Thoughts And Prayers?!?!

Fuck you.

We the people do not want the thoughts and prayers of the politicians who court the hateful elements of our society for political gain.

We do not want the thoughts and prayers of those who seek to rile up the angry pathetic man-babies who can’t cope with life in a world they do not dominate.

We do not want the thoughts and prayers from those who secretly want to condemn people to burn in the hell according to the rules they made up about that same God they pray to.

We do not want the thoughts and prayers from those who sit back and do nothing as a major party nominates a potential dictator in support of white male Christian supremacy.

We do not want the thoughts and prayers of those who would go anywhere near the same stage as the pastor I will not name who called for putting gays to death.

We do not want the thoughts and prayers of anyone who would vote for one of the candidates who has slurred the LGBTQ community or associate with those who have.

We do not want the thoughts and prayers of those who think that it should be more difficult to obtain an ID required to vote than an AR-15 that only serves the purpose of being able to mow people down.

We do not want the thoughts and prayers of those who won’t do everything in their power to deliver a crushing defeat to those who would embrace the politics of hate.  This means you, Bernie or Busters.  He lost.  #ImWithHer

The LGBTQ community is my community.  They have accepted me when nobody else did.  They have had my back at times when “normal” society did not.  I have never seen fire and brimstone rain down from the sky near any of my gay friends.  I have never been called “fag” by my gay friends.  I have never been worried a group of them would come and beat the shit out of me for holding hands with a woman.  I have never seen one of them go on a mass killing spree.  Growing up in a conservative (I say redneck) town being raised by women and therefore not being the most hyper-masculine kid growing up got me a lot of shit.  Not from my gay friends.  They have always had my back.

And I am damn proud to have theirs.

If you want to change your profile picture to a rainbow flag today, that’s cool.  If you want to offer your thoughts and prayers to some non-discriminatory deity that you believe exists…by all means.  But if that is all you got…save it.

And if you are politician who thumps the bible out of one side of your mouth, and talks about sinners and “traditional marriage” while offering thoughts and prayers out of the other side to those who are slaughtered as a result of what you have incited…you need to be careful.

People are at a breaking point, and your need for more power is driving them there.  If you keep this up, there will be nothing left for you to have your precious power over.

 

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

18 thoughts on “Thoughts And Prayers?!?!”

    1. My suggestion is to write your legislators and ensure they are pro-some sort of sensible legislation to deal with this, and vote against whoever condemns or associates with those who condemn people. Also, if you want to go the extra step and volunteer for the people who support equality that could help too.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sounds like a plan. Here in ATL we have A LOT of equality for same love. My hubby and I go to gay pride every year here. It’s come a long way that’s for sure. I did find a go fund me account through another blogger too and donated to help victims and families.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

