The Connection

All night long he sat awake typing messages to her picture.  He would find himself anticipating her replies, waiting like a hungry child for a cookie.  When the dots on the screen became messages, he couldn’t help but smile.  He found himself counting the hours before they could message again.  Occasionally, she would surprise him by sending him something silly while she was at work.  Little things that reminded her of him.  He would do the same.  Over the course of a week or so, he began to realize that the connection he felt to this picture on the screen was deeper than he thought.  He started to get nervous, a completely foreign feeling for him.

As weeks turned into months, they would continue messaging every single day.  This picture on the screen was becoming his motivating force.  He was becoming obsessed.  He knew that obsessions were unhealthy, so he attempted to distance himself; but just couldn’t ignore her messages.  He had to see her.  Since she lived right in his town, he decided to tell her they should meet.

Suddenly, her messages stopped.  He thought to himself that he must have scared her off.  He decided not to let it bother him and carry on with his life, but he missed the connection.

Another year or so had passed when he met Tiffany.  She was a beautiful, outgoing red-head who he loved spending time with.  She was a lot of fun, and the heat between them was intense.  He even jumped out of a plane for her.  Still, he craved the depth of the connection he had with the picture he used to message.  He didn’t want to feel like he was settling for less than he deserved, but he did enjoy Tiffany’s company and she loved spending time with him.  He could feel her desire to take things to a more serious level, and eventually he asked her to move in with him.

He took her to a fancy French bistro on the shoreline of his hometown.  She told him she loved him.  He told her, though he wasn’t quite sure.  They had a great dinner and went back to the apartment they now shared.  Tiffany fell asleep in his arms, but his mind was restless with the situation he now found himself in.  He knew Tiffany was great.  She had a good job, was intelligent, shared his values, was a lot of fun to be around, the sex was great, and she went out of her way to make him happy.  Still, the connection wasn’t quite there.  He didn’t feel he could open up to her the way he did when he had the connection with the picture.

As he looked around the room trying to find something else to focus on so he might be able to get some sleep, he noticed a flashing on his phone.  Facebook notification.  He slid away from Tiffany and checked his phone.

It was the connection.

“Hey.  I’m sorry I blew you off so long ago.  I just kind of got freaked out by how intense things were getting and decided I should step back.  When you wanted to meet in person, things got very real, very quick.”

His heart started pounding.  The same familiar feel had once again overtaken him.  He replied to the message with, “No problem, I understand.  It was pretty odd for me too.”

“The thing is though, I haven’t been able to get you off of my mind since.”

He couldn’t believe it.  It was the words he was waiting to hear.  But why now?  He replied, “I must admit, it has been pretty difficult for me too.  I don’t know what that means, or even if it should mean anything.”

“You must have a girlfriend.  I knew I was stupid not to meet you.”

“I wouldn’t say that.  If something should have happened, I’m sure it would have.  I’m a firm believer in destiny,” he sent.

“Not me.  I believe we shape our own future.  But you’re taken, I get it.  Still, maybe we can just be close friends.”

“Oh shit,” he thought to himself.  “What the hell should I do now?”

“????”

“Yeah, sounds good,” he replied hesitantly.

“I knew it!  You can’t get enough of me.  😉  Night.  <3”

Now he knew he had fucked up.  In his room was a woman who really cared about him and seemed to be a perfect fit.  And here he was hiding a deeper connection with someone else from her.  He was racked with guilt.  He decided then and there to sever the connection and focus exclusively on Tiffany.

Weeks went by of messages from the picture with no response.

“Why won’t you talk to me?”  “I thought you said we could be friends.”  “I didn’t mean to make you feel uncomfortable.”  “You’re an asshole, fine don’t talk to me.”  “I’m sorry for that, I just don’t understand why we can’t be friends.”  “I really care about you.  Is that what you wanted to hear?”  “Saw this today and thought of you.”  “Why are you ignoring me?”

After a few weeks of constant messages he had enough and deleted his Facebook.  That same day, he went to the jewelry store to buy Tiffany’s engagement ring.  He sent a text to Tiffany.  “Hey, I was thinking dinner tonight at the Tower Grille.  The view is spectacular.  Meet me there at 7?”

Tiffany’s reply was a picture message.  He dropped his phone when he opened it.  “YES” scrawled in blood on the wall above Tiffany’s lifeless body with the caption, “Tiffany says yes.  Now we’ll always have a connection.”

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

12 thoughts on “The Connection”

Comments appreciated

