So Much To Say

Hello dear reader(s)!

Right now, I am going through something that can only be described as the opposite of writer’s block.  I have so many things I want to write.  Things that are already written in my head that I am dying to put down.

This isn’t the first time.  A while ago I had many ideas about what to post but didn’t want to offend others in my life with my words or their possible interpretation.

This time isn’t like that though, but still not everything is for public consumption.

I suppose I could fictionalize things, but I am worried it will still be too transparent.  Even if I threw in enough weird details and bizarre plot points, I have a feeling I won’t be able to mask that it is indeed, very real.

So this very short post is basically to ask for the advice of my dear reader(s) who also write.  Has this ever happened to you?  What did you do about it?  How do you handle it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  In the meantime, don’t be offended if you see more posts of things like political opinions and stuff that doesn’t reside too far within me.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

29 thoughts on “So Much To Say”

  1. Hmmmm…….you are kind of in a pickle. A while back, when I was working Pediatric Trauma, I became obsessed about how many children are mortally affected by bad parents, bad parenting, and poor parental decisions. I decided to write a book about it. I had to get those little faces of the children I had encountered out of my head. So I indirectly wrote a ghost story about children who had succumbed to trauma (both accidental and non-accidental). It sounds like it should be a really depressing book, but it’s not, because everything evened out in the end (Karma is a bitch). It was really a cathartic process for me. I spent 3 hours in the Corporate Compliance office at work, explaining this book, and how I hadn’t violated anyone’s privacy, and in the end my work was okay with it.
    So bottom line is… I think you should just write what you have to write, and people will think it is about them but what the hell. The words have to find their place on a page and out of your head.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. occasionally this seems to have happened. I almost want to start a new mini blog under a pen name or a private blog to keep my poems or writing “bits” in. I’ve hit a fairly big blog, but I’m attempting to read more or do a few things so it will spur my creativity more and maybe give me some ideas. Right now I write what comes out and I keep it in a folder online somewhere or in my novel writing program if I start something that isn’t quite panning out or I’m stuck but I too often wonder if there’s a better way…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this is a real problem for most writers, especially given the ‘write what you know’ advice. Sometimes it’s better to explore the overall theme and include minute details that only one or two readers will know — and that’s the gist of my own experience thus far.
    I long ago gave up caring if I offend. How I see it is how I see it. That’s what writers do, they show us how they see things. I look at it not so much as pleasing the audience, but as finding my audience. Make sense?
    Write away!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This time it is not offense I am worried about, it is about things I do not want to be common knowledge at this time.
      I’m struggling with how to mask that because even the overall themes are too much to show right now.

      Like

      1. Oh. Hm. When I have things like that, I just don’t write about them. I don’t write about a lot of personal things. Usually I write about them well after. Long after. Sounds like you have a real conundrum. :/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Usually I can just put them to the back and write about something else. But right now, those things are overwhelming. I think anonymity may be the way to go for now, while tact is still required. Get it all out so I can post about the same old, same old here without worry.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This is your house…your blog…your posts…you blog about anything your heart desires. If someone doesn’t like it…Fuck it. I don’t always agree with your political stuff but I enjoy reading it. You give me another way of looking at things. Soooo you go for it Josh. Always love your insight. We’re not blogging to offend anyone but it’s our blog so there. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would say write all of it, as much as you can with the sole intention that when you’re through, you stick it all in a super secret file or even print it all out. Either way, let it sit for no less than a week. After this time, bring it out, look at it, and decide if you still want or need to send it out into the world?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I first heard a version of this from Stephen King. He suggested it as it pertains to first draft novel writing. After I got over the initial shock of doing it, it struck me as a good idea too. Once I did it and returned to the draft, I could see a lot of the issues I had with the book’s tone and characters clearer. It helped me more than I can put into words (literally!)

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I write it all down and wait one week. Review it all and publish only some of it. Others sometimes are heavily edited. The main reason for writing everything is to get it all out of my head. Otherwise my inner life’s narrator, Leonard Nimoy, cannot rest on peace; and that is no way to treat the dead.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. oh it happened with me today and most of the time, Today while I was about to write a post (for which I was thinking from past 1 week) I titled the post and when I was about to type “THE POST” I was like “what I wanted to write??”
    My suggestion is, relax, give some time to your brain, writing is kind of natural thing 😀 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. For me, my writing has always been a release for both my creativity and my emotions. I do think that caution is important however if caution is applied to a point where it impedes the growth of your writing then it is time to let loose a little. If you are still worried about it then maybe you could try metaphorical writing. I hope you manage to find a solution that fits you.

    Like

  8. I write down all my ideas, so I never forget them, first. Secondly, I write whatever I want to. Sometimes I publish it, sometimes I don’t. Sometimes I decide it’s got a good point, I just need to change a few things.
    So that’s what I’d do. I’d make sure all the things you want are written down, and then I’d write whatever the hell you want. Then decide how you feel about publishing it or changing it from there 🙂

    Like

  9. This happens to me all the time. I have a ton of “posts” I’ve written that I’ve never posted. I have to write it, get it out of me, but it’s too much/too personal to share. So… I would just write it… then put it away.

    Like

  10. I can relate to your experience. You should be thankful for having so much to say! That means your blog will have a long future. What I do is make a draft of any idea that comes to me, even if it’s just one word. I think it is so important to be accepting of all idea and to work on them a bit before deciding whether or not to publish it. I think this process bolsters creativity. However, once you have all of these ideas, you need to go through and work on them all, bit by bit. If you need to fictionalize, go for it! Do what you think is right, but don’t be afriaid to take some risks! Best of luck in your blogging!

    Like

  11. Wow! You seem to have touched a nerve with your readers. The comments are over flowing. At the end of the day (boy, I haven’t used that phase for a while), readers appreciate “real.” You may write about situations they would love to expose, but don’t have the courage you have. Since this is your blog, you are entitled to write what you like. There are thousands of readers here at WordPress, and it doesn’t appear to me that you lack a following. In my opinion, anything you write that’s coming from your heart is worthy of a read. I suspect you already know what I’m getting at. I suggest taking inventory of your best, and just start typing. If you have a post that you’re not all that sure about, make it into a draft and save it for another “bold” day. If you enjoy writing, readers will most likely enjoy reading it. What a deal!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The reason it took so long for me to start writing was because I did not want to offend. I was cheating myself so I had dip my toes in the water. I found that few of my family and friends read my blog. At first I was offended but then I recognized that the blog was for me, it belonged to me and as long as I am respectful and do not use names of the living or use it as a weapon… I am considering writing a non-fiction book offering my strength, hope and experience with the same dilemma.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Whoops: that you have. My wish is to write it and tell no one but that’s a pipe dream. Josh, writer’s have to be selfish and willing to stand up for their right to write whatever comes. It may require sacrifices. My mother knows about my blog and encourages it but does not read it. It’s true, it’s anonymous and fair but she knows that for her to read it would compromise my artistic license and our relationship. She has had to face her actions or lack of and we have talked through a lot of the past. The key is to have your writing serve as a lesson and to do that, you have to understand what was behind the action and have the ability to look at both sides. I can say these things because I have had feedback from others that supports what I am saying. It would be a loss for you to let intimidation stop your artistic flow of thoughts and/or ideas.🤔

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I figured out what I needed to do with that. I have an outlet to get it out, and may bring back around here when those things won’t affect anything. Once I can get that out, I can think about the other things that work better here.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

