Can’t Stop

Hello dear reader(s)!

A while ago I mentioned that I was not having much fun with this here blog-type-thing and might shut it down.  Between the shit events of the world that I am tired of talking about, to the limitations of what I can say due to the judgment of people I know around me, I have felt very censored and it just has reached a point where I considered shutting down MyFridayBlog™ Now With Extra Fresh Scent! altogether.  And then life started to get in the way of regular posting and I started to think, “Ah, fuck it, I’m done.”

But then I thought, “But who will be there to educate, enlighten, and entertain my dear reader(s)?”

I understand that MyFridayBlog™ Now In White Cheddar Flavor! is too important of a voice in media to silence.  I appreciate the thousands of fictional calls and imaginary letters and emails that begged that I continue this institution so necessary to the fabric of our world…nay, the universe.

With that in mind, I have not only decided to remain on the MyFridayBlog™ Just like mom used to make! staff, but to take it in an exciting new direction.

I would like to start by announcing a major change in the posting schedule.  In the interest of consistency, I will be changing from the usual once daily with occasional missed days and occasional multiple posts in one day schedule you have all become so unaccustomed to, to posting whenever the hell I feel like it.  MyFridayBlog™ GMO Free!  Is committed to a quality and consistent readership experience and we (me) feel this will be more than satisfactory to my dear reader(s).

I would also like to announce a change in content.  Whereas before, MyFridayBlog™ With 100% the RDA gluten allowance! was somewhat of a variety show of writing topics, as of today, it will be much more structured.  Gone are the days of random humor posts, followed up by political posts, followed up by poetry, followed up by fiction, followed up by journal-style posts.  The new MyFridayBlog™ Try it on your favorite snack cracker! will now be a random sampling of humor, politics, fiction, journal posts as deemed appropriate by the editorial staff (me) of MyFridayBlog™ Comfort in convenient post format! and at my sole discretion along with anything else I deem appropriate or inappropriate as the case may be.

I will now give you some time to adjust to the major life-shift these changes must have caused for you.

Okay, time’s up.

On to today’s MyFridayBlog™ All the news that’s fit to puke over due to the visceral reaction you experience each time you hear the news anymore because things are so ugly! special super-duper post topic.

Today’s topic is:

The Coup Attempt In Turkey

We bring in World Affair’s Expert Joshua Wrenn, GED for analysis of the situation on the ground.  

Josh:  Welcome, Mr. Wrenn.

Joshua:  Mister?  What does that GED after my name tell you?

Josh:  You’re a high school dropout?  

Joshua:  Mister it is then.

Josh:  Can you give us your expert opinion on this coup attempt in Turkey?

Joshua:  Of course.  Turkeys are wild birds, and do not need to be put in a coop.  They should be free, and coops are not the way to accomplish that.  I am surprised PETA isn’t all over this one.  I wonder if the US government through NATO isn’t pressuring PETA to stay neutral in this coop attempt due to the strategic importance of turkeys in the Thanksgiving region.  If you are for freedom, you can not turn away from this attempted coop for turkeys.  If you are going to consume turkeys, you should try to at least get the humanely raised, cage-free variety.  But this action by the military to coop these turkeys goes against everything we as people and lovers of turkey should be against.

Josh:  No, not coop.  Coup.  And not turkeys, Turkey!  Idiot!

Joshua:  Oh!  That!!!!!  Okay.  You didn’t have to call me names.  That really hurt my feelings.  You know what?  I don’t think I want to be your expert anymore!

Josh:  I’m sorry.  I didn’t mean to call you that.  Forgive me?

Joshua:  No!

Josh:  Hey…come on Mr. Sad face, I didn’t mean it.  You know I just get so frustrated with work and then the things with the world, I just lose my temper.  I’m sorry.  Who’s my special world affairs expert?  

Joshua:  Me?

Josh:  Of course it’s you.  I’m sorry, you know I’m just starting the court mandated anger management classes, I’m sorry I’m still having issues.  Forgive me?  

Joshua:  The attempted coup in Turkey was initiated by a small faction of the military services, long seen in Turkey as defenders of secular democracy.  It appears as though it will fail or is already in the process of failing.  The country’s President Erdogan, is considered by many to be dismantling Turkish secularism and democracy, and has previously made moves to weaken the power of the military as an internal political force.  With the precarious security situation within Turkey, alongside the moves by the President to consolidate power and stamp out opposition, some of the military felt they had no choice but to act.  However, as the President was democratically elected, it is difficult for many people to support the idea of military intervention against a democratically elected leader, no matter whether they claim it is in the interest of democracy or not.  The coup has not garnered popular support, indeed, it seems to be mostly opposed by the people, and therefore it is my expert opinion that it is doomed to fail.  This will give even more power to the already authoritarian Erdogan, and may change how Turkey is seen in the world for generations to come.

 

 

 

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

29 thoughts on “Can’t Stop”

  1. Write what makes you happy…it is YOUR blog after all. While I may not agree with some (okay…a lot, lol) of your opinions I respect your right to write whatever you damn well please!

    😁

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I totally get where you are coming from. That is why you (rarely) ever see me post/comment on topics like politics, religion or current events. Yes I have strong opinions like everyone else, I just don’t feel like dealing with the challenges (and stupidity) that comes with airing my opinion on those hot button topics.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I do better at that than the internal things that happen in my life. Right now there are so many things that would be tactically stupid to talk about, but are all I can think of.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I am glad you decided to stay with us in the blogosphere Josh. As you said this is your blog and you are free to post on whatever topic you choose and if someone doesn’t like it they know where the unfollow button is and are free to use it. You are as well, if someones comment is closed minded and rude. Your blog, your rules!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Lol totally needed this today! So glad you’re not calling it quits you have a great blog and humorous yet accurate insight…sure maybe you’re a bit of a grump sometimes 😉 lol but honestly I have always found your take on life/politics refreshing…like Vic up there, I have some fairly strong opinions on such things myself but yeah people just seem to get their panties in a bunch if you blink the wrong way nowadays so I pick and choose my battles…I have spared many people…they just don’t know it 😉 lol

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hi
    It’s hard to tell if you’re helping people by comments and followers. You have a serious illness or two and talking to you may be the encouragement they need. Give yours;f a break. This happens often, people get tired writing everyday. Write less days a week and occasionally take a staycation.
    Take care.
    🙂
    M

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My mother never made anything like this blog, which maybe is why I like it so much. Do you have anything maybe in a non-GMO wheat that’s unscented? I really have to be careful of artificial colors, flavors, and scents. I think that’s why I have trouble with the news on television. I think they use some amalgamation of synthetic bullshit and rosewater.
    You frequently reduce my sense of political despair.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Do you have anything organic and sugar-free? That’s kinda what I’m in the market for 😉

    I think you should write about whatever, whenever, and I always appreciate reading what you have to say, this post was no exception. Love the thread of humour throughout 🙂 Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

