Hello Dear Reader(s)!

“What?  Why did he make that his title?  I don’t like that.  I think he is a bit off now.  He reminds me of that time Uncle Joe started running around naked singing Free Bird.  Maybe we should call someone.  Oh, don’t look, now he’s doing Buffalo Bill and singing Goodbye Horses. ”

Don’t worry my dear reader(s), I haven’t lost it any more than usual.  In fact, I think I have found it.  I’m not exactly sure what it is at this point, but I’m pretty sure I found it.  It looks like a piece of dryer lint.  But it is kinda spongy.  Maybe I accidentally put a sponge in the dryer.  I hope it wasn’t Sponge Bob.

“He’s still acting really weird, I’m uncomfortable.  Do you think he is off his medication?  Would being off an antibiotic do this to someone?  Isn’t it weird that he’s typing our inner thoughts back to us?  I don’t like this.”

So let’s talk about dreams for a moment, shall we?  I had some pretty interesting ones last night.  Do you think your dreams mean anything or are just random images created when your synapses are firing with your eyes closed in an attempt to write the lessons learned that day?  I’ve had too many dreams that seemed to mean something to believe it is solely the second explanation.  Of course, I have also had dreams where I was playing a racing game such as Mario Kart for hours on end and then went to sleep and dreamed I was flying through the courses and then played the next day and kicked royal butt, so I think maybe there is truth to each of those theories.  *No royals were harmed or threatened in the making of that last sentence.  

So, back to my dreams, because this is all about me.  Last night I had at least one dream I can remember.  I was standing outside in my backyard looking up at the waxing moon.  It was at 1/4.  (The moon is at about a 1/4 waxing right now, just FYI.)  Anyway, I was looking up at the moon and I heard something behind me.  I turned around to see a young woman.  Maybe 18 -22.  She had long (really long, like down to the back of her knees) blonde hair and braids around the top of her head (Which is something I always thought looked cool).  She wore a flowing white dress that I thought she must have been cold in.

I asked her what she was doing in my backyard.

She answered with a question.  “What is it you seek?”

“The answer to what you’re doing in my backyard,” I replied.

She told me I knew what she was doing there.  She then told me to tell her what I sought.

So I told her.  It is between me and her though.

The next thing I know, I am standing in a clearing in a forest.  There are people gathered around me in a circle, except a beautiful woman with dark hair and dark eyes and ribbons in her hair.  There is also a woman in a robe standing somewhat between us, but a few steps back.  It looks a bit like a wedding.  I look into the woman’s eyes, and I feel the cloth wrap around our joined hands.  I realize it basically is.

A young child runs from the circle to our side.  I recognize the child as being mine, which is funny, because after the cancer and a few other things, the possibility of me having children is basically non-existent.

Then I am on a beautiful sofa, with the woman beside me.  She has grown old, but is still stunning.  A fire roars in the fireplace in front of us.  The room we sit in is leather, old dark woods, and hunter green.  There is a large bookshelf with many books on it.  On the opposite wall, is a window with five stained glass inserts.  I look down at my hands and see that they have aged.  I look again at the woman.  Her hair now gray, her eyes as dark and entrancing as when we stood across from each other in the circle.  I feel pain in my chest.  I tell her goodbye, and wake up.

When I woke up, I checked my pulse to make sure I wasn’t having a heart attack.  I realized I had no chest pain and it was just in the dream.  This is the most vivid dream I have had in years.  It is also one of the dreams that I have not forgotten soon after waking.

Maybe the dream is straightforward.  Maybe it is related to everything I’ve been reading about and talking with people about.  Maybe there is more to it than I see on the surface.

All I know is that it left me in an even better mood this morning than I have been in for a while…which is hard to do because lately, my moods have been pretty great.

Any dream people out there who want to take a stab at this one?  Please don’t actually stab it, me, or anyone else.  If you interpret dreams and have some clue as to the the symbolism, I would love to hear your take.  If you think they are just random images, you can tell me that too.  If you think I have truly lost it, you’re right, I have no idea what happened to that spongy lint ball.

 

 

 

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

7 thoughts on “Hello Dear Reader(s)!”

  1. I used to keep a regular dream blog and interpreted various symbols and themes. I had a few friends who were more knowledgeable than I was on the topic who’d chime in with their two cents every now and then. What I found was that dissecting them was more helpful than therapy. Images/colors/settings mean different things to different people. That’s what I believe, at least. Current and past thoughts and experiences manifested in all sorts of ways.
    I know that’s not helpful for your particular dream.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh, how I love the way you write. Okay, so since I have devoted a lot of time researching dreams for my book, I will take a foam finger stab at it. Good thing I had two, cuz I think you washed one.
    Depending on what you said you are seeking…. if it is a family, you were shown a peaceful family life that could be yours. I don’t know if it is prophetic or not. It could be a past-life regression where you were shown a previous life when you were happy. I think your “lesson” from the dream could be that you know what felt so wonderful, allow that feeling to stay with you and don’t settle for less. Because you had the end of life experience, I would tend to believe it is a past-life memory, but nobody really knows if that’s real.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’ll agree with Manee, and add that spirit guides are a possibility. Also, maybe consider a soul’s journey instead of a dream.
    You never know, a handfasting with a young bride may well be in your future. Please don’t assume the obstacles of your life. Fathering children is more than biology, and even that is entirely possible. (I know more than my fair share of miracle babies.)
    Anyway, I’m glad it’s so vivid and comforting. Sounds idyllic and beautiful. I wouldn’t forget it, either. Lovely setting.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s about the coolest dream I’ve ever heard of. My dreams are usually about carpet samples or my cat.
    It sounds very deep and very comforting, as someone said above. I’m no good at the whole analytical thing, but I do believe that dreams are a very important aid in helping us to study our subconscious.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

