I’m Not The Answer

I can’t hate you
Even if I try
I’ll never trash you
That is not a lie

I’m sorry I hurt you
That wasn’t my intent
I never would have started
If I guessed how wrong this went

Sometimes circumstances
Just can’t be overcome
I guess I should’ve known that
I’m sorry I was dumb

It’s not you and
It isn’t me too
Too much was in our way
I think you know that’s true

I wish the best for you
But feel free to hate me
If that is what you need
To finally be set free

Sometimes it’s not the people
But the baggage they both bring
That could be overcome
Were it the only thing

But since we couldn’t talk
And the distance in between
We didn’t have a choice
Not one that could be seen

I tried to check on you
But everything was gone
I guess I should be glad
You easily moved on

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.