I thought Yesterday Was Crazy!

Hello dear reader(s)!

If you read my post yesterday, you’d know I had a busy day and was hoping I would be exhausted enough to have an early night of good sleep.  The chicken got finished barbecuing just as the rain was starting back up so the timing was perfect.  The chicken was excellent.  We decided to go for an after dinner walk in the rain, then to come back home and go to bed.  We figured we’d be sleeping by 8.

We put on our rain gear and went for a walk.  We were heading toward the park.  The rain was pouring.  And in the gutter, under water, Hannah saw a bright green case holding a brand-new iPhone 6.  Being the person that she is, she tried to rescue it and get it back to its rightful owner.  And by the end of the night, we were wishing that we never saw it.  And here is where our story begins.

Hannah picks up the soaking phone and is amazed that it is still working.  Neither of us realized at the time that the case was super-waterproof.  We were just on the other side from the park where it looked like a soccer practice was wrapping up.  Hannah calls out to some of the guys leaving and asks if they lost a phone.  They check their pockets and say no.  Hannah goes on to explain she found the phone right here in the gutter.  The phone was passcode locked so we couldn’t call the owner’s contacts to let them know and arrange its return.  Hannah goes to flag down more people at the park, nobody had dropped the phone.  So then Hannah decides to knock on the door of the house it was lying in the gutter in front of to see if they knew anything about it.  It was raining, so she left her hood up and knocked on the stranger’s door.  I tried to tell her to take her hood down but she didn’t hear.  She knocked a second time,  I tried telling her nobody would answer someone knocking on their door with a hood up.  But eventually, somebody did answer, though she looked really scared of Hannah.  She didn’t know anything about the phone either, and said, “Oh that’s so nice of you though!”  Sad when that kind of thing is the exception.

We’re walking back home, trying to figure out what to do with this thing.  A mini-van is driving up the street toward the park and Hannah flags down the driver.  The driver stops and rolls down his passenger side window to talk to Hannah and before I could stop her from asking, Hannah asks the driver if he lost his phone.  I knew what was coming,  “Um, you already asked me that at the park, remember?” said the driver trying not to laugh at the crazy lady waving the phone around.  I recognized the van but it was too late before she stopped him to ask.

On we went back toward the house, Hannah stopping everyone she could see asking about the phone.  As we near our house, a lowered black little car comes speeding down the street and Hannah tries to flag it down.  Only her wave and extended arm looks more like a Nazi salute.  She realizes and is both terrified and ashamed, while trying not to laugh at what the poor person might have thought.  We see him park a few houses down on the other side of the street.  A guy who would fit the stereotypical gangster look gets out and Hannah calls out, “Hey!  Did you lose a phone?!?”

“Come again?!?” the man asks, looking scared for a second.

Hannah repeats herself.  The man feels his pockets,  “No, I’m good.  I got mine!” he laughs.

“Good. Sorry!”

Now what to with the phone?  We know it is an iPhone, which means they can do the track my iPhone thing, and we didn’t want it coming back to the house, because I have actually read about owners tracking down their phone and fighting or even shooting at the people who had it, thinking it was stolen.  So we Googled the AT&T Store (since that is the service it had) but they were too far and closed.  We Googled the Apple Store, but there is only one in the area and it is all the way across town, and closed too.

The solution left was the police department.  We hopped in the Beastess and drove down.  It was after hours so we had to be buzzed in and met the desk clerk who was not an officer and couldn’t take the phone.  So she asked if we could wait “a few minutes” for an officer to come because he’d have to take a report.  To turn in a phone.  An officer’s time is wasted…to take a found phone.  Again, an officer’s time is wasted, to take a found phone.  Ugh!  I also didn’t realize I was wearing a t-shirt with a Wanted Poster graphic from my friend’s band INTOX with a very criminal looking face on it.  At the police station.  Oh well.

We sit down, and literally 45 minutes later, a very nice police officer comes in through the front door, meaning, there was not a single police officer at the station and an officer had to come in from patrolling to take the phone.  He was super polite, apologized for the wait, and blamed budget cuts.  Budget cuts.  Way to go Republicans!!!!  Your smaller government means that the police need to be pulled off of the street preventing real crime anytime someone wants to just do the right thing and turn in a lost phone.  Bravo!  Hopefully when one of your family members is injured or has a heart attack, the police are there to help instead of taking a report for a found phone.  I would hate it if someone dies because you wanted lower taxes.

I hope the owner gets their phone back, and I thank the courtesy of the police for the polite, professional manner in which they handled something so trivial.

We get home, exhausted and awake, laughing about Hannah going up to every stranger she saw asking if they lost their phone.  We do our yoga and are getting ready for bed.  I discover that I had a hang-nail, so I go to find the nail clippers in the bathroom and in reaching into the basket on top of the cabinet, I knock off the bin containing my electric hair clippers right into the toilet.  Well, so much for those.  On top of that, I can’t reach in to grab them out, so I use my little grabber thing I got in the hospital when I couldn’t lift my arms to get almost everything.  But there was one little piece far down in the toilet where it wouldn’t reach.  So our night ended, after all of that, with Hannah sticking her hand into the toilet to get it out.

Some relaxing, restful night.  If anyone wants to send me tranquilizers, I will be happy to accept.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

12 thoughts on “I thought Yesterday Was Crazy!”

  1. At my new job guests are always losing their phones/I’m finding them. Some folks just never come back for them. You’re a true champion for sticking with it that long. And a little scary. Ha. My nice-meter runs out very quickly; no way am I hanging out at a police station over a phone. Good on ya.

    Pete

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. But it is mostly my wife. I mean, yeah, I decided to turn it in, but she’s the one who picked it up, noticed it, and probably freaked out the neighborhood by her persistence. She’s a much better person than I am.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve lost my phone before, dropped it while getting into the Beastess. We went to an event, I freaked out about it the whole time. Got back home, and there it was, lying right in front of our house. (Luckily it was a sunny day.) But the feeling of panic losing it is something I don’t want anyone to ever have to go through without at least getting it back. I hope they did.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

