Hold Your Fire

Hello my dear reader(s)!

I apologize for my extended absence.  Last month was a tough one.  I was very busy, and for the last week and a half or so, I was very sick.  Now, in relative terms I was not very sick because you all know I have been a lot sicker, but it is hard to type quality posts when you’re hacking up a lung.  I did have a little health scare during this time, and there will be some things that I have to go through a bit later that won’t be fun, but fortunately, this doesn’t seem to be anything major to worry about.  Hooray!  But this post isn’t about my absence.  It is about Donald Trump.

As many reader(s) of this here blog-type-thing may know, I am pretty liberal.  And for months, the rise of Donald Trump and his supporters have been one of my fellow liberal(s) biggest fears.  It is understandable.  The things this person says in public should be alarming to any person with a knowledge of history and civics.  BUT…Donald Trump is not the scary one.

Now, I am not saying the prospect of a President Trump isn’t something to be scared of.  What I am saying, is that Ted Cruz, as a Dominionist, should be much more frightening to anyone who believes the Constitution is the supreme law of the land as opposed to the bible.  Donald Trump will say any horrible thing to get elected.  Ted Cruz actually believes those horrible things.

Ted Cruz has shown that he will do everything in his power to get his way.  When he shut down the government and cost the economy billions of dollars, he did so because he did not have the votes to overturn a law he didn’t like.  When he is an executive, he will do the same thing.

Donald Trump on the other hand, wants to be seen as someone who gets the country “a good deal”.  He will not hold the country hostage.  His brand relies on his businessman persona and his crude negotiating ability.  This is key.  The man will say anything, while making deals in a back room.  The damage done by Trump is already done, to our standing around the world.  We look like clowns because we are willing to vote for someone willing to spew this hateful rhetoric.  I sincerely disbelieve his hateful policies will come to pass if elected.  Not that I am pro-Trump.  In fact, just for what he has been willing to say so far, he should be kept from office.  As should Ted Cruz.

BUT.

He isn’t our problem right now.  In fact, he is our friend.  Because the Republicans are scared to death of him.  They are lining up to attack him.  He will likely have a majority of delegates when they get to the convention if he doesn’t win the nomination outright.  At that point, Republicans are already openly saying they will try to beat him at a contested convention.  Trump supporters will see that move as ignoring the will of the voters.  The party cannot recover from a split like that by the fall.  Mitt Romney’s speech a few minutes ago is going to be seen as establishment verses party outsiders, which can only benefit Donald Trump who is running as an outsider and attracting voters who feel they have been betrayed by the establishment.  Some Republicans have even been heard saying off the record they will run a third-party candidate if Trump gets the nomination, just to deny him the election.

This is a gift to liberals.  Trump and the opposition to him are splitting the Republican party right before our eyes.  The monster they have created with their slimy rhetoric and southern strategies is coming back at them.  The longer this goes on, the better chance there will not be a Republican candidate getting elected.

Yet, as usual, liberals cannot keep their mouths shut about their principles.  They hear and see the awful sideshow the Republican party has brought upon themselves and feel they must attack Donald Trump while he is still benefiting us.  We liberals have no brain for political strategy.  Liberals are worried about the world looking at Americans like they’ve gone insane, and feel the need to stop him early.  But we have looked insane in the eyes of the world for years now.  And liberals have a chance to sit by and let the world think it is just the Republicans who have lost their minds, as they watch the opposition party explode.

So, my fellow liberal(s), I ask that you hold your fire on Trump.  For now.  Let the Republicans try to take down Trump.  It is their party.  It is their problem.  Let them fracture and not be able to field a candidate with full support from the conservative side.

If Trump gets the nomination, then we should direct all our energy to stopping him.

But as long as he is destroying the party that created him, hold your fire.  Sit back and watch the civil war from the sidelines.  Bring popcorn.  This could be fun.

