The Unfair, Saved By Love

Hello dear reader(s)!

I did not post yesterday because I took the bus to the street fair in the university district shortly after waking up.  The last time I went, was between nine and ten years ago, and at the time, it was amazing.

The street fair isn’t like a normal street fair in most towns.  It is an art and craft fair.  The last time I went, there was a heavy emphasis on the art.  It was amazing, and eclectic, and most assuredly Seattle.  Quirky and full of the type of free-spirited people who make my heart soar.

This year?  Not so much.  The corporate invasion was evident every few feet.  From the State Farm booth to the timeshare booths, it was clear where the focus had become.  There were still some smaller booths, with a few cool things, but even most of those had storefronts somewhere in town.

There were a only a few real craftspeople.

And almost completely gone, were the artists.  The crafts were crafts, there was very little art.  It was mostly the same kind of crafts you could find at any craft fair in any town in the nation, with things created from ready-made kits at Michael’s or the evil Hobby Lobbyists.

There were some artists left, with some lovely work, but they were in the minority.

So I was pretty disappointed when I had finished walking through everything.  And hungry.  So we decided to stop at Shawarma King.

I hadn’t been, but I love that kind of food and theirs was extremely good.

But it wasn’t the food that makes me mention them.  You see, as I was eating, there was a loud bang behind me.  It startled me and I flinched but within a split-second, I realized it was a balloon popping.

A child of a family eating at the tables behind me had obviously gotten a balloon at the street fair, and it popped.  If there was any crying, it was very quiet, but I’m sure the kid was sad.

Soon everyone was back to eating.  Life continued on after the balloon popped and things went back to normal.

Until the awesome employee at Shawarma King came from (I don’t know, outside from the fair, having slipped out?  The back?) and was a holding a big, red helium balloon and handed it to the child.

Every person in the room let out a collective “Awwww!”

Love takes many forms.  But love is always great.  Love can make everything better.  Love for your fellow person is just as valid as the romantic love you feel for your significant other(s).  The world needs more of it.  It can change the world.

It certainly changed my opinion of that day.

 

If you find yourself in the Seattle area, please visit Shawarma King on University and have some of their delicious quick Mediterranean food.  Show them some love back.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

12 thoughts on “The Unfair, Saved By Love”

  1. Awesome post. I read somewhere that being witness to an act of love or compassion releases the same ‘feel good’ chemicals in our brains as if we performed the act ourselves. I like that notion. Thanks for this gift, Josh.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awwwww!! this story was simply beautiful, despite the corporate invasion that you experienced that day at the fair it’s nice to see there are still caring human beings out there. I bet that kid was extraordinarily happy about his new balloon!

    ps. I love Shawarma King 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Enjoyed this post. I just visited Seattle for the first time a few months ago and loved it. Really loved your comment about our love for our fellow man being just as important as our love for our significant other. Such a powerful and true statement.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

