Blog-Type-Thing Seeking Blogs For NSA Relationship. Must Be 80% OC!

Hello dear reader(s)!

Does anyone know where I can find hot, exciting blogs in my area just waiting to connect with me?

I have to say, I am rather disappointed in my blog-type-thinging experience recently.  It seems many of my old blog relationships have grown stale.  Perhaps the former bloggers moved on to bigger and better things in their lives, perhaps they are going through personal struggles that require a hiatus, or perhaps they just ran out of ideas.  Either way, it just isn’t working out anymore.  It’s not me, it’s them.

Of course, some of the people I follow still manage to squeeze out original content, but so many have been doing nothing but sharing work on other people’s blogs that I frankly wonder why I continue following.  We had something good once, and they’ve thrown it all away.

And I know, a good way to build readership and make connections in the wonderful world of WordPress is to click that “Reblog” button.  And from time to time, I will do that too.  Sometimes something is so good, you just have to share it.  But every day?

You used to write!  You used to post!  Now you just sift through the Reader and hit a button if something grabs your attention.  You also didn’t even notice I did my hair!  And the worst part?  I probably already follow those people you reblogged.  Which means I am subjected to the same post about a hundred and fifty times published by various different people in the space of an hour or two.

So, I have to ask, “Why then, do you still have a blog?  Did you ever really want to write, or were you just stringing me along as another notch on your follower count?”

We all need to take time away from writing from time to time.  Especially if we have things going on in our lives. it can be a little too consuming.  I get that.  And if during that period you reblog someone’s post every couple of days to let people know you are still there, rather than doing like I do and just dropping off the face of the Earth to have to rebuild any kind of audience; then more power to you.

But I did not follow your blog to be subjected to 30 reblogs a day and 0 original content.

It has gotten to the point where if I see “Originally posted on” in anyone’s post I scroll right past.  What really sucks is when there are words before that so it doesn’t show in the Reader and you waste a click in to something you will just end up reading when you get down to that person’s page anyway.  Clicks are precious, people!  They should not be wasted.  They are like trees!  …Only without the leaves, roots, trunks, bark, limbs…okay fine, they are nothing like trees!

As you may or may not be able to tell, I am making a little bit of fun at myself for the vitriol I feel about something so inconsequential.  However, that does not mean that I do not believe in the point I am trying to make.  Are you a blog, or a news service?

Today, it got so bad, I had to go to the library to find something new to read.  The library!  Do you know what kind of people hang out in the library?

Just kidding, it wasn’t bad at all, and I got a few good, real, books which I genuinely prefer to digital copies anyway.

Nevertheless, you made me get up and go somewhere.  All because you once were a blog, and now you are your own version of the WordPress Reader that everyone who uses WordPress already has!

So, let’s go ahead and consider this my blog-type-thing’s personal ad for finding other good blogs.

I will list my criteria first.

  • Must be at least 80% original content.
  • Must not be supporting the neoconservative or right-wing mentality.
  • Must not be discriminatory.
  • Must not think anyone who has anything bad happen to them somehow deserved it or didn’t take “personal responsibility”.
  • Must not be so niche that nobody can relate unless they too are in that niche.
  • Must not be a purely celebrity blog.
  • Must play well with others.
  • Must not attempt to convert this blog-type-thing to your religion or lack thereof.

Now I will list some of what my blog-type-thing has to offer.

  • So um, I’m like so totally random!  No, really, I am.  I might post an attempt at humor one day, a political post the next, a poem another, a short story another, or maybe all of the above on the same day if I’m feeling particularly prolific.
  • I try to write things that not everyone writes about or would even dare to write about.  Like criticizing one’s own country.
  • I can occasionally offer up inspirational advice based on real life experience.
  • I like long walks on the beach, am a good bar trivia player, love to travel, and am quite adept at posting to as many as ten people!

So come on, forget your blogging inhibitions.  Write some posts.  If you see mine, stop by and say hello.  I won’t bite…you.  I can’t, I’m a blog-type-thing.  If anyone knows of any blogs who still post their own stuff that I am not currently already following, please feel free to let me know in the comments.  Promote your friends.  I am sick of having to rely on libraries or bookstores to get some reading in.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

42 thoughts on “Blog-Type-Thing Seeking Blogs For NSA Relationship. Must Be 80% OC!”

