The New Ones, and the Non-Freudian Slip

Hello dear reader(s)!

I am officially writing a novel.  I decided this earlier today when I realized that I just couldn’t let go of this story circulating in my head.  If you’ve read any of the Brandon series 1, 2, & 3, The Realization, and Jake and the New Ones you could probably tell I was having a hard time leaving that world hanging.  So, today I decided to go ahead and take those former short-stories, add some detail and greater character development, and build them into some of the chapters of a book.  I have a lot more left for that story to go, as well as details on the backstories of the characters that I hope will make for an interesting read.

I will also now have a test book to learn from, before I write about the real events of my life in all of its detail and what I have learned.

However, hopefully this book doesn’t flop either.  It would be easier for me to take if it did, since it is just a product of my imagination;  but would still sting a little, I’m sure.

When I published my post Brandon, I just wanted to make it a short two or three-part story, but the ideas just kept coming.  I tried to put it out of my mind, but the thoughts would wake me up in the middle of the night.

There is a funny story I want to share with you about the posting of Brandon, Part 1.

I share my blog on my personal Facebook page.  I am also terrible at choosing names, most likely because I am terrible at remembering names in real life.  I am definitely the “Oh hey…you…” guy, and no, I’m not proud.

I wanted to write a story with a female lead who doesn’t at first realize her strength.  I came up with the idea for her and her son being an advanced evolutionary species.  Not like X-Men where they have wings and all kinds of special powers, just basically humans with enhanced abilities.  So I was looking for character names for the two main characters (Amber and Brandon) and just started going through the alphabet.  A, Amber.  B, Brandon.  Simple enough.  Not the most exotic names, but I was happy with that because the more common a name is, the more relatable it should be.  Done.

Well, I published the post and got a comment on it from one of my friends.  Saying how it sounded familiar.  I didn’t understand at all.  How could this sound familiar to you?  Are you the next evolutionary step in humanity?

But then I realized that Part 1 didn’t yet reveal that information.  At that point, the story was just about a woman and her super-intelligent son.

And then I realized that my alphabetical names were very close to their actual names.  Too close.

It cracked me up, but also probably freaked out my friend that I was basing my story’s main character off of her.  Only I wasn’t.

Because she pointed it out, I have found myself struggling not to write as though it was based on her.  My tendency to write what I know, along with her recognition of a completely fictional character has caused me to draw a parallel in my mind between the two of them.  The details of their lives are different, but I think a lot of the personality in the more developed book may be similar.

It was like a self-fulfilling prophecy.  Try as I might to avoid it, I think there is some basis of my friend in that character.  No, she wasn’t at first, and it wasn’t even Freudian, it was alphabetical.  If it makes you feel any better, she is the lead character of the book.  I won’t say what happens to her though, because then why would anyone read it?

Tomorrow morning I will publish the last in the series for a while.  I will save the rest for my book, or when I need to drop a part or two in order to generate interest.  That is what I think you’re supposed to do anyway, I’ve never done this before.

As I write this book, I will not stop blogging, or even reading your posts.  I have a lot of time on my hands, with the exception of needing to get going on this move.

Please check out my stories so far.  They won’t be in the book as-is, but are a general outline of some of the events that will take place.

I will keep you apprised on The New Ones as I get closer to finishing it.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

8 thoughts on “The New Ones, and the Non-Freudian Slip”

  1. Congratulations, Josh! What exciting news.
    From what I’ve seen just in the blogosphere, it isn’t uncommon that people you know recognize themselves in your characters. Hopefully it isn’t too distracting for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, it is just something I need to keep an eye on. I don’t want to make anyone’s life public. I definitely do take characteristics of people I know and put them into characters though. I don’t know how else to do it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s understandable. I think life and experience informs all art including writing. I wonder…is it possible to write convincing characters without some personal experience with their traits?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. These things happen. Sometimes, if you write long enough, you’ll find yourself staring at the face of your own fears and pain. “Gee, these fictional people are a lot like _______,” is a real thing. I write through it and edit later.
    Inspiration isn’t always a ringing bell, sometimes it’s the whisper on the wind or a dream.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

