You Are More

Hello dear reader(s)!

This should be a quick post because it is a fairly straight-forward concept that I don’t think requires a whole lot of back-up and explanation.  That said, however, I will likely over-explain just to make it so completely obvious that it can never be forgotten.  Also, this isn’t Twitter, and therefore micro-blogging on Word Press is a tad unnecessary.

But you ARE more!

What are you more than?

  • You are more than your job.  I know your job is important to you.  I know providing for yourself and/or your family is important to you.  I know that many of you worked and/or studied very hard to acquire the job that you do.  I know that many of you are very good at your job.  But do you know who else is good at their job?  A lot of really stupid people.  For example:  Ben Carson.  Ben Carson is a successful and talented neurosurgeon.  You have to be pretty smart to be a good neurosurgeon…in that area.  Ben Carson, is extremely stupid in almost all other areas.  Ben Carson rails against the programs that allowed him to get to where he is.  How stupid do you have to be to believe that all your success is your own when you couldn’t have survived without food stamps, when your first eyeglasses were bought from a program when his grades were failing because he couldn’t see?  He goes on to say how his mother worked hard and by 9th grade they were off all assistance but food stamps.  Still getting those food stamps in 9th grade.  But somehow, he believes that every other recipient of assistance is feeling entitled to it, and only his mother deserved it because she was ashamed.  (I can tell you…almost anyone receiving assistance is ashamed of it and wants to get off of it.)  As if his hypocrisy wasn’t enough to make him seem like an idiot…he directly contradicts himself in his own book.  Here are two quotes from the guy who could have done it all himself…except where he says he couldn’t have.  “Did food stamps allow me to achieve my dream?” He laughed. “Of course not.”  (In another section.)  “As I’ve said, we received food stamps and couldn’t have made it without them.”  So many people who reach some sort of success off the backs of other people seem to forget how they got there, and that is stupidity.  It is also proof that the job does not make the man.
  • You are more than your relationship status.  I am a happily married man.  I love my wife.  We get along pretty great.  I always speak about her and my love for her, and I don’t see that changing.  However, I was a person before I met her, and if something ever happened to where we were no longer together (I hope with every fiber of my being that does not occur.), then I would be a person after.  I have my own interests, she has hers.  She is her own person, and I am mine.  Sometimes our interests intersect, sometimes they do not.  I wouldn’t want it any other way.  If I wanted to be with someone just like me, I’d save the heartache and frustration that can come with even the best relationships, and I would install more mirrors.
  • You are more than your parental status.  I have no children.  I am not certain that I want children most of the time, but sometimes I think it would be nice.  Most of the time I think that whole thing worked out for the best.  I know parenting requires a lot of sacrifice, and I know that your primary job when being a parent should be to take care of your children…however, I have met way too many people who have given up their identity the moment they have children.  I’m not one of these guys who never wants to hear about the cute things or stupid things or (especially) funny things your kid does/did, but I would like to hear something about the friend that I made before the kid entered the picture from time to time.  You were a person before the children were born, and you’ll be a person after they are on their own.

So much for a short post, huh?

The point of all this semi-coherent babbling is that not only are there many different aspects that go into making you, but you are more than the sum of those parts of you.  You are your thoughts, your hopes, your dreams, your goals.  You are your fun side, your light side, your dark side.  You are your toughness and your weakness.  You are your skills, knowledge, intelligence, emotions, and abilities.

That homeless guy on the ground is not just an alcoholic, mentally ill bum…that is Steve.  And Steve is a very caring man who saw some shit that he can’t un-see in a place he believed he needed to be sent to in order to fight a threat he was convinced was worse than the factions who also wanted that threat removed.  He wanted to be a hero and instead had to mow down a kid who didn’t know to stop at the right point in a tense situation.  Only to come home and over the years have the information leak out that it was all for nothing, or even made things worse.  Now he does not have the tools to put the broken pieces of his mind back together and turns to a bottle for temporary relief from the brutal memories and betrayal he deals with every time he closes his eyes.  He isn’t just a homeless alcoholic, he is more.

It is easy to look on the surface when judging a person.  We are encouraged to do it by the media.  It is a left-over instinct to protect us from danger.  Threat?  No?  Okay.

But most people are not a threat, and the ones that are know how to be charming and put you at ease (Ted Bundy, for example.)  Relying on that instinct instead of looking deeper to the person within no longer serves us.  This isn’t the stone age.

Everyone has more to them than anyone will ever know.  Maybe we’d get along better, and feel better about ourselves if we looked for those things that don’t immediately show up.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

7 thoughts on “You Are More”

  1. Thank you for this Josh. This hits me personally because since I had to go on disability three years ago I’ve been struggling with my identity. For 26 years I labeled myself “successful children’s librarian” and once that was gone, well, let’s just say I’ve been floundering. I think blogging has helped me keep my sanity and your blog is an example of why. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Comments appreciated

