Missing Seattle

Hello dear reader(s)!

Today when I woke up (and perhaps it was because I am dry and itchy and full of allergies on what will be a 90-something degree day), I found myself missing Seattle.

How could I not?
How could I not?

I miss the blue water, the green trees and grass everywhere.  I miss the people and their belief that knowledge is something to strive for rather than to make fun of.  I miss the flowers blooming everywhere and the trees that are of a more diverse range than the stupid cottonwoods.  I miss my mom and my brother.  I miss breathtakingly beautiful scenery right outside the front window.  It sucks, but as much as I love being in my old house, and having my dad and close friends nearby; I do very much miss Seattle.

Well, not so much Seattle, as I miss the Pacific Northwest.  My skin is too dry here, my allergies are too bad, it is too hot, and it is too sunny.

And the right-wing bend to people here really gets on my nerves.  It is bizarre, because my local Facebook friends all post things on their timelines about LGBT rights (a good thing) and racial equality (also a good thing) but then a few posts down talk about Obama being a tyrant from Kenya and a Muslim who wants the government involved in every aspect of your life and is coming for your guns.  (A very untrue, not good thing.)  I don’t understand how they can honestly believe the first few issues are important and then vote for the people who want to take away the rights of the people who they claim to be fighting for by reposting memes from George Takai.  The people I went to high school with (and not all of them) seem to be doing their very best to live in a bubble and get very upset when their version of reality is challenged.  They are the ones who claim to not want to talk about politics, but only when you try to debate beyond the surface of the memes they repost.  I find I have less in common with people here than I ever believed possible.  Again, not everyone, but a lot.

Some people think that this area is the greatest place on Earth, but I find those are the people who haven’t been to many other good places.  They’ll say, “Oh we go to San Francisco all the time!”

And trying to explain that there is more diversity in the country than this area and San Francisco and many qualities from each place can end up in other places just goes in one ear and out the other.  I wouldn’t want to live in San Francisco either.  Too hilly, parking sucks, and it is ridiculously overpriced.  Plus, people per square foot is too high there for me.  But that is like saying your choices are only between Manhattan, and Tombstone, AZ.  It just doesn’t make sense.

The sound, 10 minute drive, 30 minute walk from where we lived.
The sound, 10 minute drive, 30 minute walk from where we lived.

You can’t just get up and go to the water here.  You have to plan it, and it takes a while and is usually over some pretty lousy roads.  First thing in the morning sometimes, when traffic was light, we would get a coffee and go to Carkeek and listen to the waves and watch the bald eagles fly overhead.  Sometimes it would be raining and we would just sit there.

Snoqualmie Falls
Snoqualmie Falls

If you did feel like taking a short drive, depending on traffic, you could get to Snoqualmie Falls in about 45 minutes from the Eastern side of town.  (Sometimes it would take you twice that long to GET to the Eastern side of town, but not always).  Feeling the mist from the spray of the falls hit your face is one of the most refreshing feelings imaginable.  I was still pretty sick when we went last, and I felt great.

Discovery Park
Discovery Park

It just doesn’t get that green here.  Discovery Park in Seattle is an old fort (Fort Lawton) that has basically (not all of it) been converted into an in-town park.  It is a mini forest, a couple of beaches (one complete with a lighthouse), meadows, hills, and canyons all within the city.  Last time Hannah and I went, it was my first long walk after my transplant and while I was ready, Hannah wore the wrong shoes and her poor feet were sore.  But we still had a great time and had a great walk around the park.

Hot air balloon over the corn.
Hot air balloon over the corn.

We will be visiting in October.  We HAVE to go to a corn maze.  This picture is of a hot air balloon over a corn field right next to one of the biggest, most insane corn mazes I have ever been in.  The area surrounding Seattle has great corn mazes, and they know how to do Halloween.

Right in our backyard.
Right in our backyard.

But I don’t want to move back.  While it is definitely true that in Seattle, you do not have to look hard at all for beauty, as it is all around you, it doesn’t mean that it has a monopoly on beautiful things.  The rose in the picture above is from a rose-bush in our backyard that has been there as long as I can remember.

Man-made waterfall at the Arboretum.
Man-made waterfall at the Arboretum.

This waterfall is no Snoqualmie (not by hundreds of feet) but it is still kinda pretty and right in the arboretum of a local park.  It is man-made and I’m surprised they have the water turned on to it, but still.

Pink roses at the arboretum.
Pink roses at the arboretum.

There is beauty all around you.  And yes, some places have it on a grander scale than others, and some have it in abundance while some places make you really search…but there is beauty to be seen in everything.  When I think about that, the low cost of living, the fact that people do not live, park, and drive right on top of each other, and the great friends who aren’t the willfully ignorant adults I no longer find anything in common with, I’m glad to be here.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t want to go back to visit.  And it doesn’t mean if we ever got a decent sum of money, and could convince some people to go up there with us, we wouldn’t move to the Olympic Peninsula or some of the islands in the sound and be among the water and trees.  Or maybe the Oregon Coast.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

15 thoughts on “Missing Seattle”

  1. I spent seven years homesick, so I enjoyed this post. My friends are happy for me being home, if only for the fact that I don’t whine and bitch about how much I hated it elsewhere.
    I had always preferred certain landscapes over others, but I would never have guessed landscape and weather could create so much misery within me.
    I am still so happy to be home.
    (Even though my state is too red and stuff. We did aim for Illinois.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is weird, isn’t it? I tried looking for meat up groups of people I might find more in common with, and there are none interesting in this whole area. I just hate the hot and dry…but it is nice to get in the car and drive without stopping every second, and it is nice not encountering people when you don’t want to.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Vancouver. Only place outside of the US I have been…yet. Back when all you needed was your WA State DL. My mom and I went once, just for fun. We walked around and got Beer and Crepes! A beer and crepe restaurant! That is my Nirvana.

      Like

  2. Great writing on your site. As I was looking around a little at some of your old posts, I was trying to get an idea of where you moved to from the PNW but I wasn’t sure (i think Nevada?). At any rate, if it’s any consolation, today in Seattle it’s almost ninety degrees and to top it off there’s some crap in the air that’s making every other person sneeze…….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey! The hills in SF are often enough alive with the views of the ocean! Look at Lyon Street Steps, Sutro Baths, etc. But yes, the parking blows. And yes, oh yes, shit is overpriced. But absolutely, there is more to the world than just SF. Hell, even in our liberal area, yesterday I had to listen to a man rage on the phone about how Obama is keeping the war going and has been keeping the troops in the Middle East. In the middle of a newly built, expensive,hipster Safeway on College Avenue in Berkeley. It happens everywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like SF to visit, I just could never live there and don’t understand how people can form an opinion of the word based on two cities. Hell, I feel ignorant about the world because I’ve only been able to read about anywhere outside the US except Vancouver, BC (which, who are we kidding, might as well be the US?)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My retirement brought me to a place where I am surrounded by people who are anti-most everything that is not supported and endorsed by the conservative media. And, for two years, I missed the open-minded and progressive people in my home state. Now, the state-house is under the control of conservative politicians and the open-minded and progressive people have no voice. So, I learned to enjoy the warm weather found in my retirement state and miss the cold weather from my home state. Looking within for inner peace is now working for me. I enjoyed reading this post.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

