Why I Do Not Feel Bad For Celebrating

Hello dear reader(s)!

In my country of the United States of America (not to be confused with America, which is one of two continents), it is Memorial Day.  Memorial Day is a day we are to honor and remember all the people who fell in service to our country.

My relationship with the military is complex, but my relationship with the majority of people who joined it and are at the rank and file levels is definitely not.  Regardless of how I think they have been misused, I appreciate their willingness to possibly sacrifice everything for us.

And look what we have because of them!

So when I see posts all over Facebook and all over other social media saying that this day isn’t about the beach or barbecues or fun in the sun…I respectfully ask them not to tell me how to honor people.

Because for me it is.

When Hannah died, I was not ready to have her memorial right away.  I think it was just over two weeks later.  There is a reason for that.  She felt the same I way I did about it all.

While I’m sure she knew her loss would be mourned, she thought it was much more important that her life was celebrated.  So we took the time to gather ourselves and attempt to celebrate her life.  Were there tears?  Of course!  Were we all mourning her loss?  Yes, we are not heartless bastards.  But there was laughter, funny stories, and happy memories shared too.  It was fucking beautiful, and I know she would have been happy with it.

So back to Memorial Day.  When the brave people stormed the beaches in France, do you think they did it so their loved ones at home could sit around solemnly and mourn their loss once a year?  I’m guessing the answer to that is “No.”

They did it for them.  For all of us.  So we could live happy lives free from the kind of tyrannical, fascist, despotic leader we are in danger of electing.  They did it to stand up for those who would be marginalized in a divided society, so that we could all live happily in peace and prosperity at home.

Sometimes I think we are so hung up on the fact that they sacrificed, that we lose sight of why they did it.

If you need to mourn on this day, I will not judge you.  Especially if you have a personal connection.

But don’t judge me for celebrating their sacrifice by taking advantage of what it allowed.

And don’t judge me for worrying that we are undoing it by allowing Donald Trump anywhere near the presidency.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

14 thoughts on “Why I Do Not Feel Bad For Celebrating”

  1. I love the men and women in uniform. Like you I might not show it with the constant waving of flag and nationalistic pride. Our troops have been put in harms way unnecessarily because of pride, greed or some other reason. Anytime a person wears the uniform of their country they are to be respected for going into harm’s way and remembered when they don’t come home either in body or spirit or both.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ditto. I have a long history of protesting the wars (going back to Vietnam) and supporting the soldiers. Who are doing their jobs in good faith. I remember my uncle (who I never knew) who dies parachuting from his B-17 over Germany in 1943. The last worthwhile war in my opinion. Celebrate by being free.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. War is horrible, no matter what country you’re in. And if you are brave enough to go to war, chances are you’re doing it for your country, the people, not the leader. Rememberence days (over here especially) isn’t about praising the war, it’s about remembering people the way they would’ve wanted to be remembered. In the sun with their family, barbie cooking and an ice cold beer. Coldies for the troops.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, i feel the same way. Life is a celebration, there’s a time for mourning and time for remembrance, but if we don’t enjoy the moment then what’s the point? Sun, fun and freedom!

    Like

  5. What I love about you is this: You always bring the truth with your writing. You don’t sugarcoat it, or filter it for the masses. You’ve shown us your pain and the things that bring you joy. Lord knows we need more like you, especially now. Thanks for always being real, Josh.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. One you deserve a thousand times over. I’m convinced it’s hardship that holds the most potent key to unlocking our truest selves. I see this in your words on a regular basis and consider you and your words a blessing of the highest order.
        Some people search a lifetime to find their ‘reason d’etre; their reason for being’. I’m convinced you’ve found yours and you’re so on point it’s scary and fantastic, and phenomenal all at the same time…
        I’ve said it before, I say it again: you rock, Josh.

        And ya don’t stop.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. It never occurred to me to judge you for celebrating. I too believe in the celebration of life. We are blessed to still be here to celebrate, and also blessed by those who gave their lives in service to this great country. I was in the US Air Force, and was very pleased to see the ever beautiful/reverent American flag at the fore of your post. Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

