Happy To Be Here

Hello dear reader(s)!

After a long and arduous journey (I didn’t stop believing), I arrived the day before yesterday at my new home.  The trip was fraught with danger, only not really, just icky conditions which added a little time to the travel.  The Beastess did marvelously in the conditions and for the whole trip.

20151221_102903

20151221_093300

When I arrived here, I pretty much just grabbed my stuff out and went to sleep.  Yesterday the plan was to unpack, but I need to find better places to put my things, so not much of that was done.

Instead, I went to one of my favorite places on Earth.  Once you see these pictures, some of you will probably guess where I am, but hopefully you are the non-stalker types.

20151222_102806

20151222_10294320151222_10304120151222_102520

20151222_102326

Yesterday evening I visited my brother and went to his new house.  It is really cool and I had a great time hanging out with him.  We also had pizza and I was starving by the point, so that was a big plus.  The coolest part about his house is that he also seems to enjoy decorating for Christmas.  He even had two Christmas trees.  It really worked.

20151222_155235

I haven’t yet decided what it is on tap for today.  I may just take it easy, but I also might go out and look for pants and a dresser type thing for some of my clothes.

Tonight I am going to see a holiday light display that I know is going to be amazing.  I am very excited.

Piedmont is very angry with me, but Dobson has already adjusted just fine.  Piedmont will come around.  She finally rubbed up on my leg this morning AFTER I put their food down, so I know it wasn’t just a “Feed Me NOW, you insolent human!” type of leg rub.

Last night I heard from about 7 friends back in Northern Nevada that they had a few earthquakes.  I really didn’t think the area would be so upset that I left.  I mean, to shake the ground just because I’m gone?  A little over-dramatic, don’t you think?

The only place I would’ve been happier at in the last few days would’ve been Stonehenge during the solstice.  That would’ve been awesome.  Maybe one day.

Anyway, I am very excited to be where I am, and I am hopeful about the year to come.  I hope that wherever you are, you are also happy to be there.  May this next year grant us all wonderful things except that curtain truck driver who decided to purposely mess with about 5 different cars including us at one point and will kill someone one day if he keeps it up.  I don’t wish him anything good except for a change in his driving and seemingly sadistic, bullying ways.  (You’re not a sub compact, you have a big blind spot, and that all seemed very intentional; you jerk.  Happy holidays.)

Happy holidays to all of you.  Here is to good things on the horizon.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

37 thoughts on “Happy To Be Here”

  1. “There aren’t a lot of guys like me left. But I’m a war horse. I’ve been through it all. And you know something about war horses? Through the sleet, through the snow, they just keep going.” Joel Silver 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That ped bridge reminds me of the walkway over the tracks by Carkeek. I’m glad you made it over the mountains in one piece, this month has been a doozy for most of the Cascade passes. Go watch the eagles at Discovery Park pretty soon and breathe in that saltwater air, it’s a good way of getting your feet on the ground. Maybe pick out a little piece of driftwood and put it in your pocket…..

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

