Good News, And Bad News

Hello dear reader(s)!

Yesterday was April Fool’s Day!  I did not really pull any pranks.  Nor did I fall victim to any pranks.  It was a prankless kind of day.  I wish a portion of the results I got from my lung biopsy was just a prank.  However, the results were very real.

So let’s start with the good news:

No malignancies were found!  That means this is almost certainly, definitely, most-likely NOT cancer!  HOORAY!!!  It is time for the dance of joy!  We should bring out Balki and Cousin Larry!

Okay, now that that has been done, we must move on to the bad news.

Despite getting good samples of the nodule in question during my lung biopsy, the tissue recovered was just dead cells.  Necrotic tissue.  No malignancies, which is great, but no positives for any infections either.  Which means what they could grab was just the tissue killed by whatever infection is present without any evidence of the infection left behind.  The infection is done in that area and working on other cells somewhere in that nodule.

Which means they don’t know what kind of infection they are dealing with still.

Which means they don’t know which medication to target it with.

Which means they are going to have to take out the whole nodule, using surgery.

Which means I need surgery on my lungs.

Anyway, things could be a lot worse, but I am not at all looking forward to lung surgery.  I still have to consult with the surgeon, then schedule it, so at this point I don’t even know when it will be or what all it will entail.  I can’t imagine it being very fun if even the biopsy made me hurt for a couple of days.

But hey, at least it’s not cancer!

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

29 thoughts on “Good News, And Bad News”

  1. I am relieved, but lung surgery does sound daunting. :/ I remember when my husband had to have spinal surgery, and I couldn’t determine if the surgeon was an arrogant narcissist or just really, super competent. He was telling me he does one at least once a week and it’s quite simple, he does many more complicated surgeries and blah blah blah, and I was really overwrought with fear. I suppose the dr may have been a bit of both, but the surgery was considered textbook. It’s kind of amazing what modern medicine can do these days. I hope your procedure is textbook.
    Always wishing you the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. another positive: you are healthy enough to actually DO surgery. I know from following you that this could happen at another time and you would be fighting multiple issues, but nope, just a little surgery and then back home. easy peasy, you got this.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Best of luck. Good news but not perfect. A family member just had to have a chunk taken out of their insides because they thought cancer but it wasn’t (kinda backwards way to do it). Anyway, you’ll make it through like you always seem to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am taking this good news and blowing it out of proportion. Hope they found out soon and you start on that treatment. You are pretty strong…but am sending you good vibes to add on.:-)

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

