Empty Rooms

The pictures are down
The furniture gone
Except for the bed
I need to sleep on

The dishes are packed
The cabinets are clean
Evidence of you
Can barely be seen

A fitting end
To our time here
What was meant forever
Was less than a year

To think I came back
For a new life with you
And now I’m surrounded
By this empty view

These empty rooms
Were empty for long
Before I packed up
Since you have been gone

These empty rooms
Are just like my heart
Since you left me here
And I fell apart

I never thought
I’d face the day when
This empty heart
Needed filling again

But these empty rooms
Empty they’ll stay
And all memories
Will be packed away

And I will move on
And fill other spaces
Our lives in these rooms
Won’t leave any traces

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

15 thoughts on “Empty Rooms”

  1. Very moving Josh, tearing up here. I hope you have some specials memories that can conjure up some “Hannah smiles”, the type that let you remember her with joy. I am sure this must be a difficult Christmas for you, take care now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know, I don’t think the Christmas part will be as hard as I was worried about, I’ve been too busy, but the emptiness along with hearing a certain song kind of got me. I don’t have as many days like that now, but yesterday evening really was one of them.

      Like

      1. Glad to hear Christmas is not going to be too daunting. Hope you are surrounded by family and friends. Maybe that song was Hannah sending a message to say “hey I am looking over you”
        My frined lost his wife at a young to cancer. He was as you can imagine shattered and gutted. On the morning of the funeral, we had a very big earthquake. He joked, he had asked her for a sign that she was okay but thought that sending a big earthquake was a tad over the top! I hope you are feeling better today.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

