… that’s a plus. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats! Well-deserved :). And helpful to have your perspective on Seattle–looking at law school there because I love it, but have a bad feeling it’s getting worse and worse (like a ton of places unfortunately) 😦 But excited to hear about your upcoming travels!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Good work on the 1000, I appreciate what you do here. As an aside, for the dead blogs, I fell behind of reading a lot of the blogs I followed and when I checked back it seemed like they were all gone, in the space of 3 months, crazy stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

