Winter Remains

Hello dear reader(s)!

Right now the mountains above us are officially in a Winter Storm Warning.  Not just a Watch.  This is good for our water supply, but really bad for the fact that it is flipping freezing, and within a month it will be boiling.  Luckily for me, they have revised the forecast and we will not be going from a high of 51 to a high of 93 in 5 days.  It now looks like the warm-up will be a bit more gradual, going into the 60’s then jumping to the 80’s before finally reaching the 90’s.  That is a bit more tolerable, but still kind of crappy.  I still have half of Linda’s peach cobbler mix (because it was a double-batch) and I think I will make that if I remember to buy the condensed milk and butter when we go to the store.  I’ll take pics if I don’t destroy it.  I didn’t last time, but forgot the pics.  SO yummy!!  I don’t want to go to the store though, because it is too cold.

In Seattle, a high of 51 was not this cold.  I think the wind-chill is worse here, or there is something about the moisture in the air up there that makes it feel warmer.  So as I type this, I’m looking out at grey skies (not 50 shades of it) and I’d be California dreamin’, but I don’t really like the idea of being in California, except maybe the Bay Area or Sac for a mini-vacation, and I sure as hell am not going over the hill in these road conditions.

My skin is drier than an Egyptian mummy, and more cracked than inner cities thanks to the CIA.

It is so hard to find the motivation on days like today.  I want to curl up with a good book, have myself another cup of coffee, have a few mimosas (though I shouldn’t), stay in bed all day performing various bed activities, and have Fish n’ Chips and Guinness for dinner with Peach Cobbler for dessert.  I don’t think that is what will be happening.  Which is sad, and makes me want to cry, as I quietly reflect on all the failures in my past.  And I could listen to really sad songs.  And draw the blinds and ask whatever controls the universe why this is happening to me.

But nooooooo, I have things that have to get done!  Damn life!

I’m sorry for the journal-ish type post, but it is the weather, it isn’t me.  Honest.  Yes, I’ll blame the weather!  Maybe I can get out of doing the things that need to be done.

For some reason Hannah woke me up at 6 am and she is all energetic and is currently talking to me about the most meaningless things like a hyperactive child on an energy drink.

And that is awesome!

Because she compliments (not completes, Jerry Maguire fans, because that line is stupid, you should complete yourself), but she compliments me.  When I am low, she is not, when I am too hyper, she brings me back to Earth.  So, because of her, and what needs to be done to keep our life together, I’m going to be able to fight through this winter garbage and actually do some things today.

So I guess, despite me thinking this would just be a normal journal-ish whiny type post, there is an actual point to this post.  Are you ready?

Featured Image -- 2206

Find yourself a Hannah.  Not mine, because that would tear me apart.  But find your Hannah, or whatever your person’s or people’s (if that’s what you are into) name(s) is/are.  You can do it on your own, but it sure is nice when you are with that person that so perfectly compliments you, and can get you going when winter remains.

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

11 thoughts on “Winter Remains”

    1. Yes, I have gone to full on flipping instead of the other word, not because I don’t like cussing, or think it is a “bad” word, but because I have been watching too much “The IT Crowd” and Moss always says flipping.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. heh… I do miss the lack of snow, but not the months and months of rainy/overcast skies. Windy weather is rarely welcome 😛 Here on the northern prairies, our cold/dry winters are indeed brutal… but almost always sunny! 🙂 ♥ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

