179 Days Until Christmas!

Hello dear reader(s)!

What is your favorite holiday?  Is it Independence Day?  Halloween?  Rosh Hashanah?  Wesak?  Eid-al-Adha?  Diwali?  Christmas?

Well, mine is Halloween but that isn’t the point of the this post.

My second favorite is what Christians often refer to as Christmas and so do I because when I was growing up that is what it was called.  We’ve been celebrating Christmas as long as I have been alive and I can tell you right now that Christ was never the focus.  I guess that is what happens when one tries to incorporate two pagan holidays into one giant birthday party in the wrong month for a zombie.

“So Josh, why call it Christmas and not one of the two pagan holidays it incorporates?” 

Because I just don’t care.  I don’t care where the traditions come from.  I don’t care the religious significance it has to religious people.  I don’t care if someone wants to call it December Cheese Fest or Creepy Guy Breaking Into Houses And Exchanging Cookies For Toys For Children Day.  I.  Don’t.  Care.  I call it Christmas, because that is what it is in this area whether or not I subscribe to the beliefs that started the name.  Come up to me and say Merry Christmas to me.  Guess what I will say in return?  Merry Christmas!!!

There is no war on Christmas, no war on Christianity.  If I have friends (and I do) who aren’t Christian or have their own meaningful holidays around the same time, I may send a Happy Holidays card rather than a Merry Christmas card, but that isn’t to be PC.  It isn’t to offend Christians or attempt to not offend non-Christians.  It is to INCLUDE everyone in the joy of the time of year and having a pretty major holiday season that could be really awesome if people weren’t fighting each other for cheap electronics to give.

Quick story before the fun:  I was getting clothes around Christmastime and after the sale said something to the cashier.  I didn’t know she was Jewish.  I said, “Merry Christmas!”

She said, “Thank you, but I’m Jewish.”  (note the “Thank you, but…”)

So I asked, “Oh cool, is it Hanukkah?”

She replied, “No, it ended yesterday.”

I said, “Well I hope you enjoyed it, and happy belated Hanukkah!”

She smiled and said, “Thank you.”  Then she asked me, “Did you know that Hanukkah isn’t even our most important holiday?”

I said, “I had heard something like that, but now I know for sure.”  Then we exchanged smiles and I walked away with my purchases.

DOES THAT SOUND LIKE A WAR TO YOU?  I call it a nice conservation.

So, here are some photographs that explain my idea of Christmas.  To me, the holiday is about family, friends, joy, happiness, treating people as you would have them treat you (wait, that’s everyday), lights, decorations, and fun.  I don’t mind giving gifts when I can, but it has never been about that, even if they were there.

Stockings from left to right.  Josh, Hannah, Dobson, Piedmont at the first official place we got together.
Stockings from left to right. Josh, Hannah, Dobson, & Piedmont at the first official place we got together
Piedmont and Dobson on the Christmas Chairs.
Piedmont and Dobson on the Christmas Chairs

We had these red and white chairs at the condo that we hated the colors of, until Christmas time.

Our first Christmas tree together at the same place as the stockings.
Our first Christmas tree together at the same place as the stockings

I can’t find the pictures of the rest of the condo but we had garland strung over the tops of the windows, lights in the window facing the street, and we gift wrapped our pictures on the walls to look like hanging presents.  We do that every year.

The tiny house we moved into next with our Christmas lights candy-cane style around the red polls.
The tiny house we moved into next with our Christmas lights candy-cane style around the red polls
Monster tree prior to decorations at the tiny house.
Monster tree prior to decorations at the tiny house

This was taken right after we squeezed it into the door and got it set up.  It took a half-hour to get in, and I wasn’t sure we would get it.

