By Tomorrow

I wanted you to be
A product of insanity
But it hasn’t worked out that way

I try to dismiss you
But end up missing you
Dreaming that there’s something I could say

Never lost control before
Doesn’t matter anymore
Control is overrated anyway

But I know
I was in a bad place
When you found me
Who wouldn’t go
Yet I know
I’m not there now
I could be there
By tomorrow

Waiting for a sign from you
I don’t think it’s coming true
I’d prove to you if you would just let me

Lying in my bed awake
Praying that my heart you’ll take
In dreams your face the only thing I see

But I know
I was in a bad place
When you found me
Who couldn’t know
Yet I know
I’m not there still
You could have me
By tomorrow

You weren’t part of my crazy
You weren’t just next in line
Maybe you didn’t see it
And didn’t believe it
‘Till I would be fine

If this wasn’t meant to be
Why your iron hold on me
Why is it so hard to let you go

Just say the word and I will run
Let me know when I should come
I could be beside you tomorrow

Yes you know
I was in a bad place
When you found me
It was still real
And I know
I’m not there now
But I could be
By tomorrow

© Joshua Wrenn, 2015

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

16 thoughts on “By Tomorrow”

Comments appreciated

