The Resistance Piece

Hello dear reader(s)!

This will be the greatest post you have ever read.  It will be the resistance piece.  The points I make, the thoughts I evoke, the questions I ask…will make this post so amazing, that if it were to gain a wide enough audience, it might change the world.  This post will be so important, that humanity could look back into history, and separate that history into the time before this post, and the time afterward.  You see, I figured it all out.  I figured out the secret to everything, and I am going to share it.

It all started from a dream I had last night.  I don’t remember every detail, but I do remember the important parts, and the overall feeling of peace, happiness, and understanding that came from the dream.  I spent the morning trying to work out the lesson from that dream, and I think I have.

I sincerely believe that if I share this, the world will truly be a better place.  I think that it is so important, I might have to take the extraordinary step of asking you, my dear reader(s), to share and reblog this post to help spread the word.  I would like to see this post go viral.  Not for me, or this here blog-type-thing, but for the good of people everywhere.

As we all blow up our social media with our political opinions, as we all tell people about the importance of paying attention to what is happening in the world, as we all express our views on everything from politics to television…I think we are missing something.  A larger picture.

I think this will be so important, it will fundamentally alter the very sense of the way we see everything.  The enlightenment it will bring to people will create a golden age of harmony that could do so many wonderful things.

I used to wonder why I am here.  I wondered where I fit into the grand scheme of the world.  What would be my legacy?  Would it be to help people survive the rough things they are going through?  To show them that sometimes you can make it through horrible things and still keep a positive view of the world?  Would it be to let people know that not everyone has to fit into the box we have all had made for us?  Would it be to let people know that there is happiness even in the ugliest times?

I have thought it might be each of those things.

But no more.  Not since this dream.

Now I know exactly why I am here.  And I know why you are here too.

I could keep this information to myself.  I could probably benefit greatly from the advantage it would give me.  But I just can’t.  I can’t let everyone else suffer as I thrive from this new knowledge.

This dream taught me so much.  I never would have thought the mysteries of life could be solved so simply.  I never would have thought they would be solved in a dream.  But there can be no doubt that they have been.  The way I feel now makes that completely clear.

And how could I sleep at night, if I didn’t tell you about this dream?  How could I live with myself without sharing the secret that will save the world?

So here goes:

It was nice day.  Partly cloudy and a little breezy.  I was hungry, and decided I would take a walk to go get something to eat.  I left the house and walked down the street in front of my apartment building.  I passed by a couple waiting at the bus stop.  They were holding hands and both had a look of quiet contentment.  They smiled, and I smiled back.

I walked on.

I was passed by a man walking in the other direction.  He was an older gentleman, and looked as though he had things all figured out.  He said, “Hi.”

I continued walking.

A woman coming out of her door dropped some papers.  Some blew way from her in the wind.  I tracked them down for her and brought them back to her.  She smiled a big smile and thanked me as I handed them back to her.  I told her, “You’re welcome.”

I continued walking.

I approached an intersection.  A car was looking to make a left turn.  My walk sign was green, but I noticed it was only one car in a rare break in traffic.  I waved the car to go.  They waved back as they turned.

I continued walking.

I saw a puppy.  It was wandering around outside of a house.  I noticed there was an open gate.  I called the puppy over and checked its tags.  The address on the tags matched the address of the house with the open gate.  I picked the puppy up and put it in the yard behind the gate.  I made sure the gate was latched.  I pulled on it to make sure the puppy wouldn’t get out again.  I was satisfied the puppy would be safe.

I continued walking.

I got to the place I decided to get food at.  It was a local burrito place.  I ordered my burrito from the very nice woman working behind the counter.  And sat and waited for my burrito.

Did you catch it?  The lesson from the dream?  The life-alternating secret that will bring about a golden age of harmony?

In case you missed it, I will make it clear for you.

I’m hungry, and I want a burrito.

You’re welcome.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

40 thoughts on “The Resistance Piece”

  1. U’r dream is actually quite zen… simple yet profound. 🙂
    Simply be conscious, live in the moment and respond accordingly… correct thought leads to correct action.
    It doesn’t require any philosophizing or methodology, you gave plenty of good examples:
    Live your life, walk your talk.
    To be content, smile and life smiles back.
    Be courteous, receive gratitude, respect, love.
    When hungry, eat. When tired, stop.
    Life comes full circle when u walk u’r talk.
    Simply be a good person. Our lives mirror/ reflect our perception of reality.

    ……OR SOMETIMES A BURRITO IS JUST A BURRITO. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think for the purposes of this post, it was just a burrito. But I also think you’re right. If you’re going about things not trying to hurt anyone, not plotting or scheming for anything greater than an occasional burrito or whatever, and if you’re present in the journey to said burrito or whatever…that really is a good life. 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  2. That was good, at first it was going to be like one of those junk mail things where they tell you all about how wonderful and life changing something is going to be for pages and pages and if you don’t thow the mailaway first,when it somes to actually telling you anthing you have to mail off for a book! 🙂 Good job.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Suddenly it hit me…it’s all so clear now…I hope you can handle the amount of followers coming your way after this life-altering post. Loved every bit of it. Here I thought I had solved the world’s problems LAST week with my post on communal bathing. You sure schooled me. All Hail the Power of Josh’s Burrito!! I only have one last question burning….to guac or not to guac? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. HA! … I thought you were either poking fun at those online videos that claim to have some break-through solution for all your troubles—until finally revealing how much $$$ their info will cost you. Or, thought you might be emphasizing the choice to simply “move on” with life… In the end, I hope you got your burrito. 🙂 ♥ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

