Blog Wars

A Short Time Ago In A Forum Very Much Here…

BLOG WARS

A

blogger

and another blogger are in

battle over the mean things they are

saying about each other and doing to build readership.

But a rebel alliance awaits in the shadows, laughing at the sheer

stupidity of this back-fighting while marveling at the publicity it generates.

Hello dear reader(s)!

I have a question for you.  Two bloggers are going back and forth about who is trolling who, and there is the distinct possibility that both are trolling each other.  In fact, the more the laundry is aired, the more the stink wafts from both clothes lines.  So here is my question?  Do you care at all?

I don’t care.  I’m going to keep reading who I read, and keep not reading who I don’t read regardless of who may have started this toddler-bloggy squabbling.  If I don’t like everything someone has to say, (and let’s be clear here, I DON’T), I keep scrolling.  I actually unfollowed one of the bloggers that I was following (I was never following both) for a short time because the generalizations and hate-speech were a bit too much for me to take.  Then I thought about it a little longer and realized that either that person does not truly believe everything that person says, or is in desperate need of help.  Either way, I think it is worth keeping on my reader, in case something worthwhile comes up.

And today, I was treated to this lovely interaction and I just thought, “Okay, I guess following was the right decision after all, because this shit is FUNNY!”

It is a blog, people.  A blog.  It is not your life, your family, your world, your friends, your enemies (If you have any), and even the best don’t make a ton of money doing it.  A blog.

But it sure gets your attention doesn’t it?

We humans, are wired to love the gossip, squabbles, and fighting.  It is pathetic.  Like when the Mayweather-Pacquiao fight was getting more attention than the run up to the UK elections.  Like when the protests after the elections probably got more attention than the vote itself.

It is all about marketing.  All about the publicity.

If these two bloggers really are not in it together (a question I seriously wonder), how could they not realize that they are promoting each others blogs?

And that is where we are at in this world.  We are being manipulated by the image conscious; the marketing mad men.  Everything is about the brand, and the substance is either non-existent or nefarious.  Video killed the radio star.  Selena Gomez has a career.  Think about that for a second.  Selena Gomez has a career.  So do the Kardashians and so many other people with absolutely nothing else to offer but an image.

Fascism is created on branding.  Goebbels was an excellent marketer.  He knew people’s psychological responses to stimuli and how to manipulate that stimuli to his party’s gain.  It all sounds goods on the surface, they are there to help the people who were unjustly punished after losing a war.  Sure, some of their ideas are terrifying, but they are trying to help me.  And they probably are just angry and don’t mean the things they are saying, right?  They don’t real want to dominate the globe and exterminate anyone they see as inferior, right?  Nothing rallies people better to a cause than a war, right?

Now connect the dots.  Connect it into the corporate boardrooms.  The political backrooms.  Take a look behind those slick TV ads and wonder why anyone would truly spend money to convince people that they are the best product, choice, brand, blog, etc…

And the next time you come across one of the multitude of posts about expanding your brand, or tips for blogging, or any of that; ask yourself whether you want to be an image, or whether you have something to say.  If it is both, and you use a couple of techniques to help spread your writing or your message, than more power to you.

But if you are just looking for the attention, then I’m sorry to tell you but high school is over and nobody thinks you are cooler than anyone else.  Except maybe you.

If you know my blog-type-thing than you know that I love to expose the group-think, click-bait, slogans and image-only concerns that are destroying our ability to relate to each other and produce and find quality.  I really appreciate these two bloggers for giving me the perfect example.

To quote Public Enemy, “Don’t believe the hype!”

Author: Josh Wrenn

Cancer survivor, wanna-be artist, musician, author, and all around good guy.

27 thoughts on “Blog Wars”

  1. I concur.
    I don’t know what drama you’re talkin about. I wish you’d trash talk them and then I’d be better entertained. 😛 haha
    Seriously, I avoid my own drama with denial and laughter, so I sure don’t want anyone else’s!
    I occasionally get an odd mean comment, but I get a lot more pervs and random commenters who don’t make sense.
    I like agreement, particularly the supportive kind, but I’m not interested in reading only mirrors of myself. I’m a good scroller-onner as well.
    I am not interested in my brand or the growth of my blog. I do sometimes worry about my audience’s reaction, but I eventually overcome that. I always think blog life is like other life and the right people will stay on.
    High school was so high school.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. THAT’S CALLED PLAGIARISM, JOSH! We’ll have to go to war in the blog world and divide our friends and write about one another in unflattering ways. I’ll pretend it’s not happening, but the helpful crowd will tell me what you say…I’ll cry a lot. It’s no good, take it.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Once is ambivalent (but maybe excusable), twice is getting bizarre, but several times is really too much. I tend to ignore it and let them duke it out among themselves. It tends to turn me off a little now. As if there isn’t enough to worry about nowadays. This is not my fight but theirs. So in a roundabout way, who cares is right.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whenever I see “blog squabbling” on my reader I *usually* unfollow the guilty parties, purely because I don’t like that kind of negativity on my feed. I will admit that I’ve read some of the trolling out of boredom though.
    You’re right-people who troll each other could be in cahoots to gain traffic, which is kind of maniacal and sad at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments appreciated

