Accepting Death

Hello dear reader(s)!

I’m afraid I have bad news for you.  You’re going to die.  Your family members are going to die.  Your friends, enemies, and acquaintances are all going to die.  It’s time you should stop living in fear of the inevitable and start trying to make a positive impact in whatever time you still have.

I am not saying you can’t be afraid to die.  I’m afraid to die.  Today, I have a doctor’s appointment.  During that appointment I am hoping for improvement in some of my numbers based on the way I’ve been feeling until the smoke started suffocating me.  However, I also need to have something on my foot checked out that hopefully is not a cancerous growth of any kind.  After all of my treatment, I am at four times the risk of the average person to get some secondary cancer.  So, naturally, I’m a little concerned.  I think it is nothing, but for me, it is very important to have it looked at.

However, just because I fear death does not mean I live in fear of that death.  Going to the doctor to make sure all is okay is a simple measure that does not really interfere with my happiness or well-being, with the exception of a little pre-exam anxiety.  Simple preventative safety measure are not living in fear.  If you live in fear, you can not live in happiness.

So when you have to arrive at the airport two hours early, and take off your shoes (unless you’re under 12 or over 70, which is stupid because the big bad Saddam Hussein was 69, as was Qadhafi), and stand in the nudie machine on the off-chance that you might try to pull another shoe bombing attempt, you wonder if we’re not living a little too much in fear.  An attempt that failed.  An attempt that was likely abandoned by the terrorists due to the failure.  By the way, whatever happened to Al Qaeda?  Remember when the media was parroting the government propaganda that they would not just cease to exist if their leaders were taken out due to their structure?  Then we get Bin Laden and suddenly we only have ISIS.  Oh sure, I have heard there are drone strikes on Al Qaeda in Yemen, but what about the rest of the world?  Did they just leave?  Or is ISIS the Hitler du-jour?  Gotta have something to keep the military-industrial complex running.  And I’m not saying ISIS isn’t bad, I’m just saying the threat we created is seriously over-estimated.

Do you know, statistically speaking, you have a greater chance of being killed by a policeman than you do a terrorist?

You have a far greater chance of dying in a car wreck than either of those.  You might have a stroke or heart attack with no prior warning signs.  You could be walking down the street and have an air conditioner fall from a window above and crush you.  You might die of heat exhaustion or dehydration.  And of course, there is always cancer.  No amount of anti-oxidants, clean living, and exercise will guarantee a cancer-free existence.  You will die.  Does it really matter how?

I submit that it does not.  What matters is not how you die, but how you live.

Right now, certain candidates for the Presidency, or their mouthpieces, are telling people that among the paltry 10,000 Syrian refugees we are going to take in, there may be some people in ISIS hiding among them.

So?

In just the small county I live in right now, there are 656 registered sex offenders.  Registered.  This is not talking about the ones that just haven’t been caught.

A person’s ethnicity or religion (unless they are a fundamentalist of any religion) do not have much of an effect on whether or not they are a bad person.  According to the Department of Justice, if you are considered white and are murdered, there is an 84% chance that the person who killed you was also white.  These 10,000 people out of 318 million do not pose a threat to national security.  A small percentage may pose a threat to a relatively small number of people.  That is true.  A small percentage of any group may.  And maybe, because of the fundamentalism prevalent in the areas they are fleeing from, the percentage might be slightly higher.  Still, that is next to nothing.  The chances you or anyone you know will be hurt by any of these people is fundamentally unchanged.

So what should we do?  Quit holding ourselves up to be the beacon of freedom we never really have been but always wanted to advertise up until now?  Embrace the fascist hatred for other ethnic groups based on extremists within those groups, while ignoring the extremists right here at home?  Close the door to the melting pot that made this country great?  Live in fear to justify the hatred of those who would use you?  Live in hatred of those who would use it to justify their retention of power and corruption?

Or maybe, just maybe, we should live by example.  We should show the world that there really is nothing to fear but fear itself.  We’re all going to die.  Do you want to do it in your bunkers, making love to the barrel of your AR-15, or do you want to live your life and accept whatever death you will receive?

The Muslims don’t want us in their land.  They don’t like our blind support of a fascist Israel.  They don’t want our bases in the middle east.  It is a fundamental tenet of their religion.  We are infidels there.

Now, Israel has a right to defend itself.  The Muslims have a right to defend their homes and rights.  I don’t like the tactics either side employs, but I don’t live there either.  What I do know, is that I can speak out about our interference based on nothing but oil.  I can speak out about the lack of geopolitical strategic importance to the region if we continue to develop alternative energy.

Let the Muslim people there and the Israelis sort it out.  We are not Team America, World Police.  We know governments do fucked up things to their citizens, it happens here too.  So let’s focus on not doing fucked up things here, and being ready to repel an actual attack.

Guess what?  You might get killed.  You might get raped.  You might get bombed.  Do you want to project hate based on that?  Do you want to turn into a fascist state?  Do you want to live in fear?  How about we get our police off the backs of non-violent drug offenders so they can actually investigate and stop that to the best of their ability?  Quit living in fear of something that most likely will not happen to you.  Put down the rifle, get out of your bunker, live your life.  And if you really want to improve your chances of it lasting longer, don’t have fast food very often.

***The below video is definitely NSFW, I do not own the rights to that, and isn’t my work.  It is from Team America World Police.***

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

4 thoughts on “Accepting Death”

  1. I love it when someone pushes the envelope and says the truth as they see it. This made me laugh and nod in agreement. I don’t agree with everything, but I think it is because I’m not sure what the facts are. Re-reading this makes it sound like I’ve said absolutely nothing. But I agree 100% about the absurd things being said about the Syrians. And I totally agree that we aren’t the World Police. But the Israeli/Muslim issues and disagreements are thousands of years old. I can’t begin to understand them. So I’m not going to comment on that part. Great post. It’s how we live and not how we die. I am SO glad I read it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “We’re all going to die. Do you want to do it in your bunkers, making love to the barrel of your AR-15, or do you want to live your life and accept whatever death you will receive?”

    Love this line (as well as the rest of the post).

    Liked by 2 people

Comments appreciated