  1. I’m guilty of reblogging lol. I think it’s good to help fellow bloggers especially if the content is good. I also like to reblog posts about blog parties. I still write my own posts a few times a week. There were a couple of blogs I followed where every single post was from a news source. They didn’t write one single original post. I quit following them after a while. What I also don’t like is when blogs become too preachy. This annoys me a lot. I had to quit following a blog because of that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why do you follow me then. I can get awfully preachy. And reblogs sometimes, of worthy content is fine. It is just when there is nothing original left that it makes me question why people are even in it.

      Like

      1. Because I like the content and comments/discussions here. This other blog would tell you not to eat certain foods, don’t do this or that because it’s wrong blah blah blah, on and on.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yo, Josh! Have you checked out any of my active commenters/likers? I really like ’em. Most of ’em. I had a really annoying troll of the, um, annoying kind, for a while, but hey, I’m more annoying than most people, so she dried up. The FORRESTER blog is really cool. It’s by this, well, Forrester, who is also a spectacular artist. Robert Goldstein is one of the best writers I effing know. Reminiscent of Kerouac, but since he’s got Dissociative Identity Disorder, he writes in a number of voices. His art is also amazing. I am of course biased, but I think my coterie of nutters is a delightful romp, and beautiful souls…yourself included!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know you are not a stepmother, nor do I believe you plan on taking on the role of wicked stepmother as I have, BUT, and hear me out…most of my focus this month is on my alternate blog. And despite its name my posts are more about my personal hopes, dreams, thoughts, and lessons for Chapter 30 of my life, and not so much about parenting. Feel free to check it out: https://stepparentsanctuary.wordpress.com

    Also funniest blog I have discovered today: https://myleastfavoritechildtoday.wordpress.com

    Like

  4. Okay now hear me out, I know you are not a stepmom, and I hate to assume, but well I’m assuming you don’t plan on being a wicked stepmother anyway soon, so I can see how my request may sound a bit unappealing, BUT, and hear me out, you should really check out my other blog. 98% OC about family, love, life, dreams, ideas, beliefs, and everything. For this month I’m focusing on it 100%, a new post each day for my countdown to the big 3-0. https://stepparentsanctuary.wordpress.com

    Also my absolute favorite and funniest find of the day: https://myleastfavoritechildtoday.wordpress.com

    AAAaaaannnddd, when I’m having difficulty finding something to read I generally type liebster in the tag search in the reader, this will pop up fresh, readable, and new to me content everyday! 🙂

    Like

  5. I get that. I really do. I unfollow people if they reblog too much. Furthermore, I’d be more pleased if my email subscriptions only included original content. I seldom reblog. I’m more apt to link.
    Take heart, I think I’ll be writing something weird later today. Hope you’ll stop by 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Now, I did reblog myself (sort of) today but I get what you mean. The constant reblogs and the “online book parties” get kind of old. At least pace them out if you want the word to be out there but I agree that the reblogger/sharer themselves needs to remember their personal audience too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m still here 😉
    I haven’t been commenting much because some things have gotten in the way, but I try to keep up with the blogs I have genuine communication with. Not because I want to “keep my audience” but simply because I look forward to it.

    I try to keep my content original and from the heart, while re-blogging occasionally. Anyway, I agree with you, and your previous post “Refugee Status” really hit a nerve. I hate to admit that my country has a horrible policy towards refugees…like basically reject just about everyone. But I’ll stop here before the ranting begins 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh no… I totally get it! I don’t want to see a bunch of reblogs either. Most of the ones I follow do not reblog very often. If they do, it is for a favor or to give someone a plug for something. One of the guys I LOVE and I think you would too is The Hook! He is a Bellman in Niagara Falls at a prestigious hotel and his stories are AWESOME!! 99% original stuff! Chick him out!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Josh. I seldom reblog. But I also get very frustrated since I may be the only one who reads my blog. LOL. I have “hot” periods when I write about a lot of issues and cold spells where nothing floats my boat.
    My writing tends to be more of an outlet for my own political and social views. Tends toward humor and sarcasm. Both of which are effective only in the eyes of the beholder.
    So, I will keep blogging just to entertain myself. I consider it a public service. Is that narcissism?

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

