A Good Thing

Maybe you figured
That I would come clean
Using my actions
By what you had seen

Maybe you knew
I’d try to advance
And that may be why
You blocked any chance

Maybe you sensed
The level progressing
Or maybe I suck
But I’m only guessing

I don’t know but it must not have been right
Maybe complications were too much to fight
I don’t know but that just wasn’t right
Maybe it’s a good thing I can’t have you tonight

Maybe you thought
I never say you drive by
Maybe that cliché
Really wasn’t a lie

Maybe it was that
And had nothing to do
With what could have been
Between me and you

Or Maybe you just
Didn’t like me at all
And used an excuse
To help ease the fall

I don’t know but it must not have been right
Maybe complications were too much to fight
I don’t know but that just wasn’t right
Maybe it’s a good thing I can’t have you tonight

Maybe it’s good I never could show you
Maybe it’s good I never could show you
Maybe it’s good I never could show you
Or maybe you thought I already had

I don’t know but it must not have been right
Maybe complications were too much to fight
I don’t know but that just wasn’t right
Maybe it’s a good thing I can’t have you tonight

© Joshua Wrenn, 2015

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

Comments appreciated

