71%

While people all over the nation freak out about a made-up war on Christianity and the “Islamization of America” I think it is important to keep in mind that in 2014 (the last full year), a full 71% of Americans considered themselves to be Christian.  Apparently, a war is being fought against these 71% of residents by a group of other religious or non-religious people with sometimes conflicting ideologies against the poor wittwe Christian supermajority.  A majority so large, it could override a veto if applied to government.

When I hear Trump on national television telling people that a protester at one of ze rallies he held “deserved to get roughed-up”, I think about this supposed war.  When I hear him and his fellow Christian fascists and Republican candidates call for registration and identification of Muslims, I think about this supposed war.  When I hear Mike Huckabee talk about a “secular agenda”, or Kim Davis denying the law of the land, and not being fired and imprisoned for a genuine amount of time, I think about this supposed war.  Whenever I hear anyone say the United States is a Christian nation, despite all evidence and implicit documents to the contrary, I think about this supposed war.  When I think about the Christian fascists who would scapegoat an entire people or belief system for the actions of a few, I think about this supposed war.  When I think about the parallels the Muslims are facing now in comparison to what the Jews faced before Kristallnacht and the actual Holocaust, I think about this supposed war.  When I think about how I am not a Christian, and in-fact, not a believer in any of the Abrahamic religions, I think about this supposed war.

And every time I hear the rhetoric that the 71% of people in this nation are under attack by a threat of non-believers in their particular version of their God, I think about this supposed war.  I think about how Adolf Hitler and Joseph Goebbels tried to make the Jews the scapegoat for all of Germany’s problems before sending so many to their deaths.  I think of the slow erosion of rights, the way the people were taught to dehumanize them, and the eventual complicit genocidal hate that emerged from almost an entire nation.  I think about Hitler’s rise from being a joke to being a total dictator.  I then look at Donald Trump’s lead in the polls.

“I believe that I am acting in accordance with the will of the Almighty Creator: by defending myself against the Jew, I am fighting for the work of the Lord..” – Adolf Hitler

Does this sound very different from the rhetoric being spewed against Muslims and any non-Christian today?

Trump doesn’t scare me, Trump’s supporters and his willingness to incite them does.  As a non-Christian, I am waiting for the day I have to defend myself from religious persecution.  My belief system has been associated with Satanism, even though we flatly do not believe in Satan other than it being a creation of the Christian church.  Hard to worship someone you don’t believe exists.  My beliefs have been associated with all kinds of things that never happened.  The symbols associated with my beliefs have been either co-opted by the Christians for easier conversion, or stolen and turned on their heads to associate those of the people who believe as I do with worshipers of an evil we don’t even believe is real.

Right now though we aren’t the main target.  The peaceful Muslims throughout the world and especially here in the Untied States are.  When masked armed men are allowed to intimidate people who are trying to worship in peace at their local mosque, the war is not on Christianity.  I’m sure it is a small percentage of that 71% though that are doing this.

Terrorists suck.  Whether they are terrorists killing in the name of a Muslim God, or terrorists like Timothy McVeigh or the KKK…they are all pieces of shit.  Anybody who would target innocent people just trying to live their lives instead of going after those who pose a legitimate threat is a piece of shit.  Anybody who really believes that people who live in a geographic region have any control over what their governments and their nations’ military-industrial complexes do is either ignorant or idiotic.

I do not blame the average Palestinian child for the Hamas backed rocket launches.  I do not blame the Israeli woman for the fact that her government has decided to bomb heavily populated areas because some assholes launched rockets.  And I don’t blame the kids on the beach for the power-hungry assholes launching those rockets.  I don’t blame the Muslims for ISIS.  I don’t blame the French for having a government that tries to stop them.  I don’t blame the regular church going Christians for just living their lives.  I don’t blame the non-Christians for doing the same.

I do blame the people trying to use religion, race, fear, and violence to increase their power.  And I don’t care what religion or race that it is.

So let’s just cut the crap.  Leaders of the world, who would use these things for your own gain; people who believe them and would kill for it; people who hate that which is different:  How about you all get together in some desolate field somewhere?  Have it out.  Do whatever the fuck you want to each other.  My guess is that you are far less than 71% of the world’s population.  Have your pissing match over which God is better, which race is better, which way of life is better, and anything else you feel the need to fight over.  Do it, wipe each other out, and leave the rest of us the hell alone.

We’ll be busy realizing their is no war on anyone’s belief systems except where you all are fighting.  We’ll be welcoming people.  We’ll be using all the money we put into making war into taking care of each other, and advancing the cause of peace and understanding.

You go on killing each other, just leave us out of it.

Sincerely,

The More Than 71% of people who don’t want any part in the wars you claim.

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

23 thoughts on “71%”

  1. Reblogged this on Jdawgswords and commented:
    “Terrorists suck. Whether they are terrorists killing in the name of a Muslim God, or terrorists like Timothy McVeigh or the KKK…they are all pieces of shit. Anybody who would target innocent people just trying to live their lives instead of going after those who pose a legitimate threat is a piece of shit. Anybody who really believes that people who live in a geographic region have any control over what their governments and their nations’ military-industrial complexes do is either ignorant or idiotic.”

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, this is what I’ve been saying for some time now. I thought the number was actually higher, but I knew there were a ton of Christians here. With all the other belief and non-belief systems not on the same page…how could such a small percentage be a threat?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I dunno. Maybe the angry ones miss burning us at the stake, or hanging us in the town square…but now that’s unconstitutional and they are beside themselves with fear…?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post Josh 🙂 Personally, I don’t know what the hell is going on anymore…the media is spewing so much BS that I don’t even know what we’re all fighting over. I could rant but I think I’ll play it safe and just say that lol

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