Featured Image By Michael Vadon [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

38 thoughts on “Hold Your Fire”

  1. This is a moment to get your favorite beverage and some popcorn just to see Rome burn in a bright, hot mess. I have never seen anything like this before. He is about to nuke the right. If Hillary and Bernie’s camps can unite that will be a powerful unified force.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I don’t talk much about politics on line because so many things get misunderstood but Ted Cruz and Marco Rubio scare me. Clinton and Sanders aren’t my favorites either but at least I don’t see them taking away our freedom of religion for one religion.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I believe Trump would be dangerous. Old wise saying by my dear Grandfather. “Nothing good to say. Say nothing”. “Old wisdom. Think before you speak.” Trump is a loaded gun. Great business people don’t make great leaders. How many people had Trump added to the unemployed? I have worked for great business men. Profit over people. Thank you for your thoughts. Obama said it last election. Voters are stupend. I will win because they don’t want to know the truth or learn it.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. A scary election. I vote for the best person. Not the party. I hate Hillary. I would vote for her over Trump. If Trump wins his nomination. Hillary will be our president. Woman and the black vote will not be fooled by Trump.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I’m not a fan of Hillary either. I am far more liberal than her. But I would take her over any of the GOP. Any of them. I wish Bernie would get it, but that looks less likely each day.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Probably. As Bernie gets more publicity, his favorable rating increases. Now that he is finally getting coverage, it is possible but unlikely he can hang in. Maybe he carries California. I won’t call him done until it is mathematically impossible, but I will agree it isn’t looking very plausible.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad you’re back 🙂
    I agree with you, but I stare at my television and panic at times. It’s terrifying. This guy I know, my flirty shop guy, who’ll be voting Democrat this year, because the GOP is not the GOP he once identified with, says to me, “Donald Trump is funny, don’t you think?” I look at him crazy and say, “No, I don’t think he’s funny. He’s standing up saying he’s a bully, bigoted, racist, misogynist, and people are like ‘Yeah! Me too!’ and that’s scary as fuck.” Maybe it’d be funny if it wasn’t so terrifying how many people agree with his dumb ass.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. I am more afraid of the people who are voting for and supporting Trump than Trump himself. Without the ignorance of those people, Trump could not be where he is. I don’t use “ignorance” as an insult, I am referring to their inability to see the truth and understand what they, themselves, are doing to our country by supporting this man as the leader of our country. I wonder if many of them can actually give a good reason for their support or will they just parrot Trump’s BS? Do they understand that there is no “Whoops” if he is actually elected. O.K. I have jumped off my soap box now. I hope you are right Josh.👍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yep, agreed. Your first sentence is it. It’s what he’s unleashed that’s frightening. I guess we all knew prejudice and anger simmered inside our neighbors, but I certainly never imagined it was so murderous.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. It is 30% of 40% of the voters. Important to keep that in mind. From a purely strategic point of view, watching the rise of the tea party and courting racists, if you were going to split the party, what better way to do it? I’m not convinced that isn’t Trump’s mission yet. And even if it isn’t, it is the effect. The GOP will now be linked with racist, mysoginists for decades.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right, if he were getting the same attention as Trump, I think people would know just how terrible he might be. I just hope I’m right about the party collapsing, they brought all this on themselves.

      Like

  6. Hooray! Josh is back! Hope you feel tip top real soon.

    There are many sets of three words that should never be uttered together, lest the Apocalypse be unleashed. One set of three words that should never be uttered together is “President Donald Trump.” It’s OK if it’s about a loser investment plan. But it must never about the United States of America. Another is “President Ted Cruz.” A final one is “President Marco Rubio.” If any of these sets of three words are ever uttered in reference to the Presidency of the United States of America, then we are well and truly screwed. Just sayin’.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. They are all cartoon characters and I, for one, am utterly embarrassed when I look at us through the eyes of the world. But yes, we liberals have… issues… when it comes to communicating our wishes and beliefs in a clear, concise, non-reactionary manner. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I totally agree about Cruz. He terrifies as much or more than Trump. And even more than Trump and Cruz, the hoards (or should it be whores, snicker?) voting for them terrify me. I don’t enjoy scary movies. No amount of popcorn will make this enjoyable to me, sadly. Instead, I’ll just cover my eyes until I hear it’s over and safe to come out from under my covers.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

