Two Iced Coffees Later…

Hello dear reader(s)!

If you are a regular follower of this blog-type-thing (you masochist, you), you may have noticed that I did not have the opportunity to write another fine piece of drivel for your enlightenment, entertainment, and enjoyment.

You see, about a day and a half ago, some people did some things that really hurt me.  As I brushed that off later that night, even more was done by someone even closer the next morning.  So I was in a little funk, and also scrambling to figure out what I would do about the things that were done out of my control.

I went to bed at about midnight last night, but didn’t fall asleep until about 3:30.  But what a short sleep it was.  During that night, I somehow realized that I could not stress about the things that are out of my control.  I tried my best on these things, and was let down by others.  I can not and will not hold myself responsible for their actions.  If things do not come off the way I planned or worked for, it is not on me.  And if anyone has a problem accepting that, they can go their own way.  I realized last night at some point during my sleep that today was a new day and I would do my best throughout it.  If others don’t, I will attempt to minimize the effect that has on my attitude.

So I woke up, roughly an hour ago (after waking up first at 7 to feed the cats) and smiled because it was a new day and I feel free.  Free of the worry about what others will think of me, especially for things beyond my control.  Whether they realize that is what happened or not doesn’t even matter to me at this point.

I decided to make myself some coffee, and it turned into 2 iced white mochas.   Iced, so I can slam them faster.  Then I opened my computer to post, before moving on to clean the house to some degree, and exercise.  I saw I had a few new emails, and read some of the greatest and most supportive messages from all kinds of people.  Some are very close friends, others family, and some are people I only know of from here.  People I have interacted with on the comments sections of their blogs and my own, reaching out to me with generosity and love that I couldn’t have imagined.

After that, I got a message from a very dear friend on my Facebook, who was taking the time away from her own day and all the things that go with it, just to check in with me.  Then I got a text from my mom.

These are not messages wanting to talk to me about what happened.  They are not messages about logistics or sympathy.  These were messages of love and support.

And I feel it.  I feel the love.  My heart if full today simply because of the kindness of others.  I have only about 8 hours before my family starts getting back into town again.  I will have a lot to do today, if I feel like getting everything ready.  I still have to exercise and walk to the store for cold beverages, and I should probably clean this house a little so that my family is not visiting into a vast pile of filth.  Despite having to do those things, which are not particularly thrilling or fun for me; I am excited.  I am excited about this day and what it will bring.  I am excited about the people who I have connected with in one way or another, because I know I am being lifted up by some great people.

So thank you all very much for making me remember that even when things aren’t great, they can still be really good if good people are involved.

Today is a new day, we are all here.  Let’s go out and make it the best day possible; and try everything we can to let the nasty things out of our control roll off our shoulders.

Drink a couple of iced coffees if you need help with that.  Besides the jittery hands, they are working for me!

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

13 thoughts on “Two Iced Coffees Later…”

  1. I am sorry that people close to you have wounded you. I am glad though, that you are focusing on those who are coming to town and have shown that they love you without conditions. Love coming to you from Sydney.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hello Josh,
    I know you don’t like to make a ‘big fuss’ over anything.
    But just want to say I am so happy to read this most recent update.
    I too am sorry that you’ve had to deal with some stupid/insensitive people.
    But much respect to you for focusing on the positive, and for reminding others to do the same.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am sorry that you are not getting the support from those closest to you Josh but as you said, forget it and focus on you and what you want to do in your life. You have got loads of friends here in the blogging community that are here for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a good read. Yes, the only control have is in how we handle something: how we interpret it, think about it, and respond to it. Glad to hear you’ve chosen a higher vibration – it’s the best thing we can ever do!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I saw your horsey nose logo when I was over visiting Anxious Mom’s Blog and I thought Wow, I haven’t seen Josh come up on the reader in so long, I should pop over and visit. And then I discover all you have been through, but then I see your most amazing attitude and outlook and again I say Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

