I Changed My Mind

Hello dear reader(s)!

For many months now, I have strongly supported Bernie Sanders while being pretty certain he would not win the Democratic nomination.  And while that hasn’t changed, something else has.

I no longer plan to vote for Hillary Clinton if she wins the nomination over Bernie Sanders.

I have always thought that it was too important to keep a Republican out of the white house.  I have gotten mad at my fellow Bernie Sanders supporters for not realizing the danger of having a Republican in the white house.  I have thought I would caucus for Bernie Sanders, but vote for Hillary Clinton if she won (and thanks to the party machine, I see that as inevitable) just to keep this dangerous group of Republican clowns from winning.  My opinions of the Republicans running have not changed.  They are still dangerous, and they are still clowns.

But my opinion of Hillary Clinton has.

You see, it was always my opinion that while Hilary Clinton was far too conservative to be my first choice, she had the political skill and sanity to be a decent second choice verses the Republican field.  And even after the lies about the auto bailout, the dirty tricks in the Nevada caucus including racially charged false accusations against Sanders supporters that have been found to be false on video, I figured at least she wasn’t the reality denying, outrageous soundbite clown the Republicans were.

And then came today.

With everybody’s driving need to kiss the ass of the late first lady by whitewashing her record, candidate Clinton decided to play to along.

Despite her endorsement from the Human Rights Campaign, the nation’s largest LGBT group, candidate Clinton decided to say,

“It may be hard for your viewers to remember how difficult it was to talk about HIV AIDS back in the 1980s.”

“Because of both President and Mrs. Reagan, in particular Mrs. Reagan, we started a national conversation where before nobody would talk about it,” Clinton continued. “Nobody wanted anything to do with it.

“That too is something I really appreciate with her very effective, low-key advocacy. It penetrated the public conscience. People began to say, ‘Hey, we have to do something about this too.”

Excuse me?  What the fuck?

I could see this coming from a Donald Trump, Marco Rubio (Reagan worshiper), or Ted Cruz.  But Hillary Fucking Clinton said this?

For those of you who aren’t aware, Nancy Reagan refused to intervene on her friend Rock Hudson’s behalf when he was dying from AIDS and wanted to be admitted to a hospital in Paris to see a doctor for an experimental treatment he had been treated by before.  Ronald Reagan refused to mention AIDS not in the response to a question until 1987, after tens of thousands of people had already died from it.  They joked about it.

Hillary Clinton has since taken her statement back, saying she misspoke.  Misspeaking is messing up a word or two.  Three paragraphs of lies aren’t misspeaking, it is whitewashing of history.  To me, this is as low as Donald Trump’s comments about Mexicans.  At least Trump ended his comments about Mexicans with, “And some, I assume, are good people.”  Granted, that doesn’t change the horrible things he said before that, but at least he didn’t wait until he was called out on Twitter to try to walk it back.  He also didn’t claim he misspoke.

There are at least thirteen documented instances of the white house literally laughing about questions about AIDS because it was assumed the disease only affected gay people which apparently the white house felt were to be made fun of.

Now, at this point, I am just as offended about the attempted erasure of horrible treatment by the Reagan administration of gay people as I am about Trump’s racist and xenophobic statements.

She has put herself in the same category of offensive and is trying to erase a very painful part of history that needs to be remembered.

So I will vote for Bernie Sanders.  And if he does not get the nomination, I will STILL vote for Bernie Sanders unless Ted Cruz is the nominee, because I don’t want to live in a theocracy.

And if Trump becomes President?

I guess we have someone in the white house who says offensive horrible things and seems to stand for nothing but themselves either way.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

18 thoughts on “I Changed My Mind”

  1. That’s the problem with career politicians, they’ll say what their advisors think ppl want to hear, just to get that vote. It’s not like they really believe their own rhetoric, and will conveniently backtrack, deny or lie if it doesn’t suit their agenda anymore.
    I will have none of their bs, easily see right thru their stupid games. For the principle of the “democratic process”, you can still vote for Jill Stein… at least the Green party stands for something real. Reality’s a bitch, but we all have to wake up sometime.

    https://tubularsock.com/2016/03/07/hillary-murdered-berta-caceres/

    Like

    1. If it is Cruz, I will choose Clinton. But if it is Trump, I will write in Sanders or vote for Jill Stein, because Clinton on a policy level with everything but immigration is about as right as Trump, just not as crass.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. In my state, I think I will too. If I were in a swing state, where it mattered, I might have to choose Clinton to make sure Cruz or Trump doesn’t get in, but since I really dislike Clinton, and my state is not in play, I might as well make a statement.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I still haven’t heard anything from anyone which will drive me to the polls. This entire election cycle has been a zoo. I’m exercising my right NOT to vote this go round. I will say Bernie at least has a fresh outlook on everything, but if congress doesn’t change we’ll have four more years of absolutely nothing getting accomplished so… It’s all a wash. We just need to scrap everyone and start over.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s why I will go for Bernie. I might vote Green party in the general if he is not on the ballot, or I might write him in. Hillary Clinton on a policy level with, the exception of immigration is even further to the right than Trump, and now she has the rhetoric to match.

      Like

    2. That is where I am at. NONE of the candidates are viable (in my humble opinion) and each represent a facet of what I despise the most in politics. No matter who gets elected, it will be a blow to this country.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like Sanders. There is nothing wrong with diverting taxes to things that would be better paid for, in my opinion. There is nothing wrong with raising taxes on those who reap the benefits of the services provided the most. There is nothing wrong with ensuring that free trade is agreements are only made with people on a level playing field. There is nothing wrong with not spending trillions on a fighter that the military hasn’t even been able to use, and spending it on college so we can catch up to the rest of the world in education. But that is just my opinion.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have no problem with idealism…as long as it is tempered with an understanding of the realities of what it takes to achieve those ideals. I think that is where Sanders falls short. Also too, like every other politician, I do not feel that he hold himself (or his peers) to the same standards that he places on everyone else. Despite his stance, he is still very much an elitist.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well, in this obstructionist climate, nobody could get anything done. Sanders plans adds up if you add the fact that he will make some cuts to corporate welfare and other things like unnecessary military spending which the economists don’t include because they feel nobody would move money. He doesn’t take money from Super PACs and his campaign is funded by small donors. He is not purchased by anyone. Everyone running for office is going to be somewhat elite because of the circles they need for support, but he is far less than anyone else running.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. No, Sanders is the guy I want. But that doesn’t mean he will get it done. Nobody will. But for once, I have the potential to vote for what I want rather than what I can live with. Since nobody can get anything done in this climate, I’m going to voice what I want. He is as much of a people’s candidate as possible.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

