Alaska Pics, Part Dos

Hello dear reader(s)!

Today, on my last day in Anchorage, I am enjoying the room I paid for, and only the immediate area.  No big sightseeing for me today.  I walked to a nearby place for coffee and a scone, now I’m chilling in bed and intend to do that until this evening when I meet my friend, come back, and then head to the airport for my red-eye flight.

This means I get to relax and catch up on reading, as well as posting more pics of my trip.

It also means I’m leaving soon and I don’t want to!  (Begin temper tantrum now.)

So here we go…Part dos of el photos de Alaska.  (Probably not an accurate translation.)

The Love memorial.  It is dedicated to an iron worker named Ken who lost his life on the job.  Made me tear up.
The Love memorial. It is dedicated to an iron worker named Ken who lost his life on the job. Made me tear up.
Chewed up shoe from some idiot who survived a polar bear attack at the zoo after jumping 2 railings to get a better picture.
Chewed up shoe from some idiot who survived a polar bear attack at the zoo after jumping 2 railings to get a better picture.
Porcupine at the zoo, munching on a Ritz.
Porcupine at the zoo, munching on a Ritz.
Fox taking shelter from the rain.
Fox taking shelter from the rain.
Black bear.  Cute and cuddly, honest.
Black bear. Cute and cuddly, honest.
Moose!  Thankfully the only one I saw.
Moose! Thankfully the only one I saw.
Bald eagle.  I shall name him Colbert.
Bald eagle. I shall name him Colbert.
Musk ox.  He was charging against what looked to be a car-wash scrubber.
Musk ox. He was charging against what looked to be a car-wash scrubber.
Never more?  Like never, never?
Never more? Like never, never?
What are you looking at?
What are you looking at?
I'm tired too!
I’m tired too!
Convicted of Harboring a Seal.
Convicted of Harboring a Seal.
Now this guy was not at the zoo.  Kidding.
Now this guy was not at the zoo. Kidding.
Dos this picture make my butt look big?
Dos this picture make my butt look big?
Grey wolves.
Grey wolves.

Notice these are mostly zoo pics.  Anchorage is a city.  A diverse, urban area surrounded by wilderness.  Yes, moose and bears do come into the city from time to time.  Well, moose are around quite a bit.  Watch out for them though, and it isn’t dangerous.  Anchorage is not like some episode of Northern Exposure (establishing shots done in Washington, btw).  It is a fully functional, cool city.  My next post will feature some pictures of more of the city side of things.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

2 thoughts on “Alaska Pics, Part Dos”

Comments appreciated

