April 24th

Hello dear reader(s)!

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

As many of you may or may not be aware, here in my timezone, it is Saint Patrick’s Day, which is a day to celebrate Saint Patrick who was a key figure in Ireland’s conversion to Catholicism and is now largely an excuse for Americans with any Irish ancestry to drink a lot, make really bad fake Irish accents, wear green, and be annoying.

I am fascinated by all things Ireland, but I really don’t care all that much about Saint Patrick’s Day.  For one thing, I am not now, nor would I ever be Catholic.  For another, I don’t like using other people’s culture as an excuse to get blindingly drunk.  Yes, I love the green.  Yes, I do enjoy an occasional Guinness from time to time.  Yes, I love traditional Irish music.  Yes, it is the place in the world I most want to visit.  Yes, I love the language that I absolutely cannot speak.  Yes, I love many aspects of the culture.  But for Saint Patrick’s Day?  Meh.  I guess I’ll put on a green shirt.

But do you know something happening this year that is much, much more Irish than Saint Patrick’s Day?

On April 24th, it will be the 100th anniversary of the Easter Rising.  The Easter Rising was unsuccessful, but led to the events that led to the creation of the Republic of Ireland.  The Irish Republic was declared although many people in Ireland didn’t support it until the serious overreaction of the United Kingdom, and then the tide was unstoppable.

So have fun today, if you want, but if you really want to celebrate Ireland, do something on April, 24th.

And learn about Irish history because it really is fascinating.

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day, and Happy Centenary!

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

20 thoughts on “April 24th”

    1. Green is my favorite color. but not to wear. I do have a really cool Ireland rugby shirt that I wore, but that’s all I did other than going to the doctor, which is not really in spirit with the holiday.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. So, you had to bring it up and now you are stuck reading about one of my stupid adventures. I went to a bar to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day with friends. I should tell you that I am 4′ 11″ and at that time I weighed about 86 pounds. As I walked in the door, a drunk guy grabbed me and yelled to his friends, “I got me one, I got me one!” and when he was asked what he got he said, “I got me a leprechaun!” I couldn’t be angry the first time he did it because it was funny but after the 3rd time, I was ready to stomp on his foot. Not that he would have felt it, being drunk and me being so light but it would have been the principle of the thing. 🤑

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I was just saying the same thing yesterday. Why do we only take these days as a reason to get drunk? Cinco de Mayo is the same thing. I did not wear green because I don’t own anything green. Visiting Ireland is high on my bucket list. I want to see a fairy! I do not really like beer, I would drink whiskey.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

