Thanksgiving

Hello dear reader(s)!

In the US, where I live and try to be citizen of (I say try to be because to really be a citizen you must be actively involved in civics, whether you are granted the rights of citizenship or not), it is now one week and one day until the Thanksgiving holiday.

But shouldn’t Thanksgiving be every day?  And when I say “Shouldn’t Thanksgiving be every day?” I mean giving thanks, not the feast.  Because I am thankful I don’t weigh 500 pounds.  If I were to have a Thanksgiving feast every day, I don’t care what I did for exercise, I would weigh 500 pounds.  Feel free to convert to kilograms if your country is intelligent and uses the metric system.  That’s right, I think metric is better.  Get over it.

At any rate, I think we should wake up every day and put out into the universe the things we are thankful for that day, even if it is just being given a chance to wake up.  Maybe not having to list everything one is thankful for, because honestly, that could take a while, but just some things to start your day off on the right foot.

If you can’t do that every day, maybe you could just do it every week.  My blogging friend Krissy over at Crickets are OK, has been doing a onethingwednesday hashtag for as long as I have known her blog.  That hashtag, oddly enough is #onethingwednesday.  In that hashtag, she mentions just one thing she is grateful for.  I love to participate in this, (when I remember what day it is) and suggest everyone jumps on board this train.  (Not literally, hopping trains can be dangerous.)  I have been naming a few things since Sunday, when I wake up, but using social media can have more of an impact.  Since I believe that what you put out into the world comes back to you in mind, body, and spirit…I see no reason doing something like this can be anything but good for everyone.

In my timezone it is Wednesday morning.  Yesterday, I had my final doctor’s appointment in this area before I move.  I also played games last night with some really good friends.  I lost at the second game (which is one of my favorites), but I don’t mind.  It was fun.  I am going to miss my friends when I move, and will make strong efforts to continue to see them and maintain our friendships.  There was a lot to be grateful for yesterday, here are just a few.

  • I am grateful for the fact that my neutrophils doubled since the last time I had them checked, putting them not just in the normal range, but solidly in the normal range.
  • I am grateful for my doctor here who fought hard to get me in after her staff botched a few things related to my previous appointments.  I am grateful for her knowledge and compassion.
  • I am grateful for the lady at the bookstore who gave me ideas on where to begin, and some materials that already cleared up some misconceptions I had about a subject I am researching.
  • I am grateful for the friend who never outright suggested, but listened to me and found that I may want to look into the subject I am researching.  I am also grateful for the friend’s openness and honesty, and her lack of judgment when I need to be honest and open with her.
  • I am grateful for the friends that make every effort to include me into their lives, fun, and celebrations, despite having family commitments and all of the other obstacles life can occasionally put in the way.  Plus, there is that french toast casserole.
  • I am grateful for the world around me.  Despite all of the issues and problems created by those who just don’t appreciate what we are given, this world is still pretty amazing.
  • I am grateful for all of my friends and family even when they annoy me, because I am grateful they care.
  • I am grateful to know I am not alone in my intuitive thoughts I’ve had about everything.  And I am grateful for the explanations of things that allow me to understand the thoughts of others better.
  • I am grateful that I have recently realized the futility over getting worked up by people’s ignorance.  I am glad I no longer expend negative energy and instead of endlessly debating will work to live by example in compassion.
  • I am grateful for writing, reading, music, painting, and creating.
  • I am grateful that I have been allowed and trusted by people to have a window into their souls.
  • I am grateful that on occasion, I have been able to help people.  I am grateful for the help those people and others have given me.
  • I am grateful that I have goals again, and plans being made to work toward them.  I am grateful for my new-found realization that I have always had the ability to bend things toward those goals of positive purpose, if I do it correctly.
  • I am grateful that I neither fear death, not am trying to rush it.
  • Most importantly, I am grateful for grates.  Because without them, you just might fall into that storm drain.

What about you, dear reader(s)?  What are you grateful for?  Feel free to leave one thing, or a few things in the comments.  Don’t forget to tweet one thing you are grateful for today (if it is Wednesday where you are) using the hashtag #onethingwedensday.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

18 thoughts on “Thanksgiving”

  1. I have a gratitude journal in which I only write things I’m grateful for. Then, every Wednesday, a friend and I trade emails with everything we’ve been grateful for over the last week. It keeps us accountable to each other and forces us to really look for all the tiny little things that make life worth living. Today, I’m grateful for innovators who create new possibilities for entrepreneurship.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this Josh! That’s a lot to be grateful for. Today, I am grateful for a daughter who helps her mother cook dinner, and that we have a weeknight free of dance classes so we can eat together as a family. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m grateful that for the first time in the past ten years I’m not in the grips of depression during the month of November. Even with all of the turmoil going on in the world right now, I’ve managed to stay stable, while remaining connected.

    That’s awesome about your good medical news, and that you have new goals to work towards. Sometimes those little things make all the difference. Good luck with your move!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. … grateful to be reading such awesome posts like yours!
    We really have an amazing community of mindful, caring bloggers who genuinely want to make the world a better place to be. Hows that for virtual civics?
    Have a joyous, thank-filled holiday everyone.

    Like

Comments appreciated

