Damn I’m Stupid

{Click in, cat pictures await!}

Hello dear reader(s)!

Anyone who has been reading my posts lately could probably see that I’ve been bouncing between scared out of my mind and Mr. Big Stuff (who do I think I am?).  And while I completely stand by my right to let people know what I’m feeling, thinking, or trying to get across; it also means that I should be free to not exercise that right sometimes.  I know not everyone is going to be happy with what I do all of the time, and that is fine.  If I’m having an easy go of it for a few days, I can come off as callous, if I’m having a rough go of things I come off as unstable or end up saying things that make people want to push away from me.  Things that could be hurtful.  Most everything I’ve done has been in response to something, but lately I’ve been on such an emotional rollercoaster that I have lost my ability to filter.  And that can cause your gas mileage to decline and harm your engine.

I believe the people in my life and I have reached an understanding.  I want to make it clear that whoever was searching for my personal information was obviously not in my life, because those people already have it.  So I don’t want anyone I know personally to think the last two posts were about them.  Not everything’s about you.  It’s all about me.

That said however, I think it is time to install a little filter on this here blog-type-thing.  Not out of fear, not out of being silenced, just out of tact.  I used to have it once, I swear.

I understand that not everything needs to be broadcast all over the interwebs tubes.  Not everyone needs to “blasted”.  With a little forethought, I know some of the bumps in the road I have experienced lately could have gone a lot smoother.  Here I am talking a few days ago about War Games, and missing the final lesson from the classic (and completely cheesy) movie.  Not every threat needs to be escalated, and sometimes the best way to win is to not play.  Duh!  How come I can apply that to world affairs and not my own life?

Actually, I know why.  I hate to play the grief card, but BOOM!  There it is, right on the table, the grief card.  It is amazing how it can sneak back up on you when you thought it was at the bottom of the deck.  I’ll stay.  Hit me.  Oh shit, the grief card!  Add into that other people’s grief cards, and that is one fucked up deck you are playing with.

I wonder if there is such a thing as temporary bi-polar disorder?  Because I’ve been everywhere, man.  I’ve been everywhere, man.

But I promise you, my dear reader(s), that this isn’t the end of your insight into the juicy (if reading blogs and taking short walks after being sick again is juicy to you) details of the life of this here author-type-thing, it simply means that I will be more carefully examining everything I write I from here on out to ensure that nobody I personally know takes offense to something.  Even if something is a conglomeration of people, I’ll probably leave it out because I don’t want those people to think it is trying to attack them.  It almost never is, but I do admit I have used these here social media platforms as retaliatory strike weapons once or twice.  Bad Josh.  Bad!  Go lie down!  Bad.  Oh who am I kidding, who’s a good boy?  You are!  Yes you are!  Purr, purr.

So with that being said, let me tell you a little bit about my day.  It all started this morning, when I woke up.  I was hungry, and got some food.  The sun was shining bright in the sky after two days of solid rain, and there were leaves on the ground from the obvious and sudden entry of Fall.  The birds were chirping, so I shot them, and went back to bed.  (Just kidding.)  I wrote my post about staying in the virtual world, and then I did some light reading.  Then I got an email from the local library informing me that my books were overdue, so I went to return them.

I asked how much the fine would be, bracing myself because I had 4 books out.  I can’t believe how expensive the fine was.  I’m so upset, I might have to send a sternly worded letter,  $1.00!

“What?!?!  For 4 overdue books you are lending to me for nothing on condition that I return them in 3 weeks?  4 books that would have cost me over $100.00 to buy?  You want to charge me a whole dollar?!?!  Cool!”  So  I paid the fine and went home.

Shortly thereafter my dad came over and we talked.  We both came to the conclusion that the Raiders just might have a winning season this year.  A very important and meaningful conversation.  We also agreed that the 49ers stadium is kind of tacky.  Go sports!

After that I took a walk to get some VD.  I mean Vitamin D.  Damned autocorrect!!  I didn’t get very far because my abs (yes, they are in there somewhere) were killing me from coughing the last few days, before the break for a few days before the week before that.  Today I only coughed once though, right after blowing my nose, so I’ll say that is good.

And most importantly, I have confirmed that I am, indeed relocating.  The only questions left are when, and how to make the move happen.  And what is the meaning of life?  And is there a Josh?  He is everywhere.  He is nowhere.  He is Joshua.  And he’s such a good boy!  Purr, purr.

Dobson wouldn't even let us get the vest on
Dobson wouldn’t even let us get the vest on
Piedmont extremely thrilled about her Christmas outfit
Piedmont extremely thrilled about her Christmas outfit
Piedmont and Dobson as kitties in our first place together.  Learning the ways of the Scottish fighters.
Piedmont and Dobson as kitties in our first place together. Learning the ways of the Scottish fighters.
What does this picture have to do with this post?
What does this picture have to do with this post?
Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

12 thoughts on “Damn I’m Stupid”

    1. Haha! That is what I was thinking when I thought the fine was going to be higher. “Oh well, at east I’m supporting the library.” But $1.00, I was like, wow, it probably costs more to charge it than it covers.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Getting there slowly. This isn’t for the change, so much as I just don’t really like it here and moved back mostly so Hannah could be closer to her friends and family. Just dislike the area, and I don’t think it is good for my health.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

