Boxers Day

Hello dear reader(s)!

Given the time difference, I think for my friends in the UK it is already pretty late on Boxing Day.  If not Boxing Night now.  We don’t really have that here in the US, so I have decided that today, the day after Christmas, shall be known as Boxers Day.

Why Boxers Day?

Because I ate too much last night and do not feel like putting on pants.  Therefore, I will sit around in my boxers all day.  Boxers Day.  Simple.

So now with the Yule/Christmas/December holidays pretty much out of the way, it is time to focus on New Year’s.  By the calendar most of us use, the year changes in a little bit of time.  Since we keep track by those numbers, I guess it is rather significant.

Let’s look back on 2015, shall we?

Let’s not and say we did.

2015, was, and likely always will be, the worst year of my life.

However, as near as I can tell, it was also the end of the era of horrible years.  It is hard to get worse than what happened in July.  I mean, I’m not trying to tempt the fates, but I don’t know if a zombie apocalypse would be as devastating.  So this year, seems in a way to have been a cap on all of the awful.  Rock bottom, which means things should be going up.

And while I know I was in the hospital again fairly recently, I see that as more of a fluke than a sign that I am not better.  I still have the things I need to watch out for, I still have some growth I need in my bone marrow before I can live a life anything close to what some would call “normal”, but I feel 2015 was the beginning of the end.

I met a couple of people who are really important to me.  I moved from the high desert yuckiness that I detest.  I have traveled alone to Alaska.  I spent more time outside of the hospital than in it by a huge margin.  That hasn’t hasn’t happened for literal years.

2015 was the year that my old life almost completely vanished and now I have to figure out how to restart.  I imagine 2016 will be a bit bumpy, but I am determined to do it.  Already trying hard to make new friends, and I am seeing some success in that area, but it is tough without work or school as a basis.  So I’ve had to be a little creative.  I am hoping that soon I will know whether or not my B-cell line has come in.  With vaccines and a bit more immunity, if I am careful, maybe, just maybe, I can get working again at some point this year.  I certainly hope so, anyway.

All in all, I am hopeful for 2016.  I think the hope is realistic too.  Yes, I was hopeful for 2015, but I still had so much to lose.  And I did.  This year will start almost like a blank slate.  New town, improving health (hopefully), new friends and methods for making more, and less to lose.  Granted, there are still people and things that I could lose that would be devastating, but I really don’t know if anything could touch what was lost in 2015.

To summarize, goodbye 2015, don’t let the door hit your ass on the way out.

Eventually I suppose I will need to put on some pants and try to work off all of the goodies I had last night.  But for now, I am content to celebrate Boxers Day.  I’d post a pic, but this isn’t that type of blog-type-thing.  Besides, I am sure a lot of you are already flooded with inappropriate pictures.

Do you have any plans for New Year’s?  Any resolutions?  Are you going to party it up or make it low-key?  Will you be awake when the clock strikes and the calendar flips?  Would love to hear from you all about it.

 

Drawing courtesy “Boxer shorts” by Svgdraw – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Commons – https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Boxer_shorts.svg#/media/File:Boxer_shorts.svg

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

27 thoughts on “Boxers Day”

  1. I’m so happy to have found this blog. Every post is better than the last. New Years plans for us is always playing cards with the TV on and pigging out on guacamole. Sometimes we go a little nuts and play tennis on the wii. 🙂
    2013-2015 pretty much sucked ass for me too. Like you, I’m hopeful for a new and improved 2016. Best Wishes for the New Year, Josh!! Looking forward to more laughter and tears from your posts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I imagine that is about what my New Year’s might consist of. Not sure yet. Might meet up with some new friends, but haven’t got it all figured yet. I hope your 2016 is amazing!

      Like

  2. It will be great to read your year-in-review post a year from now, I’m sure 🙂
    We’re very good at staying in on NYE, which is what I’ve always done. No need to deal with glamming up and driving with the drunks. Sometimes we have company. We always make it to the ball dropping point, there’s always some sparkling white, and lots of kisses.
    I never make resolutions. If you want to change something, best get on with it, no reason to wait for a special day…unless you need the help of the moon, anyway 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Last night I asked for a few things. A little clarity mostly under the full moon. I usually stay in too. One year I didn’t, and went out with all of the people, and it was horrible. One year I did it and it was fun, until the way home, and that was horrible. So I am pretty okay with being home. I may go to a friend’s place, or might have some company, but I might not and that is fine.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Josh, happy Having Survived Christmas to the point of boxers-day.

    I’m curious to know, what is it about the high desert that you hate? I’m a fan of high desert myself, as long as it’s not the type that has dust storms (been there, moved). I love the vistas, the interesting plant life, and I can put up with coyotes and rattlesnakes as long as they don’t come into my personal space. What don’t you like?

    Have you tried the “Meetup” organization, for, uh, meeting up with people who share your interests? I joined it, but since there are no groups for recluses, it isn’t much good for me. But if you’re into, say, hiking, or knitting, or paganism, or brewing your own beer, or what have you, it seems like a pretty good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Israel has varied and dramatic landscapes, everything from dense forests (planted, because all the trees had been cut for firewood), the Mediterranean, crazy redrock desert full of caves, done with ancient wine presses or olive oil presses within, some that looks pretty much like any high desert but with shrubs and flowers that I sadly know nothing about…all within a tiny, tiny piece of real estate I once called Home.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You know, in acupuncture, at least the Vietnamese>> French>> medical kind I learned, the climate that suits a person best is considered to be an important factor in determining that person’s global constitution. The dosha is central to everything in a person’s life, and also predictive of what the weak places in the person’s health are likely to be. A person who loves to live by the ocean will be vulnerable to kidney issues, while a person who feels most comfortable in mountains with rushing streams has vulnerability in the liver. Done of these things can seem paradoxical: I love the desert, yet am allergic to many desert shrubs and flowers. Desert people tend to be weak in the lungs, which I am, and the dust in the summer kills me, so I have to go to the forest in the summer. But this type of thing is very useful in building an acupuncture diagnosis.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Josh,
    Are you a humor blogger. Everything is funny here. How to Ruin Christmas? Boxer Day? So, that’s not an actual holiday in the U.K.? You made it up since it’s hard to fit into your boxers after Christmas. Too funny. I mean, rolling in the aisles funny.
    You visited my site today (it’s actually still Saturday in California). I am glad you liked my new post about networking. Thanks for the visit. I am going to look around some more and check out How to Ruin Christmas. If it isn’t funny, I just really embarrassed myself. Happy holidays.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Boxers Day was a humor title on a mostly serious post. How To Ruin Christmas was meant to be humorous. But no, I am not a humor blogger all the time. I do write the occasional humor post, but my blog has no niche and I write pretty much anything.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow I can relate because 2015 was also one of those years at some points, I hadn’t felt that low in a while (especially summer 2015) but had a chance for a new beginning this year also and plan to implement a positive mindset in everything this coming year. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m actually kind of dreading what 2016 will likely bring with my dad, but if I look at it as just the closing chapter of one book, that makes it less scary. I have loved this book, but it’s time to start the next one. Your post just reminded me of that. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I feel the SAME way about 2015. My wife was in the hospital numerous times! I found out I have back problems. “F— 2015” !! But, I am going to MAKE 2016 better! I am going to punch bad news in the FACE!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