Hannah and I by the tree before the Santa Crawl.
Hannah and I by the tree before the Santa Crawl
Hannah next to decorated tree with more decorations up, just before Santa Crawl.
Hannah next to decorated tree with more decorations up, just before Santa Crawl
Decorated tree stands alone.
Decorated tree stands alone
First bar of the Santa Crawl
First bar of the Santa Crawl
Downtown at the Santa Crawl
Downtown at the Santa Crawl
Under the arch at the Santa Crawl
Under the arch at the Santa Crawl
Hannah in front of Christmas decorations at South Lake Union, Seattle
Hannah in front of Christmas decorations at South Lake Union, Seattle
Christmas ships from Carkeek, Seattle
Christmas ships from Carkeek, Seattle
The one tree my mom let us have at her condo in Seattle.  The next year she was not into it.
The one tree my mom let us have at her condo in Seattle. The next year she was not into it.
Christmas lights
Christmas lights
Hannah modeling at the holiday store
Hannah modeling at the holiday store
Piedmont extremely thrilled about her Christmas outfit
Piedmont extremely thrilled about her Christmas outfit
Dobson wouldn't even let us get the vest on
Dobson wouldn’t even let us get the vest on.
More lights
More lights
Me holding Piedmont in the stocking
Me holding Piedmont in the stocking
Hannah holding Dobson in the stocking
Hannah holding Dobson in the stocking
Hannah and I in front of a lit up house
Hannah and I in front of a lit up house
Wild Lights at Woodland Park Zoo
Wild Lights at Woodland Park Zoo
Wild Lights
Wild Lights
Wild Lights mountain display
Wild Lights mountain display
Hannah and I at Wild Lights
Hannah and I at Wild Lights
More lights
More lights
Me on the carousel at Wild Lights, Hannah was on a horse in front, taking the pic.
Me on the carousel at Wild Lights, Hannah was on a horse in front, taking the pic.

There are hundreds of pictures from the Christmases we have spent together, but I think this gives you an idea of how we do it.  We love the lights, the decorations, the trees, and the fun.  I’d show you pictures from our Christmas party in the condo, but I do not want to self-incriminate.  I’m not sure any laws were broken, but I’m not really sure of anything from that night.

I guess what I am trying to say is, if you attach a religious significance to a day or time of year, then good for you.  I hope you are happy or peaceful in doing so.  But don’t get offended if someone else does not.  Don’t get offended if someone incorporates your religion’s incorporation of different celebrations to celebrate differently.

If someone says Merry Christmas to you, and you do not celebrate it, understand that the person saying it to you may just be trying to spread the joy they feel at that time of the year to you.  Likewise, if someone says Happy Holidays, do not get offended if you are a Christian.  Holidays is basically the English language’s tendency of turning 1 word into 2, in action.  Holy days.  People are telling you to have happy holy days.  Is Christmas not a holy day for a Christian?  And if you’re agnostic or atheist and someone says either to you?  Don’t sweat it.  Who cares?  It is a national holiday.  It is Christmas around here, whether you believe in the reasoning behind it or not.  Thank the person, wish it back, and go on with your life and beliefs.

Let’s put the humanity back in any celebration.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

14 thoughts on “179 Days Until Christmas!”

  1. You”re usually not big on posting many pics. Nice change, I enjoyed it! And well written post too. I agree, we should be enjoying “nice conversations” and appreciating other’s cultures/beliefs. It doesn’t have to be a “war”. Well said. Also, helps to think about Christmas time when we are sweltering in unusual heat!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, today is nice because we have some clouds but yesterday was impossible and just another bloggers use of the word MERRY triggered dreams of Christmas. I can’t wait to decorate the house we now live in, we have so many ideas!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no please don’t remind me! It gets very busy and hectic over here! Plus, my son’s birthday is in December. I get his birthday and Christmas all together! My fiancé is Jewish so there’s that as well lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well you still have 179 days to start planning!! So if you begin now, that time of year may not be so completely insane. It is insane for us, but only in a fun way. No pressure. Might be harder with kids, but I think I would buy presents now (or whenever I had extra money) so I am not at malls or Wal-Marts or whatever at the holidays.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good idea! I’m the worst procrastinator I know. Lol. I’m the one who’s still shopping on December 24th. My family also makes tamales around the 22nd or 23rd. My son’s party happens around the same time.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Christmas tamales are great tamales!! I suggest online ordering and hiding boxes every time you have a little to spare. Be it decorations, gifts, anything but perishable food.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Again, great ideas! Me, my grandma and mom make them every year. My sister helps too if she’s in town. They are so much work but it’s definitely worth it. We used to make 50-60 pounds but we’re making 20-30 lbs now.

        Liked by 2 people

Comments appreciated

